LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Phil Earle - Author

About the Author

Phil Earle  was born and raised in Hull. His first job was as a care worker in a children’s home. Phil then chose the more sedate life of a bookseller, and now works in children’s publishing. He is the author of several award-winning novels including Being Billy which won the 2012 weRead Award and was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award. He lives in Yorkshire

Featured books by Phil Earle

Superhero Street

Superhero Street

9+ readers

Author: Phil Earle Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/02/2016

Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?

The Bubble Wrap Boy

The Bubble Wrap Boy

11+ readers 13+ readers

Author: Phil Earle Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/05/2014

All my life I've been tiny Charlie from the Chinese Chippie, whose only friend is Sinus, the kid who stares at walls. But I believe that everyone's good at something. I've just got to work out what my something is... How do you stay on the board when your world is turned upside down?

ebook of the month
Heroic

Heroic

13+ readers

Author: Phil Earle Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/04/2013

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014  Inspired by S.E. Hinton's The Outsiders and by the battles facing young soldiers all over the world, this is a devastating novel about brotherhood and sacrifice, from the award-winning author of Being Billy and Saving Daisy.

ebook of the month

Other books by Phil Earle

Albert Johnson and the Buns of Steel

Albert Johnson and the Buns of Steel

Author: Phil Earle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Dad is a Master Baker and Albert is expected to one day follow in his footsteps. There's just one problem ... Albert doesn't care about baking, he only cares about football, tennis, cricket and any other sport you can think of. When his dad invents The 'Doughmaster 5000' to help out around the bakery, it seems all their problems have been solved. But disaster is never far away and soon Dad's miracle solution is a rampaging nightmare! With just a pair of football boots, a tennis racket and a cricket bat to hand, can Albert really come to the resuce and fix this mess?

Edgar & Adolf

Edgar & Adolf

Author: Phil Earle, Michael Wagg Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 14/12/2020

When he inherits a special football badge, German teenager Adi sets off on a mission to fulfil his grandfather's dying wish and return the badge to its rightful owner, former England footballer, Edgar Kail. After tracking Edgar down, Adi gets the chance to learn more about the achievements of his grandfather, Adolf Jager, and the story unfolds of a special friendship that spanned twenty years and survived the horror of the Second World War. Edgar Kail and Adolf Jager played for their respective clubs in the early twentieth century and they remain folk heroes even now. Perfect for less-confident readers, this is a fictional tale of two real-life footballing heroes, and the moving story of a friendship forged by the beautiful game.

A Storey Street novel: Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

A Storey Street novel: Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Author: Phil Earle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/09/2017

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams. Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand. Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Early Reader: Grandad's Medal

Early Reader: Grandad's Medal

Author: Phil Earle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/07/2017

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey. Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too. But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . . A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.philearle.com

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×