LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Jenny McLachlan - Author

About the Author

Jenny McLachlan spent thirteen years of her life teaching English: a job that combined her passion for the written word with her passion for showing off. It also provided her with the inspiration for her books. In the summer of 2014 she became a fulltime writer.   Jenny lives by the seaside with her husband and two small but fierce girls. In addition to writing, she enjoys exploring the South Downs, running and, if it will embarrass her husband enough, jiving in any vaguely suitable situation.

Featured books by Jenny McLachlan

Other books by Jenny McLachlan

The Chocolate Unicorn: A Bloomsbury Young Reader

The Chocolate Unicorn: A Bloomsbury Young Reader

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2020

'Every child needs a Bloomsbury Young Reader. Fun, stretching, just the right length, full of adventurous vocabulary and punctuation.' (Julie-Ann McCulloch, Teacher) Olive Brown is scared of just about everything. She is a worrier and what she needs is some courage. Well, one day Grandpa gives her a little box of magic and inside is a special chocolate unicorn who is about to show Olive what it truly means to be brave... This heartwarming story about finding courage from well-loved author Jenny McLachlan is perfect for children who are learning to read by themselves and for Key Stage 1. It features illustrations from Sarah Lawrence and relatable characters young readers will find hard to resist. Bloomsbury Young Readers are the perfect way to get children reading, with book-banded stories by brilliant authors like Julia Donaldson. They are packed with gorgeous colour illustrations and include inside cover notes to help adults reading with children, as well as ideas for activities related to the stories.

The Land of Roar

The Land of Roar

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 05/09/2019

When Arthur and Rose were little, they were heroes in the Land of Roar, an imaginary world that they found by climbing through the folding bed in their grandad's attic. Roar was filled with things they loved dragons, mermaids, ninja wizards and adventure as well as things that scared them (including a very creepy scarecrow. . .) Now the twins are eleven, Roar is just a memory. But when they help Grandad clean out the attic, Arthur is horrified as Grandad is pulled into the folding bed and vanishes. Is he playing a joke? Or is Roar . . . real? The Land of Roar is reminiscent of Peter Pan, The Neverending Story and Jumanji perfect for readers of Nevermoor and Wizards of Once.

Reading Planet - There's a Chicken in my Bookbag - Turquoise: Galaxy

Reading Planet - There's a Chicken in my Bookbag - Turquoise: Galaxy

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/04/2019

In this rhyming story, Doug and the rest of his class arrive at school but quickly discover that there are no teachers to be found! What will they decide to do with their day of freedom? There's a Chicken in my Bookbag is part of the Galaxy range of books from Rising Stars Reading Planet. Galaxy provides captivating fiction and non-fiction for Pink A to White band. The rich collection of highly decodable books immerses children in a range of cross-curricular topics and genres. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and activities to support reading at home as well as comprehension questions to check understanding. Reading age: 6-7 years

Reading Planet - The Jumpy Bumpy Feeling - Orange: Galaxy

Reading Planet - The Jumpy Bumpy Feeling - Orange: Galaxy

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/10/2018

Flora is very excited about going on a camping trip with Mum. Lots of things about the trip are great during the daytime, but as bedtime approaches, Flora notices how many things are different to being at home and she gets a jumpy bumpy feeling inside! The Jumpy Bumpy Feeling is part of the Galaxy range of books from Rising Stars Reading Planet. Galaxy provides captivating fiction and non-fiction for Pink A to White band. The rich collection of highly decodable books immerses children in a range of cross-curricular topics and genres. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and activities to support reading at home as well as comprehension questions to check understanding. Reading age: 5-6 years

Reading Planet - The Quack in the Kitchen - Yellow: Galaxy

Reading Planet - The Quack in the Kitchen - Yellow: Galaxy

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/10/2018

Minu likes to visit the pond in the park to look at the ducklings, but one day she notices that her cat, Socks, is interested in the ducklings, too! Can Minu help to keep the ducklings safe? The Quack in the Kitchen is part of the Galaxy range of books from Rising Stars Reading Planet. Galaxy provides captivating fiction and non-fiction for Pink A to White band. The rich collection of highly decodable books immerses children in a range of cross-curricular topics and genres. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and activities to support reading at home as well as comprehension questions to check understanding. Reading age: 5-6 years

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×