Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn
  

Violet and the Smugglers

Written by Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrated by Becka Moor

7+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   9+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £8.99

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for Best Crime Novel for Children aged 8-12, CrimeFest Gala Awards 2017

Violet Remy-Robinson’s adventures are gathering her a growing band of fans, and no wonder. Violet is one of those crime-solving children beloved of children’s books, but these stories have a particular sparkle, provided by exotic settings, Violet and her sidekick Art are in Venice this time, having sailed there from Corfu; a decidedly glamorous milieu (the opera, gelati parlours); and Harriet Whitehorn’s polished and pacey writing style. Violet finds herself caught up with a tortoise smuggling ring this time, could the Mr Big be the beautiful soprano La Bellissima? Violet will have a hard job convincing her parents and bumbling P C Green, fortuitously seconded to the Italian police for the summer. The adventure is as delicious as Violet’s favourite ice-cream and Becka Moor’s lovely illustrations are the sprinkles on top.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...Uncle Johnny has invited Violet and her friends to spend the summer with him on a sailing adventure around Europe and Violet couldn't be more excited! But when she suspects that the captain of a boat nearby might be up to no good, Violet needs to put her detective skills into action...could he be the head of a smuggling ring?

With a beautiful hardback package complete with two-colour illustrations throughout from Becka Moore.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

There are more mysteries to solve with Violet...

Violet and the Hidden Treasure

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Reviews

“Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.” The Times

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
208 pages
Interest Age: From 7 years

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

10th March 2016

ISBN

9781471122637

Categories


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools