Spynosaur by Guy Bass
  

Spynosaur

Written by Guy Bass
Illustrated by Lee Robinson
Part of the Spynosaur Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   Books for Boys   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: scaled ‘n’ tailed super-hero saves the world From a land before time comes a hero for today: meet Spynosaur, he’s got the mind of a super-spy, but in the body of a dinosaur (a Deinonychus to be precise)! Ably assisted by his daughter Amber, Spynosaur is always on hand to save the world and, under the instruction of his boss M11, to do battle with his nemesis Ego, head of P.O.I.S.O.N. (that’s Persons of Infamy, Spite and Occasional Nefariousness). The set up couldn’t be dafter, but the stories are still gripping and laughs of all kinds come thick and fast too. Part story book, part comic book, with illustrations on nearly every page including some cartoon strips, and totally entertaining!

For more mad-cap, thoroughly inventive and child-friendly adventures see Steve Cole’s Magic Ink series. ~ Andrea Reece

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

Spynosaur by Guy Bass

A new hilarious series from best-selling author Guy Bass, perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero, The Astounding Broccoli Boy and Astrosaurs. Spynosaur is secret agency Department 6's not-so secret weapon. Created by mysterious science rays, Spynosaur has the mind of a super spy and the body of a dinosaur. Dedicated to protecting the world from criminal masterminds, this prehistoric powerhouse dishes out justice and puns to a host of eccentric enemies. But when he and his sidekick daughter Amber are sent to rescue a captured fellow agent, Spynosaur becomes embroiled in a plot to frame him. Can he and Amber clear his name in time to save the world?

A few words from the author about Spynosaur:

Q&A with author Guy Bass: Q: Where did the inspiration for Spynosaur come from?

Probably Danger Monkey. He's a spider-monkey spy (spy-der monkey?) who has an insult for every occasion. I really like Amber too - she's Spynosaur's daughter and sidekick, and while she admires her dad, she also finds him incredibly embarrassing.

I've never tried golf. Maybe I could be the world's first and only golfing dolphin, Golphin.
Q: What’s next for Spynosaur?
I'm writing Spynosaur: Goldenclaw at the moment. Spynosaur is desperate to find a new arch enemy, but the monstrous Goldenclaw is too villainous even for him. It's got everything a dinosaur secret agent comedy adventure story should have, with added gold.

Reviews

Praise for Stitch Head:

If you liked Marcus Sedgwick's The Raven Mysteries, you'll love this! Julia Eccleshare

Bursting with twisted humour and amusingly action-packed illustrations, this book would be best enjoyed at night, with a torch under the covers. Carousel

About the Author

Guy Bass
Guy Bass on his recent novel for reluctant and struggling reads Noah Scape:

1. Can you describe Noah Scape Can't Stop Repeating Himself in 5 words?

When Noah doubles there's trouble.
When Noah doubles there's trouble.
When Noah doubles there's trouble.
When Noah doubles there's trouble.
When Noah doubles there's trouble.

2. What was the inspiration for writing the book?

The name was the starting point. I wanted to write a "be careful what you wish for" story, with Noah deliberately deciding to start doubling but it soon spirals out of control to become a situation he can't escape. There is something appealing about the idea of there being one more of you, or four of you, or eight, or a hundred ... but when everyone's the same, it's a sadder world. At the beginning of the story, Noah's so set in his ways that he rejects other people's ideas and opinions but the more he duplicates, the more he realises that difference makes life interesting. Difference and dinosaurs.

3. You could say that Noah is a bit of a difficult student... What were you like at school? Were you as demanding as Noah?

I wish I had been - demanding, not difficult. I was really quiet at school. So quiet that I'm pretty sure I could have turned invisible and I pretty sure no one would have noticed. Which is just one of the two hundred super powers I wished I'd had as a child. I spent every school assembly daydreaming about floating into the air and out of the window. My memory's hazy but i'm almost convinced it never actually happened.

4. We love Steve's artwork and he's said he just might have broken the record for drawing the same character again and again and again! What version of Noah is your favourite?

It's an impressive record! My favourite's one of the (many) Noahs on page 51. He's far off in the background, holding a balloon and looking strangely sinister. Thanks to horror films it's now impossible to hold a balloon and not look evil.

5. Noah loves nothing more than talking about dinosaurs and eating spaghetti with tomato sauce. What two things do you wish everyone loved as much as you do?

Comic books and cheese fondue.

6. Finally, we'd love to see the spot where all your characters come to life. Can you show us a picture of where you write?

Guy Bass in his office

I should point out that my main problem with writing books is the isolation. As you can see, I found a solution - you're never alone with a thousand lifeless painted eyes staring down at you. Oddly, the toys on my shelves seem to have doubled recently. Maybe that's where the real inspiration for Noah Scape came from.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
208 pages
Interest Age: From 8 to 10 years

Author

Guy Bass
More books by Guy Bass

Author's Website

www.guybass.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group

Publication date

8th September 2016

ISBN

9781847157164

Categories


Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****