LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Written by Harriet Whitehorn

Illustrated by Becka Moor

Featured Books for 7+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015  Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, a Sherlock Holmes in the making in this captivating new series, perfect for fans of Chris Riddell and Alex T. Smith.

LoveReading4Kids

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient Synopsis

When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth...With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock.

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient Press Reviews

'Whitehorn's debut is pacey and imaginative and Becka Moor's illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' Times

'An adventure brimful of charm, told with brio and a good deal of panache...Young readers, particularly fans of Lauren Child, will be very taken with Violet and her world' Books for Keeps

'A great heroine, an intriguing mystery, and brilliant use of language...Hugely recommended' YAyeahyeah

'Sherlock better watch out, 'cos Violet's about!' Wondrous Reads

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Secret of the Tattered Shoes
The Dam
The Adventures of Harry Stevenson
Witches (Un)Welcome

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471118951
Publication date: 12/02/2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471118951
Publication date: 12th February 2015
Author: Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: All Shortlists and Winners

About Harriet Whitehorn

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More About Harriet Whitehorn

More Books By Harriet Whitehorn

Cover for The Company of Eight by Harriet Whitehorn
Cover for Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn
Cover for Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn
View All Books By Harriet Whitehorn

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×