LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

There's a Bear on My Chair

Written by Ross Collins

Illustrated by Ross Collins

Part of the Ross Collins Series

Featured Books for 3+ readers

LoveReading View on There's a Bear on My Chair

Shortlisted for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016.

Text, illustration and design all combine to make this an outstanding picture book. Mouse is cross, there’s a bear – a polar bear – on his chair, he won’t move and ‘There isn’t any room to spare. We do not make a happy pair’. The bear is apparently oblivious to Mouse and his growing rage, though readers will notice him take an occasional sly peek at his companion, deftly illustrated in just one line of eyebrow. Collins’s illustrations also brilliantly capture Mouse’s changing moods, from anger through to resignation. The text is a joy to read, a series of funny statements constructed – Dr Seuss-like – around words that rhyme with chair. A sequel – There’s a Mouse in My House – must follow. This superb picture book is set to become a classic. ~ Andrea Reece

Louise from Nosy Crow says:  “This hilarious and highly original story featuring mouse and bear with just one chair is perfect for fans of Jon Klassen. Children will laugh out loud and parents will love the clever nature of the story.”

LoveReading4Kids

There's a Bear on My Chair Synopsis

Poor Mouse! A bear has settled in his favourite chair and that chair just isn't big enough for two. Mouse tries all kinds of tactics to move the pesky Bear but nothing works and poor Mouse gives up. Once Mouse has gone, Bear gets up and walks home. But what's that? Is that a Mouse in Bear's house?!

If you loved this, you might like these...

Greta and the Giants inspired by Greta Thunberg's stand to save the world
A Cat's Christmas Carol
Wolf in the Snow
 The Adventures of Moose & Mr Brown

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780857633941
Publication date: 01/09/2016
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780857633934
Publication date: 04/06/2015
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857633934
Publication date: 4th June 2015
Author: Ross Collins
Illustrator: Ross Collins
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: 3+ readers
Other Categories: All Shortlists and Winners

About Ross Collins

Ross Collins' primary 1 teacher, Mrs Spears, told his parents that he should go to art school. 13 years went by until he was finally 'old enough' to get into the Glasgow School of Art. Can you believe that? – 13 years. On graduating he won the Macmillan Prize for his first picture book. Since then he's illustrated over 100 books for children and written a few of them too. Several of them have won enormous glittering awards which he keeps in a box in Latvia. Ross' book The Elephantom was recently adapted into a critically acclaimed play by those clever people at the ...

More About Ross Collins

More Books By Ross Collins

Cover for This is a Dog by Ross Collins
Cover for What Does An Anteater Eat? by Ross Collins
Cover for This Zoo is Not for You by Ross Collins
View All Books By Ross Collins

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×