Reader Reviewed The Lone City 2: The White Rose by Amy Ewing
  

The Lone City 2: The White Rose

Written by Amy Ewing
Part of the The Lone City Trilogy Series

YA readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

The enticing second Lone City novel continues to reveal more about the fascinating and thrilling dystopian world previously unveiled in The Jewel. The White Rose plunges straight into the middle of tense and dramatic action, immediately capturing your attention (and don't expect it to be released until the very last page). Courageous Violet has some difficult decisions ahead of her as she attempts to escape The Jewel, who can she trust? Raven is weak and in mortal danger, Ash is desperately concerned for his sister, while Garnet needs to believe in a cause. Amy Ewing cleverly reveals tantalising information about the history of The Lone City and the surrogates augury powers, leaving you wanting to know even more. The White Rose is a creative and stimulating read for young adults, it also very much feels as though it is leading the way for a hugely climatic and explosive conclusion in the third novel, personally, I can’t wait! ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Natalie - 'A dystopian fantasy book that it is so captivating that it is difficult to put down.'
  • Izzy Read - 'Wow. Wow. Wow. It’s not every day when a sequel is as good, if not better than its counterpart! Original and unpredictable; It gave me all the more reason to adore the world of The Lone city that Amy Ewing has created!'
  • Inés Davies - 'When I finished the first book, The Jewel, I couldn’t wait for this one, and now this one has come out, I can’t wait for the next one!'
  • Amy Laws - 'I loved The White Rose from start to finish and, as a result, I struggled to put it down. I am a massive fan of The Lone City series and The White Rose was certainly no exception.'
  • Catherine Bryce - 'Great thriller that keeps you captivated from the beginning of the book. Total excitement wrapped up in a book!'
  • Katherine Sheldon - 'The White Rose is a thrilling sequel to The Jewel that keeps you captured even after the last page is turned...even more captivating than the last, I look forward to reading the final book in the trilogy.'
  • Delilah Acworth - 'The White Rose was a tumultuous tale, encompassing love and passion with the pain that a dystopia society would cause to its citizens.'
  • Rose Heathcote - 'I couldn't put this book down! The narrative was so quick paced and compelling that I got to the end of the book without really noticing.'

Synopsis

The Lone City 2: The White Rose by Amy Ewing

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Matched, this is the second book in the Lone City trilogy, following on from Amy Ewing's shocking and compelling debut novel, The Jewel.

Violet, Ash and Raven have escaped the palace of the Duchess of the Lake, but Regimentals are hunting for them across the city. Nowhere is safe, and they are dependent on Lucien and his secret society for survival. If they can reach the safety of the White Rose then Violet may be able to help Lucien in his plan to rescue more surrogates. For one surrogate, however, it is already too late. Violet's best friend, Raven, is pregnant. And in the Jewel, surrogates cannot survive giving birth.

Reviews

Original and unpredictable; It gave me all the more reason to adore the world of The Lone City that Amy Ewing has created! [...]Wow. Wow. Wow. It's not every day when a sequel is as good, if not better than its counterpart! -- Young Reviewer Love Reading 4 Kids I loved The White Rose from start to finish and, as a result, I struggled to put it down. I am a massive fan of The Lone City series and The White Rose was certainly no exception. -- Young Reviewer Love Reading 4 Kids Great thriller that keeps you captivated from the beginning of the book. -- Young Reviewer Love Reading 4 Kids Ewing works her special magic in a gripping, world-building saga full of romance, fast-paced action and spine-tingling danger. Add a cast of exciting and credible characters and a sensational cliffhanger ending, and The White Rose will leave fans begging for the final instalment! Lancashire Evening Post

About the Author

Amy Ewing

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Amy Ewing
More books by Amy Ewing

Author's Website

amyewingbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

1st October 2015

ISBN

9781406347586

Categories


A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools