Reader Reviewed The Jewel by Amy Ewing

The Jewel

Written by Amy Ewing
Part of the The Lone City Trilogy Series

YA readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

September 2014 Debut of the Month A fascinating and entirely captivating young adult dystopian romance full of spirit, spark and tenacity. Step into another world, one that’s entirely different to our own but in some ways as familiar. Cruelty, jealousy, affection and trust join in battle across the pages as Violet is torn from her family, trained and then sold as Lot 197 to become a surrogate breeder for royalty. Concealed within the fight for a breath of freedom is a chance meeting and the possible embrace of a forbidden love story. This is at its heart a romance, but a romance that doesn't overshadow the clamour for independence and liberty made by a bewitching cast of characters. Hopefully it will not be too long a wait for the next in the trilogy, as this story just begs to be continued. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Rosie Cousins, age 14 - 'unlike any other book I’ve read with plot twists and drama arriving continuously to spike up the readers attention.' Read full review >
  • Katherine Sheldon, age 13 - 'A very interesting read that sucks you into her world.' Read full review >
  • Eleri Jones, age 13 - 'If you loved The Hunger Games and Divergent, you'll love this! The Jewel is captivating and exciting from start to finish, can't wait for the next book!' Read full review >
  • Nia Jones, age 16 - 'Hooked from the first sentence, this book left me wanting more!' Read full review >
  • Phoebe Allan, age 14 - 'This book is one that turns the pages for you, the words flowing in an effortless river of description and magic. Well done to Ewing for such a masterpiece! Thumbs all the way up!' Read full review >
  • Safiyah Davenport, age 15 - 'A masterpiece that I loved from start to finish The Jewel is a must have for your book wish list.' Read full review >
  • Inés Davies, age 13 - 'I enjoyed reading this book so much that I read it in a day: I couldn’t put it down!' Read full review >
  • Delilah Acworth, age 15 - 'an incredibly heart wrenching tale full of repressed feelings and social hierarchy.' Read full review >
  • Imogen Fisher, age 14 - 'I really really enjoyed reading The Jewel, in fact I loved it so much I read it in one day!' Read full review >
  • Izzy Read, age 13 - 'Overall it was a stunning debut novel; perfect for all teenage girls that want a bit more than a romance, I dearly hope it will be a bestseller!' Read full review >
  • Ciara McIlvenna, age 17 - 'An absorbing tale of friendship, love, power and what it means to be free, will keep you up into the small hours of the night eager to turn that last page.' Read full review >
  • Amy Laws, age 13 - 'This dystopian novel is amazing, I can't believe I have to wait until September 2015 to read the next one :(' Read full review >
  • Molly Hudson, age 13 - 'Wow! really good debut novel, Violet is a feisty girl who doesn't want to be a royal surrogate, but the choice isn't hers to make, suddenly she's thrust into the weird and sinister world of The Jewel.' Read full review >
  • Kulsuma Begum - 'it was hugely captivating. I couldn’t stop turning the pages, wanting to know what would happen to Violet next.' Read full review >


The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Violet Lasting is no longer a human being. Tomorrow she becomes Lot 197, auctioned to the highest royal bidder in the Jewel of the Lone City. Tomorrow she becomes the Surrogate of the House of the Lake, her sole purpose to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess. Imprisoned in the opulent cage of the palace, Violet learns the brutal ways of the Jewel, where the royal women compete to secure their bloodline and the surrogates are treated as disposable commodities. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises, Violet enters a living death of captivity - until she sets eyes on Ash Lockwood, the royal Companion. Compelled towards each other by a reckless, clandestine passion, Violet and Ash dance like puppets in a deadly game of court politics, until they become each other's jeopardy - and salvation.

It will appeal to fans of dystopian, dark romance, stepping beyond the paranormal craze. It is perfect for fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. It is a debut novel from a radical new voice in YA. It is the first book in The Jewel trilogy.


Dystopia with a feminist edge...hugely enjoyable, with strong characters and a nail-biting cliff-hanger. The Bookseller A very good dystopic tale with a brilliant ending that will leave you wanting to read the next instalment Loves Books Read Daily A shocking and compelling new YA series in a world where beauty and brutality collide -- Fiona Noble Bookseller Children's Guide WOW...truly unique. Horrifying and gripping all at once. COMPANY With echoes of The Handmaid's Tale, this is a fascinating fantasy. Marie Claire A fantastically original new fantasy which examines notions of identity and personhood against a lavish backdrop of opulent parties and riches galore. With dashes of magic, mystery and romance at every turn, there is real cross-genre appeal here and there is sure to be a large fan base once The Jewel hits the shelves. With a plot that is fresh and original and characters that are Intriguing, The Jewel is a brilliant debut, and one full of promise for a stunning series to develop. I, for one, cannot wait to see what else Ewing has to offer. We Love this Book Forbidden romance, life-threatening danger and a journey of terrible discoveries await in this thrilling opener to a daring, dynamic new series. Lancashire Evening Post Intriguing. Books for Keeps Compelling and heart pounding Bath Chronicle 'This dystopian, dark romance will appeal to fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. Reading Zone This book is truly incredible. -- Reader Review The Guardian Online This is a really good book, full of suspense and a real page-turner. -- Anna Morrow Teen Titles

About the Author

Amy Ewing

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


368 pages
Interest Age: From 14


Amy Ewing
More books by Amy Ewing

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

4th September 2014




This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading 4 schools