Superhero Street by Phil Earle
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Second middle-grade novel from Demolition Dad author Phil Earle. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.

Synopsis

Superhero Street by Phil Earle

Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?

Reviews

A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street! Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author

A hilarious story that will have children giggling throughout Parents In Touch

It's a delight: a brilliant cast of characters (including a truly formidable mum), jokes aplenty, poignant family drama and a very big heart indeed. The Bookseller

Phil BOOKCRUSHER Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.) Liz Pichon on Demolition Dad

Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour. David Tazzyman, illustrator of Mr Gum on Demolition Dad

About the Author

Phil Earle

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. Phil was recently BookTrust's online writer-in-residence and set out to prove with a series of vlogs that there’s a story out there for everyone. This year, Phil has already had sell-out events at Hay Festival and is next appearing at Cheltenham and Bath Children’s Literature Festivals. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus.

Author photo credit David Owens

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Phil Earle
More books by Phil Earle

Author's Website

www.philearle.com

Publisher

Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

25th February 2016

ISBN

9781444013887

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools