Violet and the Pearl of the Orient by Harriet Whitehorn
  

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Written by Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrated by Becka Moor

7+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015 Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, a Sherlock Holmes in the making in this captivating new series, perfect for fans of Chris Riddell and Alex T. Smith.

Synopsis

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient by Harriet Whitehorn

When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth...With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock.

Reviews

'Whitehorn's debut is pacey and imaginative and Becka Moor's illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' Times

'An adventure brimful of charm, told with brio and a good deal of panache...Young readers, particularly fans of Lauren Child, will be very taken with Violet and her world' Books for Keeps

'A great heroine, an intriguing mystery, and brilliant use of language...Hugely recommended' YAyeahyeah

'Sherlock better watch out, 'cos Violet's about!' Wondrous Reads

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 7 years

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

12th February 2015

ISBN

9781471118951

Categories


Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****