Guy Bass - Author

About the Author

Guy Bass grew up dreaming of being a superhero – he even had a Spider-Man costume. The costume doesn't fit anymore, so Guy now contents himself with writing and drawing the occasional picture. He writes the Gormy Ruckles series for Scholastic UK, as well as the popular Dinkin Dings series for Stripes. In 2010, Dinkin Dings and the Frightening Things won a CBBC Blue Peter Book Award in the "Most Fun Story with Pictures" category. Guy lives in London with his wife.

A Q&A with the Author

Where did the idea for the Stitch Head series come from?  I wanted to write a gothic monster / mad professor story. The initial idea was about two leftover body parts from the professor’s experiments - an arm and leg - which were alive, and understandably resented their lot! As it turns out, living limbs are considered a bit much for children’s fiction, and I was rightly asked to think again. Then I started to wonder how this mad professor got started. Maybe his first creation wasn’t all that monstrous or scary or impressive; maybe it had been forgotten, like an old toy, and longed to be remembered. I did a sketch of a little creature with stitches all over his face and things started to fall into place. 

Apart from Stitch Head, who have been your favourite characters in the series?  Arabella is fun to write. She became a major character almost by accident. She’s everything Stitch Head isn’t – rash, brash, and recklessly bold – and she approaches every problem by kicking it in the nose. The Creature is great when I want to give Stitch Head something to worry about. It always turns up at the right moment and does the wrong thing – the perfect storm of good intentions and terrible execution. 

When you started the series did you know how many you would be writing?  It was initially a one-book contract so I did sort of think that was that. I crammed so much into that first story, but ended up having to trim a lot. What I took out became the basis of the second book, and by the time I’d written that I had book three plotted, and so on.

Stitch Head has recently been voted by kids as one of the best Children’s books, how did this make you feel?  Gobsmacked, incredulous and humbled, in that order. Everybody involved in Stitch Head put in heaps of work into it, so I’m so chuffed people like it. That vote meant a lot, especially as there was no shortlist. Bonkers. Plus, it was good to know all those bribes paid off.

Sadly this is the last book in the Stitch Head series, but do you have any other books coming?  I don’t know how to spell a drum-roll, but I’m making the sound... my new series is called SPYnosaur. I’m really excited about it. It’s your classic secret-agent-gets-his-brainwaves-put-into-the-body-of-a-dinosaur-and-teams-up-with-his-daughter-to-battle-international-criminal-masterminds. With added monkeys.

Photo credit Elizabeth Gibson

Featured books by Guy Bass

Other books by Guy Bass

No More Mr Nice Spy

No More Mr Nice Spy

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/06/2018

From a land before time comes a hero for today ... Spynosaur - he's going to make crime extinct! A hilarious new series from award-winning author Guy Bass, perfect for fans of MY BROTHER IS A SUPERHERO, THE ASTOUNDING BROCCOLI BOY, DARKMOUTH and HAMISH AND THE WORLDSTOPPERS. When Spynosaur is accused of eating the princess of Canada's prized pet, Pugsy Malone, he has his Right to Spy revoked! Facing imprisonment in Department 6's inescapable prison, The Bin, Spynosaur goes rogue. Together with his sidekick, Amber, Spynosaur is pursued across the globe by his former fellow agents, including Danger Monkey, Dr Newfangle, and expert tracker Jet Setter. Convinced he's been framed, Spynosaur goes looking for the one villain capable such a diabolical deed, his arch enemy, Ergo Ego. But without his gadgets and equipment, and with the full force of Department 6 bearing down on him, can our hero evade capture long enough to clear his name? There's only one villain who could have pulled off such a diabolical deception and there's only one way to discover the truth... It's time to get himself captured. Lurking within the Bin, Department 6's inescapable prison, is Spynosaur's arch-enemy, Ergo Ego ... but does he have the answers Spynosaur's looking for ... and is he willing to spill the beans?

Goldenclaw

Goldenclaw

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/03/2017

From a land before time comes a hero for today ... Spynosaur - he's going to make crime extinct! A hilarious new series from award-winning author Guy Bass, perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero, The Astounding Broccoli Boy, Darkmouth and Hamish and the Worldstoppers. When Spynosaur locks up the last of the world's worst criminal masterminds, all that's left are a string of disappointingly undemanding novelty villains. With no one worthy of his super-spy skills, Amber's worried that Spynosaur might give up spying altogether. Even Goldentoe, their last hope of a dastardly villain, admits to only pretending to be evil to win the heart of Shady Lady. Frantic that her dad has lost the will to spy, Amber convinces Goldentoe to make himself a more desirably dangerous suitor. With the help of the Science Ray and a sample of Spynosaur's DNA, Goldentoe transforms himself into Goldenclaw, a formidable half-man, half dinosaur far more powerful than Spynosaur, and intent on a spot of world-ending asteroid flinging...

The Mighty Frog

The Mighty Frog

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/02/2015

Everyone's favourite frog has already saved the world TWICE with his incredible mightiness. Now it's the ultimate test of wills as Frog and his friends take to the skies to fight the bad-tempered extra-terrestrial Kroakan army ... hold on to your seats! Praise for The Legend of Frog: `An awesome adventure just waiting to be made into a film!' Creative Steps

Dinkin Dings and the Curse of Clawfingers

Dinkin Dings and the Curse of Clawfingers

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/09/2009

Dinkin Dings is afraid of everything - not just scary things, like being stuck in a lift with a hungry jaguar, but pretty much totally everything (apart from the monsters under his bed)! Dinkin has made a big mistake - he's created an invention of such mind-boggling anti-everythingness that it's far too terrifying to use and must be destroyed at once. But before he can get rid of it, the Anti-Everything Machine is stolen. Can Dinkin and the Frightening Things find the thief and save themselves from a fate worse than terror?

Dinkin Dings

Dinkin Dings

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2009

Dinkin Dings is afraid of everything - not just scary things, like being stuck in a lift with a hungry jaguar, but pretty much totally everything (apart from the monsters under his bed)!Dinkin can't believe it when he mistakenly eats fishfingers for dinner - they're the fingers of Fish-Men and the scariest food ever! Dinkin knows that the Fish-Men are plotting their revenge on everyone who eats their fingers and it won't be long before they come after him...but no one believes him...!

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.guybass.com

Author's Facebook

Find Guy Bass on Facebook

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×