The Lone City 2: The White Rose

Written by Amy Ewing

Part of the The Lone City Trilogy Series

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for Young Adults General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Lone City 2: The White Rose

The enticing second Lone City novel continues to reveal more about the fascinating and thrilling dystopian world previously unveiled in The Jewel. The White Rose plunges straight into the middle of tense and dramatic action, immediately capturing your attention (and don't expect it to be released until the very last page). Courageous Violet has some difficult decisions ahead of her as she attempts to escape The Jewel, who can she trust? Raven is weak and in mortal danger, Ash is desperately concerned for his sister, while Garnet needs to believe in a cause. Amy Ewing cleverly reveals tantalising information about the history of The Lone City and the surrogates augury powers, leaving you wanting to know even more. The White Rose is a creative and stimulating read for young adults, it also very much feels as though it is leading the way for a hugely climatic and explosive conclusion in the third novel, personally, I can’t wait! ~ Liz Robinson

The Lone City 2: The White Rose Synopsis

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Matched, this is the second book in the Lone City trilogy, following on from Amy Ewing's shocking and compelling debut novel, The Jewel.

Violet, Ash and Raven have escaped the palace of the Duchess of the Lake, but Regimentals are hunting for them across the city. Nowhere is safe, and they are dependent on Lucien and his secret society for survival. If they can reach the safety of the White Rose then Violet may be able to help Lucien in his plan to rescue more surrogates. For one surrogate, however, it is already too late. Violet's best friend, Raven, is pregnant. And in the Jewel, surrogates cannot survive giving birth.

The Lone City 2: The White Rose Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Natalie - 'A dystopian fantasy book that it is so captivating that it is difficult to put down.'
  • Izzy Read - 'Wow. Wow. Wow. It’s not every day when a sequel is as good, if not better than its counterpart! Original and unpredictable; It gave me all the more reason to adore the world of The Lone city that Amy Ewing has created!'
  • Inés Davies - 'When I finished the first book, The Jewel, I couldn’t wait for this one, and now this one has come out, I can’t wait for the next one!'
  • Amy Laws - 'I loved The White Rose from start to finish and, as a result, I struggled to put it down. I am a massive fan of The Lone City series and The White Rose was certainly no exception.'
  • Catherine Bryce - 'Great thriller that keeps you captivated from the beginning of the book. Total excitement wrapped up in a book!'
  • Katherine Sheldon - 'The White Rose is a thrilling sequel to The Jewel that keeps you captured even after the last page is turned...even more captivating than the last, I look forward to reading the final book in the trilogy.'
  • Delilah Acworth - 'The White Rose was a tumultuous tale, encompassing love and passion with the pain that a dystopia society would cause to its citizens.'
  • Rose Heathcote - 'I couldn't put this book down! The narrative was so quick paced and compelling that I got to the end of the book without really noticing.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

Among the Red Stars
The Dark Days Deceit
Only the Ocean
Kingdom of Ash

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406347586
Publication date: 01/10/2015
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406347586
Publication date: 1st October 2015
Author: Amy Ewing
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, General Fiction, Romance / Relationship Stories
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Amy Ewing

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.

More About Amy Ewing

More Books By Amy Ewing

Cover for The Jewel by Amy Ewing
View All Books By Amy Ewing

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.