Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn
  

Violet and the Smugglers

Written by Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrated by Becka Moor

7+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   9+ readers   eBooks   

RRP £8.99

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for Best Crime Novel for Children aged 8-12, CrimeFest Gala Awards 2017

Violet Remy-Robinson’s adventures are gathering her a growing band of fans, and no wonder. Violet is one of those crime-solving children beloved of children’s books, but these stories have a particular sparkle, provided by exotic settings, Violet and her sidekick Art are in Venice this time, having sailed there from Corfu; a decidedly glamorous milieu (the opera, gelati parlours); and Harriet Whitehorn’s polished and pacey writing style. Violet finds herself caught up with a tortoise smuggling ring this time, could the Mr Big be the beautiful soprano La Bellissima? Violet will have a hard job convincing her parents and bumbling P C Green, fortuitously seconded to the Italian police for the summer. The adventure is as delicious as Violet’s favourite ice-cream and Becka Moor’s lovely illustrations are the sprinkles on top.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson. ~ Andrea Reece

Win a copy of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage!

We have TEN copies of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage, by Paul Whitfield, to give away!

To have a chance of winning one of these brilliantly funny books, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 14 August 2017. The winners will be notified by 28 August 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 14/08/2017

Synopsis

Violet and the Smugglers by Harriet Whitehorn

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...Uncle Johnny has invited Violet and her friends to spend the summer with him on a sailing adventure around Europe and Violet couldn't be more excited! But when she suspects that the captain of a boat nearby might be up to no good, Violet needs to put her detective skills into action...could he be the head of a smuggling ring?

With a beautiful hardback package complete with two-colour illustrations throughout from Becka Moore.

Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

There are more mysteries to solve with Violet...

Violet and the Hidden Treasure

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Reviews

“Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.” The Times

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
208 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

10th March 2016

ISBN

9781471122637

Categories


Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools