LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Harriet Whitehorn - Author

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

Featured books by Harriet Whitehorn

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

7+ readers

Author: Harriet Whitehorn Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/02/2015

Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015  Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, a Sherlock Holmes in the making in this captivating new series, perfect for fans of Chris Riddell and Alex T. Smith.

ebook of the month

Other books by Harriet Whitehorn

Freddie's Amazing Bakery: Dancing with Doughnuts

Freddie's Amazing Bakery: Dancing with Doughnuts

Author: Harriet Whitehorn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/08/2020

Freddie Bonbon is THE BEST baker in Belville and although life is busy, he always has time to lend a hand and solve his friends' problems! In this third story in the series Freddie's best friend Amira is excited to be dancing in the Summer Show - but disaster strikes when her partner Samuel gets injured. Luckily Freddie is happy to try and combat his nerves and learn the steps. But as the big day arrives, rival Bernard - ever ready to step in if Freddie changes his mind - is waiting in the wings with some naughty tricks up his sleeve. Watch out Freddie!

Freddie's Amazing Bakery: The Cookie Mystery

Freddie's Amazing Bakery: The Cookie Mystery

Author: Harriet Whitehorn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Born to bake. Happy to help. Freddie Bonbon is the most AMAZING baker in town and somebody loves his cakes so much they've stolen them! Who could have done such a thing? And when superstar cat Cookie goes missing too, it looks as though the town has a mystery on its hands . . . could Freddie's little dog, Flapjack, be the one to solve it? Stories that are full of fun with gorgeous illustrations throughout. Freddie is a likeable and positive character who promotes the idea that you don't need superpowers or magic to succeed - you just need to try hard and do your best.

The Conspiracy of Magic

The Conspiracy of Magic

Author: Harriet Whitehorn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

The dazzling exploits of The Company of Eight continue in this rich fantasy adventure... In a world where magic is so powerful it has been outlawed, Cass is a rare creature - an obtuse, someone who is unaffected by magic. But what has always felt like a handicap becomes a strength when sorcerers and magicians begin to perform magical deceptions with malicious intent. The Queen of Minaris is in grave danger and it's up to Cass to protect her. But how can Cass defeat the sinister magician behind it all with no powers herself? A thrilling tale of bravery and ingenuity from Harriet Whitehorn, author of the VIOLET series, for fans of COGHEART, NEVERMOOR and THE GIRL OF INK AND STARS. 'Has the feel of The Princess Bride meets Frozen... This is series is immensely exciting for its feminist twists on classic adventure' - Lily and the Fae

Freddie's Amazing Bakery: The Great Raspberry Mix-Up

Freddie's Amazing Bakery: The Great Raspberry Mix-Up

Author: Harriet Whitehorn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/08/2019

Born to bake. Happy to help. Freddie Bonbon is the kindest boy in town. He is also the most amazing baker - he just doesn't know it! So when the King of Cakes competition is announced, all his friends and customers encourage him to enter. Everyone wants Freddie to win! Everyone that is, except rival baker Bernard, who will go to any lengths to make sure Freddie's showstopper cake is a raspberry-blowing disaster! Stories that are full of fun with gorgeous illustrations throughout. Freddie is a likeable and positive character who promotes the idea that you don't need superpowers or magic to succeed - you just need to try hard and do your best.

Violet and the Mummy Mystery

Violet and the Mummy Mystery

Author: Harriet Whitehorn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/08/2017

Can YOU solve the case of the missing mummy? Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making... When Violet's cousin Agnes and her Aunt Mathilde arrive from Cairo, Violet is delighted. Aunt Mathilde is a Professor of Ancient Egyptology and has discovered a mummy that may be the key to revealing the secret location of Queen Nefertiti's tomb. Violet can't wait to find out more! So when the precious mummy is stolen from the British Museum, it's a disaster. Who has managed to pull off this crime right under the security guards' noses and where is the mummy now? It's up to Violet and the gang to save the day! Complete with two-colour illustrations throughout by Becka Moor, this is a fresh and funny mystery and readers will fall in love with Violet's quirky charm. Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

Violet and the Smugglers

Violet and the Smugglers

Author: Harriet Whitehorn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2017

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making... Uncle Johnny has invited Violet and her friends to spend the summer with him on a sailing adventure around Europe and Violet couldn't be more excited! But when she suspects that the captain of a boat nearby might be up to no good, Violet needs to put her detective skills into action... Could he be the head of a smuggling ring? A beautiful package complete with two-colour illustrations throughout from Becka Moore. Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://harrietwhitehorn.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×