Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Spynosaur

Written by Guy Bass

Illustrated by Lee Robinson

Part of the Spynosaur Series

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Spynosaur

In a nutshell: scaled ‘n’ tailed super-hero saves the world    From a land before time comes a hero for today: meet Spynosaur, he’s got the mind of a super-spy, but in the body of a dinosaur (a Deinonychus to be precise)! Ably assisted by his daughter Amber, Spynosaur is always on hand to save the world and, under the instruction of his boss M11, to do battle with his nemesis Ego, head of P.O.I.S.O.N. (that’s Persons of Infamy, Spite and Occasional Nefariousness). The set up couldn’t be dafter, but the stories are still gripping and laughs of all kinds come thick and fast too.  Part story book, part comic book, with illustrations on nearly every page including some cartoon strips, and totally entertaining!

For more mad-cap, thoroughly inventive and child-friendly adventures see Steve Cole’s Magic Ink series. ~ Andrea Reece

Spynosaur Synopsis

A new hilarious series from best-selling author Guy Bass, perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero, The Astounding Broccoli Boy and Astrosaurs. Spynosaur is secret agency Department 6's not-so secret weapon. Created by mysterious science rays, Spynosaur has the mind of a super spy and the body of a dinosaur. Dedicated to protecting the world from criminal masterminds, this prehistoric powerhouse dishes out justice and puns to a host of eccentric enemies. But when he and his sidekick daughter Amber are sent to rescue a captured fellow agent, Spynosaur becomes embroiled in a plot to frame him. Can he and Amber clear his name in time to save the world?

A few words from the author about Spynosaur:

Q&A with author Guy Bass: Q: Where did the inspiration for Spynosaur come from? 
I was scribbling things down and the name popped into my head. I though the idea of a dinosaur whose job it was to be inconspicuous might be funny. 
Q: Who is your favourite character from the book? 
Probably Danger Monkey. He's a spider-monkey spy (spy-der monkey?) who has an insult for every occasion. I really like Amber too - she's Spynosaur's daughter and sidekick, and while she admires her dad, she also finds him incredibly embarrassing. 
Q: If your brain was transported into the mind of any animal what would it be? 
A dolphin. I'd be as at home in the ocean as I would be in ... another ocean. Q: Following on from the above, would you be a spy or something else? 
I've never tried golf. Maybe I could be the world's first and only golfing dolphin, Golphin. 
Q: What’s next for Spynosaur? 
I'm writing Spynosaur: Goldenclaw at the moment. Spynosaur is desperate to find a new arch enemy, but the monstrous Goldenclaw is too villainous even for him. It's got everything a dinosaur secret agent comedy adventure story should have, with added gold.

Spynosaur Press Reviews

Praise for Stitch Head:

If you liked Marcus Sedgwick's The Raven Mysteries, you'll love this! Julia Eccleshare

Bursting with twisted humour and amusingly action-packed illustrations, this book would be best enjoyed at night, with a torch under the covers. Carousel


If you loved this, you might like these...

Sea-ing is Believing!
Pirate Blunderbeard: Worst. Movie. Ever.
Tom Gates: Epic Adventure (kind of)
The 104-Storey Treehouse

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781847157164
Publication date: 08/09/2016
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847157164
Publication date: 8th September 2016
Author: Guy Bass
Illustrator: Lee Robinson
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 208 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Books for Boys

About Guy Bass

Guy Bass on his recent novel for reluctant and struggling reads Noah Scape:   1. Can you describe Noah Scape Can't Stop Repeating Himself in 5 words? When Noah doubles there's trouble. When Noah doubles there's trouble. When Noah doubles there's trouble. When Noah doubles there's trouble. When Noah doubles there's trouble. 2. What was the inspiration for writing the book? The name was the starting point. I wanted to write a "be careful what you wish for" story, with Noah deliberately deciding to start doubling but it soon spirals out of control to become a situation he can't ...

More About Guy Bass

More Books By Guy Bass

Cover for Noah Scape Can't Stop Repeating Himself by Guy Bass
Cover for The Spy's the Limit by Guy Bass
Cover for Aidan Abet, Teacher's Pet by Guy Bass
View All Books By Guy Bass

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×