LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Jewel

Written by Amy Ewing

Part of the The Lone City Trilogy Series

Debuts of the Month Featured Books for Young Adults Recommended Children's eBooks Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Jewel

September 2014 Debut of the Month   A fascinating and entirely captivating young adult dystopian romance full of spirit, spark and tenacity. Step into another world, one that’s entirely different to our own but in some ways as familiar. Cruelty, jealousy, affection and trust join in battle across the pages as Violet is torn from her family, trained and then sold as Lot 197 to become a surrogate breeder for royalty. Concealed within the fight for a breath of freedom is a chance meeting and the possible embrace of a forbidden love story. This is at its heart a romance, but a romance that doesn't overshadow the clamour for independence and liberty made by a bewitching cast of characters. Hopefully it will not be too long a wait for the next in the trilogy, as this story just begs to be continued. ~ Liz Robinson

LoveReading4Kids

The Jewel Synopsis

Violet Lasting is no longer a human being. Tomorrow she becomes Lot 197, auctioned to the highest royal bidder in the Jewel of the Lone City. Tomorrow she becomes the Surrogate of the House of the Lake, her sole purpose to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess. Imprisoned in the opulent cage of the palace, Violet learns the brutal ways of the Jewel, where the royal women compete to secure their bloodline and the surrogates are treated as disposable commodities. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises, Violet enters a living death of captivity - until she sets eyes on Ash Lockwood, the royal Companion. Compelled towards each other by a reckless, clandestine passion, Violet and Ash dance like puppets in a deadly game of court politics, until they become each other's jeopardy - and salvation.

It will appeal to fans of dystopian, dark romance, stepping beyond the paranormal craze. It is perfect for fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. It is a debut novel from a radical new voice in YA. It is the first book in The Jewel trilogy.

The Jewel Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Rosie Cousins, age 14 - 'unlike any other book I’ve read with plot twists and drama arriving continuously to spike up the readers attention.' Read full review >
  • Katherine Sheldon, age 13 - 'A very interesting read that sucks you into her world.' Read full review >
  • Eleri Jones, age 13 - 'If you loved The Hunger Games and Divergent, you'll love this! The Jewel is captivating and exciting from start to finish, can't wait for the next book!' Read full review >
  • Nia Jones, age 16 - 'Hooked from the first sentence, this book left me wanting more!' Read full review >
  • Phoebe Allan, age 14 - 'This book is one that turns the pages for you, the words flowing in an effortless river of description and magic. Well done to Ewing for such a masterpiece! Thumbs all the way up!' Read full review >
  • Safiyah Davenport, age 15 - 'A masterpiece that I loved from start to finish The Jewel is a must have for your book wish list.' Read full review >
  • Inés Davies, age 13 - 'I enjoyed reading this book so much that I read it in a day: I couldn’t put it down!' Read full review >
  • Delilah Acworth, age 15 - 'an incredibly heart wrenching tale full of repressed feelings and social hierarchy.' Read full review >
  • Imogen Fisher, age 14 - 'I really really enjoyed reading The Jewel, in fact I loved it so much I read it in one day!' Read full review >
  • Izzy Read, age 13 - 'Overall it was a stunning debut novel; perfect for all teenage girls that want a bit more than a romance, I dearly hope it will be a bestseller!' Read full review >
  • Ciara McIlvenna, age 17 - 'An absorbing tale of friendship, love, power and what it means to be free, will keep you up into the small hours of the night eager to turn that last page.' Read full review >
  • Amy Laws, age 13 - 'This dystopian novel is amazing, I can't believe I have to wait until September 2015 to read the next one :(' Read full review >
  • Molly Hudson, age 13 - 'Wow! really good debut novel, Violet is a feisty girl who doesn't want to be a royal surrogate, but the choice isn't hers to make, suddenly she's thrust into the weird and sinister world of The Jewel.' Read full review >
  • Kulsuma Begum - 'it was hugely captivating. I couldn’t stop turning the pages, wanting to know what would happen to Violet next.' Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Falling in Love Montage
Deleted
Hideous Beauty
The Gravity of Us

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406347494
Publication date: 04/09/2014
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406347494
Publication date: 4th September 2014
Author: Amy Ewing
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Genres: Romance / Relationship Stories
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks, Reviewed by Children

About Amy Ewing

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.

More About Amy Ewing

More Books By Amy Ewing

Cover for The Lone City 2: The White Rose by Amy Ewing
Cover for Das Juwel - Die komplette Serie by Amy Ewing
Cover for Das Juwel - Der Schwarze Schlussel by Amy Ewing
View All Books By Amy Ewing

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×