Superhero Street by Phil Earle

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Second middle-grade novel from Demolition Dad author Phil Earle. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.


Superhero Street by Phil Earle

Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?


A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street! Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author

A hilarious story that will have children giggling throughout Parents In Touch

It's a delight: a brilliant cast of characters (including a truly formidable mum), jokes aplenty, poignant family drama and a very big heart indeed. The Bookseller

Phil BOOKCRUSHER Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.) Liz Pichon on Demolition Dad

Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour. David Tazzyman, illustrator of Mr Gum on Demolition Dad

About the Author

Phil Earle

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. Phil was recently BookTrust's online writer-in-residence and set out to prove with a series of vlogs that there’s a story out there for everyone. This year, Phil has already had sell-out events at Hay Festival and is next appearing at Cheltenham and Bath Children’s Literature Festivals. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


192 pages
Interest Age: From 9


Phil Earle
More books by Phil Earle

Author's Website


Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

25th February 2016




I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Lovereading 4 schools