LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Violet and the Mummy Mystery

Written by Harriet Whitehorn

Illustrated by Becka Moor

Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Violet and the Mummy Mystery

In a Nutshell - Move over Miss Marple, Violet's on the case!

For Violet Remy-Robinson there's a mystery around every corner! Her Aunt Mathilde, a renown Egyptologist, is visiting London to investigate a mummy which she suspects may hold a clue to the location of the Lost Tomb of Queen Nefertiti. But clearly someone else has the same idea as the mummy has been stolen! Violet and her friends set about gathering clues and prime suspects - and give us an interesting introduction to Ancient Egypt along the way. This is a delicious whodunnit with a cast of exotic and captivating characters and more twists and turns than an Egyptian Serpent. Becka Moor's wonderful illustrations (in violet of course!) add to the charm.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson.  - Charlotte Carus

LoveReading4Kids

Violet and the Mummy Mystery Synopsis

Violet's back in her fourth adventure, this time taking on the case of the missing mummy! Aunt Mathilde is in London looking into an ancient Egyptian mystery at the British Museum, but when the mummy she's investigating disappears, it's up to Violet and her friends Rose, Art, and PC Green to save the day and discover the identity of the mummy-napper.

With a beautiful package, complete with two-colour illustrations throughout by Becka Moor, this book is perfect for fans of Ottoline, Goth Girl, and Claude. Readers everywhere are bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Violet and the Mummy Mystery Press Reviews

Praise for Violet:

‘A delicious package for emerging readers’ Sunday Times

‘Agatha Christie-esque mystery... quirky and charming’ The Guardian

‘Lovely’ The Bookseller

'Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.'   The Times

If you loved this, you might like these...

Take Me Home
The History of Everything in 32 Pages
Nurse Matilda
Clifftoppers: The Frost Castle Adventure

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471147173
Publication date: 29/06/2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471147173
Publication date: 29th June 2017
Author: Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Recommendations: eBooks

About Harriet Whitehorn

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More About Harriet Whitehorn

More Books By Harriet Whitehorn

Cover for The Company of Eight by Harriet Whitehorn
Cover for Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn
Cover for Violet and the Hidden Treasure by Harriet Whitehorn
View All Books By Harriet Whitehorn

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×