There's a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins
  

There's a Bear on My Chair

Written by Ross Collins
Illustrated by Ross Collins

3+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   Carnegie Greenaway   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016.

Text, illustration and design all combine to make this an outstanding picture book. Mouse is cross, there’s a bear – a polar bear – on his chair, he won’t move and ‘There isn’t any room to spare. We do not make a happy pair’. The bear is apparently oblivious to Mouse and his growing rage, though readers will notice him take an occasional sly peek at his companion, deftly illustrated in just one line of eyebrow. Collins’s illustrations also brilliantly capture Mouse’s changing moods, from anger through to resignation. The text is a joy to read, a series of funny statements constructed – Dr Seuss-like – around words that rhyme with chair. A sequel – There’s a Mouse in My House – must follow. This superb picture book is set to become a classic. ~ Andrea Reece

Louise from Nosy Crow says: “This hilarious and highly original story featuring mouse and bear with just one chair is perfect for fans of Jon Klassen. Children will laugh out loud and parents will love the clever nature of the story.”

Synopsis

There's a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins

Poor Mouse! A bear has settled in his favourite chair and that chair just isn't big enough for two. Mouse tries all kinds of tactics to move the pesky Bear but nothing works and poor Mouse gives up. Once Mouse has gone, Bear gets up and walks home. But what's that? Is that a Mouse in Bear's house?!

About the Author

Ross Collins

Ross was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1972. He graduated from the Glasgow School of Art in 1994 with a First in Illustration. Since then he has illustrated over 100 children’s book and has written 8, winning many prestigious awards including the Scottish Children’s Book Award and Royal Mail Book Award.

Ross spends his time writing and illustrating children's books, walking by Loch Lomond and precariously swinging backwards on chairs. Ross can also be found scaring small children at book festivals and schools. He lives in Glasgow.

Photo credit, Chris Close.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 3

Author

Ross Collins
More books by Ross Collins

Author's Website

www.rosscollins.net/

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Publication date

4th June 2015

ISBN

9780857633934

Categories


At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools