Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Violet Remy-Robinson’s adventures are gathering her a growing band of fans, and no wonder. Violet is one of those crime-solving children beloved of children’s books, but these stories have a particular sparkle, provided by exotic settings, Violet and her sidekick Art are in Venice this time, having sailed there from Corfu; a decidedly glamorous milieu (the opera, gelati parlours); and Harriet Whitehorn’s polished and pacey writing style. Violet finds herself caught up with a tortoise smuggling ring this time, could the Mr Big be the beautiful soprano La Bellissima? Violet will have a hard job convincing her parents and bumbling P C Green, fortuitously seconded to the Italian police for the summer. The adventure is as delicious as Violet’s favourite ice-cream and Becka Moor’s lovely illustrations are the sprinkles on top.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...Uncle Johnny has invited Violet and her friends to spend the summer with him on a sailing adventure around Europe and Violet couldn't be more excited! But when she suspects that the captain of a boat nearby might be up to no good, Violet needs to put her detective skills into action...could he be the head of a smuggling ring?

With a beautiful hardback package complete with two-colour illustrations throughout from Becka Moore.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

There are more mysteries to solve with Violet...

Violet and the Hidden Treasure

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Reviews

“Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.” The Times

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel. Becka Moor studied Illustration for Children's Publishing in the North of Wales at Glyndwr University. She has since moved back home to Manchester where she works under the strict supervision of two very mischievous cats, doodling away and drinking far too much coffee.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
208 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

10th March 2016

ISBN

9781471122637

Categories


Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools