LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Violet and the Smugglers

Written by Harriet Whitehorn

Illustrated by Becka Moor

Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Violet and the Smugglers

Shortlisted for Best Crime Novel for Children aged 8-12, CrimeFest Gala Awards 2017

Violet Remy-Robinson’s adventures are gathering her a growing band of fans, and no wonder. Violet is one of those crime-solving children beloved of children’s books, but these stories have a particular sparkle, provided by exotic settings, Violet and her sidekick Art are in Venice this time, having sailed there from Corfu; a decidedly glamorous milieu (the opera, gelati parlours); and Harriet Whitehorn’s polished and pacey writing style. Violet finds herself caught up with a tortoise smuggling ring this time, could the Mr Big be the beautiful soprano La Bellissima? Violet will have a hard job convincing her parents and bumbling P C Green, fortuitously seconded to the Italian police for the summer. The adventure is as delicious as Violet’s favourite ice-cream and Becka Moor’s lovely illustrations are the sprinkles on top.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson. ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

Violet and the Smugglers Synopsis

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...Uncle Johnny has invited Violet and her friends to spend the summer with him on a sailing adventure around Europe and Violet couldn't be more excited! But when she suspects that the captain of a boat nearby might be up to no good, Violet needs to put her detective skills into action...could he be the head of a smuggling ring?

With a beautiful hardback package complete with two-colour illustrations throughout from Becka Moore.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

There are more mysteries to solve with Violet...

Violet and the Hidden Treasure

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Violet and the Smugglers Press Reviews

“Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.”   The Times

If you loved this, you might like these...

Pizazz
Beneath the Cloud of Doom
Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond
Ways to Make Sunshine

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471122637
Publication date: 10/03/2016
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471122637
Publication date: 10th March 2016
Author: Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 208 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: All Shortlists and Winners

About Harriet Whitehorn

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More About Harriet Whitehorn

More Books By Harriet Whitehorn

Cover for The Company of Eight by Harriet Whitehorn
Cover for Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn
Cover for Violet and the Hidden Treasure by Harriet Whitehorn
View All Books By Harriet Whitehorn

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×