Reader Reviewed The House on Hummingbird Island by Sam Angus
  

The House on Hummingbird Island

Written by Sam Angus

11+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: family secrets – ghosts – loss and love

This story of a young orphan girl feels part of a tradition going back to Eva Ibbotson, or even Frances Hodgson Burnett. It’s 1912 and Idie is a fierce young woman – with no parents she’s had to be – and she’s more than able to cope when she is suddenly called ‘home’ from England to the Caribbean Humming Bird Island, and installed as mistress of a grand old house. At first her closest companions are her horse and parakeet, but she soon makes friends with the people of the house and island, and they help her unravel the mystery of her family and past. With a cast of eccentric characters, a beautiful, exotic setting and drawing on overlooked but fascinating stories from history too, this is a rich and rewarding read. ~ Andrea Reece

Recommended for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Hilary McKay, Katherine Rundell and Michelle Magorian.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Erica Motoc, age 10 - 'A sad, dramatic book, which keeps you in suspense at all times.'
  • Miranda Beinart-Smith, age 10 - 'I loved this book; it was packed with adventure, suspense and excitement! You never know what’s going to happen next, which just makes you want to read more!'
  • Emily Lonsdale, age 10 - 'Read it in a day! I loved this unusual tale :)'
  • Maya Watson, age 9 - 'I really liked this book as I was able to feel close to the characters, as if I was there with them...I would definitely recommend it to my friends.'
  • Jenna Welch, age 11 - 'Angus is an absolutely genius writer and I loved the character Idie Grace.  She is very wild and has a love for animals, she reminds me slightly of myself.'
  • Tariq Mustfa, age 10 - 'I found it very exciting. I felt extremely involved with the characters and I found it very difficult to put the book down because I was worried about what would happen to them.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'A story set on a tropical island that is happy, sad and full of exotic animals. I would love to live in a house like Bathsheba!'
  • Ruby Weyman, age 9 - 'It was a compelling story with an unexpected ending; I thoroughly enjoyed it.'
  • Brodie Greenslade, age 10 - 'A book more for fans of war stories than animal enthusiasts, I found The House on Hummingbird Island a little disappointing.'
  • Rosie, age 9 - 'I love the title of the book.  If you like animals read this book. The descriptions and Idie's love for the animals is lovely. I am 9 but would be better for someone 11ish.'
  • Faye Dawson, age 10 - 'Idie Grace with her free spirit, love of animals and disregard for adult authority is a grown up version of Pippi Longstocking - you'll love her!'
  • Rosie Watch - 'A beautiful story that grows with Idie, from a book of childhood colour and the daily excitement of an evolving menagerie to a story that is increasingly full of mystery and intrigue.'
  • Ellen Cox, age 9 - 'An incredible book that made me laugh and cry. A slightly difficult read but good all the same.'

Synopsis

The House on Hummingbird Island by Sam Angus

'We're going to a fine place,' Idie told Homer to console him, 'with gullies and monkeys and hummingbirds.'

Idie Grace is twelve when she inherits a grand old house on a Caribbean island, and is sent away from grey old England to a place where hummingbirds hover and monkeys clamber from tree to tree. As a lady of property Idie can do as she pleases, so she fills the house with exotic animals, keeps her beloved horse in the hallway, and carries a grumpy, talking cockatoo called Homer on her shoulder. But the island house holds as many secrets as it does animals, and the truth behind Idie's inheritance is the biggest secret of all ...

Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Katherine Rundell

The House on Hummingbird Island has also been reviewed by The Krib. See the video below and click on the video for more information.

Reviews

This mysterious and historical tale has a fantastic heroine and a wonderful cast of characters. Packed with amazing details of the island wildlife, it will make you want to go on your very own tropical adventure. * The Week Junior * This beautiful book has a dream-like quality that will appeal to older children with a vivid imagination. * Cotswold Life *

About the Author

Sam Angus

Sam Angus grew up in Spain. She studied Literature at Trinity College, Cambridge, and taught A-level English before becoming a ski-wear designer. She lives between London and Exmoor with an improvident quantity of children, horses and dogs. Read more about the author here.

Photo credit Nick Harvey

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Author

Sam Angus
More books by Sam Angus

Author's Website

samangus.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

2nd June 2016

ISBN

9781447263036

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****