Violet and the Pearl of the Orient by Harriet Whitehorn
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015 Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, a Sherlock Holmes in the making in this captivating new series, perfect for fans of Chris Riddell and Alex T. Smith.

Win a Beast Quest Goodie Bag!

To mark the 10th Birthday of The Beast Quest series we are giving away THREE goodie bags filled with Beast Quest treats including temporary tattoos, pens, a printed bag and books from the series!

To have a chance of winning one of these super prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 29 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 5 June 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 29/05/2017

Synopsis

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient by Harriet Whitehorn

When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth...With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock.

Reviews

'Whitehorn's debut is pacey and imaginative and Becka Moor's illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' Times

'An adventure brimful of charm, told with brio and a good deal of panache...Young readers, particularly fans of Lauren Child, will be very taken with Violet and her world' Books for Keeps

'A great heroine, an intriguing mystery, and brilliant use of language...Hugely recommended' YAyeahyeah

'Sherlock better watch out, 'cos Violet's about!' Wondrous Reads

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel. Becka Moor studied Illustration for Children's Publishing in the North of Wales at Glyndwr University. She has since moved back home to Manchester where she works under the strict supervision of two very mischievous cats, doodling away and drinking far too much coffee.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

12th February 2015

ISBN

9781471118951

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools