LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Gareth P. Jones - Author

About the Author

Gareth first started writing when he was very young but it wasn’t until he was in his early twenties that he completed his first novel. Having had it universally rejected, he wrote a novel for children called Who Killed Charlie Twig, which received an equally unimpressed reception and remains rightly unpublished to this day. Some years passed during which Gareth met his future wife, Lisa and began a career in TV. Working on shows such as 'The Big Breakfast' and 'Richard & Judy', he became side-tracked from his book writing ambitions until one day he found himself having lunch at the offices of Bloomsbury. He mentioned the unpublished book to a nice lady called Sarah, who politely suggested that he should send in the first three chapters for her to look at. Gareth returned home and excitedly told his wife this news, who gently explained that the book he had written actually wasn’t very good, but reminded him that he had recently begun work on a much better idea. This turned out to be good advice.

In 2007 Bloomsbury published the first of four books in the series The Dragon Detective Agency and have since published The Thornthwaite Inheritance, Space Crime Conspiracy and The Considine Curse, for which he won the Blue Peter Book of the Year 2012. Gareth has also written a shorter story, Perry’s 5, published by Barrington Stoke and a series of books called Ninja Meerkats, published by Stripes.

The Case of the Missing Cats was nominated for the Waterstone’s Children’s Book Prize. The Thornthwaite Inheritance has won the Hounslow Junior Book Award, the Calderdale Book Award, Leicester Children’s Book Award, Sefton Super Reads, Doncaster Book Award, Rotherham Children’s Book Award and Fantastic Book Award, Lancaster.

Gareth now divides his time between writing books, producing TV programmes, spending time with his wife and children, and playing the slightly ludicrous number of stringed instruments in his front room. He lives in Forest Hill, south east London.

Featured books by Gareth P. Jones

The Considine Curse

The Considine Curse

9+ readers 11+ readers

Author: Gareth P. Jones Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/08/2011

Winner of the Blue Peter Book of the Year 2012. A hair-raising family adventure that will have you howling with enjoyment from author of the equally funny The Thornthwaite Inheritance and the Ninja Meerkats series! Gareth P Jones comments on his Blue Peter Best Book of the Year 2012 win: ‘I am beyond thrilled to have won the Blue Peter Book of the Year for The Considine Curse. Blue Peter is a national institution which I have watched since I was a child and so this is a tremendous honour. Getting a positive response to a book from just one person feels like a pat on the back, so winning a national award like this is like being whacked between the shoulder blades by an entire army... in a good way.’

ebook of the month

Other books by Gareth P. Jones

Dragon Detective: That's A Wrap!

Dragon Detective: That's A Wrap!

Author: Gareth P. Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

The Dragon Detective Agency. Dirk Dilly speaking. When Holly and her family fly to LA for a holiday, it promises to be the trip of a lifetime. On her first day exploring the city of dreams, Holly befriends a movie director, who's captured something suspiciously dragonlike on camera while filming out in the desert. But before she can examine the tape properly, it goes missing... Holly asks her partner-in-solving-crime, dragon detective Dirk Dilly, to join her on the hunt for clues in Hollywood. Will they be able to find the film before it falls into the wrong hands and exposes the existence of dragonkind to the world? The final instalment in a fun and action-packed detective series for fans of TOTO THE NINJA CAT, HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON and Tom Fletcher's children's books!

Dragon Detective: Sky High!

Dragon Detective: Sky High!

Author: Gareth P. Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

The Dragon Detective Agency. Dirk Dilly speaking. When a visitor turns up unannounced at Dirk's office with a new case for him and Holly to solve, all is not as it seems. A Sea Dragon has disappeared and the only clue left at the scene of the crime is the ashy outline of an elusive Sky Dragon. As their investigations take them from a dodgy billionaire's HQ to the top of the city's tallest skyscraper, trouble is set to soar sky high for this dragon detective and his partner-in-solving-crime. Will they be able to hunt down the suspect and find the missing dragon before they both disappear into thin air? The third instalment in a fun and action-packed detective series for fans of TOTO THE NINJA CAT, HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON and Tom Fletcher's children's books!

Dragon Detective: School's Out!

Dragon Detective: School's Out!

Author: Gareth P. Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2020

The Dragon Detective Agency. Dirk Dilly speaking. Holly is desperate to be sleuthing with her partner-in-solving-crime, dragon Dirk Dilly, but instead she's stuck at her exclusive boarding school for children of the rich and famous. She's determined to escape, until she meets Callum, the son of the Prime Minister, who claims he was kidnapped by dragons a year ago and hasn't been the same since. And when Dirk's own investigation into dragon activity brings him to the school, the two cases collide. What if Callum isn't as crazy as he seems? The second instalment in a fun and action-packed detective series for fans of TOTO THE NINJA CAT, HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON and Tom Fletcher's children's books!

Dragon Detective: Catnapped!

Dragon Detective: Catnapped!

Author: Gareth P. Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

The Dragon Detective Agency. Dirk Dilly speaking. When detective Dirk Dilly gets a call from Holly, a young girl whose pet cat has gone missing, the dragon ends up with not only a new case to solve but also a self-appointed partner-in-solving-crime. And it turns out that Holly's cat is just the beginning! As the pair hunt for clues, Dirk spots other dragons flying over the city - and not the good kind. Dirk has a hunch they might just be involved, but will he and Holly be able prevent further cat-astrophe before it's too late? The first instalment in a fun and action-packed detective series for fans of TOTO THE NINJA CAT, HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON and Tom Fletcher's children's books.

Constable & Toop

Constable & Toop

Author: Gareth P. Jones, Aron Wiesenfeld Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/01/2020

A darkly comic Dickensian ghost story from Blue Peter Award winner Gareth P. Jones: it's not the dead you'll need to worry about! Sam Toop lives in a funeral parlour, blessed (or cursed) with an unusual gift. While his father buries the dead, Sam is haunted by their constant demands for attention. Trouble is afoot on the 'other side' - there is a horrible disease that is mysteriously imprisoning ghosts into empty houses in the world of the living. And Sam is caught in the middle - will he be able to bring himself to help? Blue Peter Award winner Gareth P. Jones has woven a darkly comic story, a wonderfully funny adventure that roams the grimy streets of Victorian London.

Reading Planet - Project Pet - Level 6: Fiction (Jupiter)

Reading Planet - Project Pet - Level 6: Fiction (Jupiter)

Author: Gareth P. Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2019

Daniel can't believe his luck when his mum finally agrees to let him have a pet. Elvis the hamster becomes Daniel's new best friend and every day after school, Daniel pours out his worries to Elvis or teaches him tricks. Life is perfect. But then, out of the blue, Elvis dies. In an attempt to get over his heartbreak, Daniel comes up with a plan to bring Elvis back to life. Not by replacing him with another hamster, but by recreating a robot Elvis with the real Elvis's personality. With some help from his technology teacher, the experiment works - except the new Elvis might be just a little too similar to the real thing for his own good ... Project Pet is part of the Reading Planet range of books for Stars (Lime) to Supernova (Red+) band. Children aged 7-11 will be inspired to love reading through the gripping stories and fascinating information books created by top authors. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and questions to support reading at home and develop comprehension skills. Reading age: 9-10 years

Reading Planet - Project Time - Level 7: Fiction (Saturn)

Reading Planet - Project Time - Level 7: Fiction (Saturn)

Author: Gareth P. Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2019

Eva has signed up for loads of after school activities. She wants to be brilliant at all of them, but the pressure of keeping on top of practising, training and reading for everything is a huge challenge. If only she could time travel, she'd easily be able to fit everything in ...The aromatock should be the answer to Eva's problems. One sniff and this invention transports her back in time so she can squeeze in extra rehearsals and training sessions. But the more she uses it, the more Eva finds herself in danger of meeting herself in all these other time frames. Will coming face to face with a devastating event from her childhood bring the whole experiment to a terrible end? Project Time is part of the Reading Planet range of books for Stars (Lime) to Supernova (Red+) band. Children aged 7-11 will be inspired to love reading through the gripping stories and fascinating information books created by top authors. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and questions to support reading at home and develop comprehension skills. Reading age: 10-11 years

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.garethwrites.co.uk/home/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×