Star Struck by Jenny McLachlan
  

Star Struck

Written by Jenny McLachlan

13+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This fourth and final book in the hugely entertaining Flirty Dancing series tells the story of bad-girl Pearl, who knows what she wants and always gets it, like the leading role in the school production of Romeo and Juliet. Except this time, Pearl doesn’t get what she wants. Her calling to play opposite gorgeous Jake Flowers’ Romeo is blown off-course when super-cool, super-talented new girl Hoshi sweeps into the audition and takes the wind from Pearl's sails. While Pearl deploys her considerable cunning to try to mess things up for Hoshi, she finds herself drawn to her. There are some serious tearjerker moments when it emerges that Pearl’s invincible persona is protective armour against problems at home but, with Hoshi’s help, Pearl finds the strength to confront some tough truths and remove her in-your-face façade.

This is a funny, heartwarming tale about working out who you are, discovering what it really means to be a friend, and the thrill of unexpected love. It’s also a fabulous finale to a top series. ~ Joanne Owen

Synopsis

Star Struck by Jenny McLachlan

Following on from Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb and Sunkissed, Jenny McLachlan's next book is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison. In a huge fantastic final hurrah to our lovable heroines - Bea, Betty, Kat and Pearl - Jenny McLachlan's latest book tells Pearl's story. Pearl is the 'bad girl' of the group - she drinks, she smokes, she swears - and she's mean to Bea and Betty. But she did fly halfway round the world to rescue Kat in Sunkissed. If there's one thing Pearl knows deep down, it is how to be a friend. And now, more than ever, she could really use a friend. There will be laughter, there will be tears and there will definitely be kissing. Most importantly, Pearl will be keeping it fierce!

A message from the author

Hello! You’ve just picked up Pearl’s story. Pearl doesn’t care about rules or expectations, and she certainly isn’t bothered about being ‘nice’. When I was at school, girls like Pearl scared the pants off me. Here’s what I did to stay under their radar:

1. Avoided eye contact at all times.

2. Answered no more than one question per lesson.

3. Never, ever wore anything outlandish.

Unfortunately – because I love colour, animals and sparkly stuff – I often failed at 3. For example, in Year Eight I wore a pair of enormous wooden parrot earrings on non-school-uniform day. As we were queuing for assembly, a mean girl in my class clocked my dangling macaws, burst out laughing and said, ‘I love your earrings, Jenny?’ And I love your face!’ I yelled back . . . silently . . . in my head. I didn’t say a word because I was the ‘quiet one’ and she was the ‘mean one’ and at school it’s easy to get stuck in a role, even when the role doesn’t suit you at all.

In Star Struck, Pearl is about to step out of the mean-girl role she’s been playing her entire life. But she’s scared: she’s been acting tough for so long, can she really change now? And will people let her? Pearl’s journey begins at an audition for a school play when a new girl bursts in to the room, looks her in the eye and refuses to look away. So turn the page and join Pearl as she discovers who she really wants to be.

Enjoy!

The Flirty Dancing series:

Love Bomb
Sunkissed
Star Struck

Reviews

PRAISE FOR JENNY MCLACHLAN’S FLIRTY DANCING SERIES:

‘Hilarious’ Sunday Times

‘A hysterically funny, poignant and irresistibly fluffy romp’ Metro

‘A warm and original voice for younger teenagers’ Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

‘McLachlan has an assured, comic touch’ Angels & Urchins

‘Jenny McLachlan – the new star of teen fiction!’ Book Previews

‘Jenny McLachlan is fast becoming one of my favourite writers’ Serendipity Reviews

‘I can't think of a better contemporary series for teens right now’ Wondrous Reads

‘I may just have found myself a new favourite Young Adult author’ Reviewed the Book

‘I really enjoy this series, it is funny, a good read and thoughtful’ School Librarian

‘Perceptive and entertaining’ Parents in Touch

‘Impossible not to fall in love with’ Book Previews

‘Fun with a capital F U & N!’ Luna’s Little Library

‘Sure to draw in an army of fans’ Ink Pellet

About the Author

Jenny McLachlan

Jenny McLachlan spent thirteen years of her life teaching English: a job that combined her passion for the written word with her passion for showing off. It also provided her with the inspiration for her books. In the summer of 2014 she became a fulltime writer. Jenny lives by the seaside with her husband and two small but fierce girls. In addition to writing, she enjoys exploring the South Downs, running and, if it will embarrass her husband enough, jiving in any vaguely suitable situation.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
336 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Jenny McLachlan
More books by Jenny McLachlan

Author's Website

jennymclachlan.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

10th March 2016

ISBN

9781408856130

Categories


I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools