Violet and the Pearl of the Orient by Harriet Whitehorn
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015 Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, a Sherlock Holmes in the making in this captivating new series, perfect for fans of Chris Riddell and Alex T. Smith.

Synopsis

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient by Harriet Whitehorn

When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth...With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock.

Reviews

'Whitehorn's debut is pacey and imaginative and Becka Moor's illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' Times

'An adventure brimful of charm, told with brio and a good deal of panache...Young readers, particularly fans of Lauren Child, will be very taken with Violet and her world' Books for Keeps

'A great heroine, an intriguing mystery, and brilliant use of language...Hugely recommended' YAyeahyeah

'Sherlock better watch out, 'cos Violet's about!' Wondrous Reads

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel. Becka Moor studied Illustration for Children's Publishing in the North of Wales at Glyndwr University. She has since moved back home to Manchester where she works under the strict supervision of two very mischievous cats, doodling away and drinking far too much coffee.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

12th February 2015

ISBN

9781471118951

Categories


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools