The House on Hummingbird Island

Written by Sam Angus

Featured Books for 11+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The House on Hummingbird Island

In a Nutshell: family secrets – ghosts – loss and love

This story of a young orphan girl feels part of a tradition going back to Eva Ibbotson, or even Frances Hodgson Burnett. It’s 1912 and Idie is a fierce young woman – with no parents she’s had to be – and she’s more than able to cope when she is suddenly called ‘home’ from England to the Caribbean Humming Bird Island, and installed as mistress of a grand old house. At first her closest companions are her horse and parakeet, but she soon makes friends with the people of the house and island, and they help her unravel the mystery of her family and past. With a cast of eccentric characters, a beautiful, exotic setting and drawing on overlooked but fascinating stories from history too, this is a rich and rewarding read. ~ Andrea Reece

Recommended for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Hilary McKay, Katherine Rundell and Michelle Magorian.

The House on Hummingbird Island Synopsis

'We're going to a fine place,' Idie told Homer to console him, 'with gullies and monkeys and hummingbirds.'

Idie Grace is twelve when she inherits a grand old house on a Caribbean island, and is sent away from grey old England to a place where hummingbirds hover and monkeys clamber from tree to tree. As a lady of property Idie can do as she pleases, so she fills the house with exotic animals, keeps her beloved horse in the hallway, and carries a grumpy, talking cockatoo called Homer on her shoulder. But the island house holds as many secrets as it does animals, and the truth behind Idie's inheritance is the biggest secret of all ...

Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Katherine Rundell

The House on Hummingbird Island has also been reviewed by The Krib. See the video below and click on the video for more information.

The House on Hummingbird Island Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Erica Motoc, age 10 - 'A sad, dramatic book, which keeps you in suspense at all times.'
  • Miranda Beinart-Smith, age 10 - 'I loved this book; it was packed with adventure, suspense and excitement! You never know what’s going to happen next, which just makes you want to read more!'
  • Emily Lonsdale, age 10 - 'Read it in a day! I loved this unusual tale :)'
  • Maya Watson, age 9 - 'I really liked this book as I was able to feel close to the characters, as if I was there with them...I would definitely recommend it to my friends.'
  • Jenna Welch, age 11 - 'Angus is an absolutely genius writer and I loved the character Idie Grace.  She is very wild and has a love for animals, she reminds me slightly of myself.'
  • Tariq Mustfa, age 10 - 'I found it very exciting. I felt extremely involved with the characters and I found it very difficult to put the book down because I was worried about what would happen to them.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'A story set on a tropical island that is happy, sad and full of exotic animals. I would love to live in a house like Bathsheba!'
  • Ruby Weyman, age 9 - 'It was a compelling story with an unexpected ending; I thoroughly enjoyed it.'
  • Brodie Greenslade, age 10 - 'A book more for fans of war stories than animal enthusiasts, I found The House on Hummingbird Island a little disappointing.'
  • Rosie, age 9 - 'I love the title of the book.  If you like animals read this book. The descriptions and Idie's love for the animals is lovely. I am 9 but would be better for someone 11ish.'
  • Faye Dawson, age 10 - 'Idie Grace with her free spirit, love of animals and disregard for adult authority is a grown up version of Pippi Longstocking - you'll love her!'
  • Rosie Watch - 'A beautiful story that grows with Idie, from a book of childhood colour and the daily excitement of an evolving menagerie to a story that is increasingly full of mystery and intrigue.'
  • Ellen Cox, age 9 - 'An incredible book that made me laugh and cry. A slightly difficult read but good all the same.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Afterwards
Snowglobe
Louisiana's Way Home
The Tales of Beedle the Bard Illustrated Edition

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447263036
Publication date: 02/06/2016
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447263036
Publication date: 2nd June 2016
Author: Sam Angus
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Sam Angus

Sam Angus grew up in Spain. She studied Literature at Trinity College, Cambridge, and taught A-level English before becoming a ski-wear designer. She lives between London and Exmoor with an improvident quantity of children, horses and dogs. Read more about the author here.   Photo credit Nick Harvey

More About Sam Angus

More Books By Sam Angus

Cover for School for Skylarks by Sam Angus
Cover for Captain by Sam Angus
Cover for A Horse Called Hero by Sam Angus
View All Books By Sam Angus

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×