LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Joanna Nadin - Author

About the Author

Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies,  Dad,  Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joe All Alone was nominated for the 2016 C ILIP C arnegie Medal. She writes the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy. Joanna previously worked as a policy writer for the Labour Party and a special adviser to the Prime Minister. She continues to freelance as a speechwriter and editor, and lectures in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

Click here to read more about JOANNA NADIN and her writing.

 

Featured books by Joanna Nadin

Joe All Alone

Joe All Alone

11+ readers

Author: Joanna Nadin Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2015

When thirteen-year-old Joe is left behind in Peckham while his mum flies to Spain on holiday, he decides to treat it as an adventure, and a welcome break from Dean, her latest boyfriend. Joe begins to explore his neighbourhood, making a tentative friendship with Asha, a fellow fugitive hiding out at her grandfather's flat. But when the food and money run out, his mum doesn't come home, and the local thugs catch up with him, Joe realises time is running out too, and makes a decision that will change his life forever. Deeply poignant, deceptively simple, this book will cut the reader to the bone almost without their realising it. Imogen Russell-Williams, Teens On Moon Lane

ebook of the month

Other books by Joanna Nadin

The Worst Class in the World Goes Wild!

The Worst Class in the World Goes Wild!

Author: Joanna Nadin Illustrator: Rikin Parekh Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/08/2022

'Deliciously silly, with hilarious catchphrases... a great cheer-up book' The Guardian 'HILARIOUS! Proper laughs!' Pamela Butchart ______________________________ A laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin, perfect for fans of Horrid Henry. Head teacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt thinks 4B is the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. She says school is not about footling or fiddle-faddling or FUN. It is about LEARNING and it is high time 4B tried harder to EXCEL at it. But best friends Stanley and Manjit didn't LITERALLY mean to swap Killer for a War of Wizard's playing card and set him loose in school. And they really didn't LITERALLY mean to EXPLODE fizzy foam all over the classroom and all over Mrs Bottomley-Blunt. These things just happened, even though they had FOOLPROOF plans to get away with it all. Highly illustrated and featuring two hilarious madcap adventures in one book, these stories are just right for children ready for their first chapter books.

Marvellous Mina Band 13/Topaz

Marvellous Mina Band 13/Topaz

Author: Joanna Nadin Illustrator: Lesley Danson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/06/2022

Collins Big Cat supports every primary child on their reading journey from phonics to fluency. Top authors and illustrators have created fiction and non-fiction books that children love to read. Levelled for guided and independent reading, each book includes ideas to support reading. Teaching and assessment support and eBooks are also available. Mina May Malek wants nothing more than to become a BMX champ like her brother Ayman. The trouble is, she's been ill her parents won't let her, so there's only one way to do it ... in disguise! Topaz/Band 13 books offer longer and more demanding reads for children to investigate and evaluate. Text type: A contemporary story Ideas for reading in the back of the book provide practical support and stimulating activities.

The Pancake Champ: A Bloomsbury Young Reader Turquoise Book Band

The Pancake Champ: A Bloomsbury Young Reader Turquoise Book Band

Author: Joanna Nadin Illustrator: Ana Gomez Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/06/2022

A hilarious story, ideal for children practising reading at home or in school. By Joanna Nadin, author of the World Book Day book The Worst Class in the World in Danger. Manjit is going to his new friend Leon's house for tea. There's lots to be worried about... What if they have a scary dog? What if Leon's dad is a dragon? But worst of all, what if they're having pancakes for tea! This relatable comedy about new friendships from prolific children's writer Joanna Nadin is perfect for Key Stage 1 (KS1) children who are learning to read by themselves. It features lively colour illustrations by Ana Gomez, and a storyline that encourages picky eaters to try new foods. Bloomsbury Young Readers are the perfect way to get children reading, with book-banded stories by brilliant authors like Julia Donaldson. With gorgeous colour illustrations and inside cover notes to help children get the most out of stories, this series is ideal for home and school. Guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE) are available at bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 'Every child needs a Bloomsbury Young Reader.' (Julie-Ann McCulloch, Teacher) Turquoise Book Band. Ideal for ages 6+.

Oxford Reading Tree TreeTops Reflect: Oxford Reading Level 11: It's Never Too Late

Oxford Reading Tree TreeTops Reflect: Oxford Reading Level 11: It's Never Too Late

Author: Joanna Nadin Illustrator: Mike Byrne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/01/2022

Tommy and Leon are nervous about parents' evening. But Tommy isn't worried about his classwork or his test scores, he's worried about Dad. Tommy's trying as best he can to help his dad, but will his efforts be enough? What will happen at parents' evening if Tommy can't help? Reflect is a series of emotionally powerful fiction and non-fiction with realistic settings, carefully crafted to promote thoughtful discussions and develop higher-level reading comprehension. Written by top authors and developed with Literacy expert Nikki Gamble, these are books you can trust to engage, entertain and support children's personal development and wellbeing. The books are finely levelled, making it easy to match every child to books with the right depth and complexity, and helping them to progress. Each book contains inside cover notes to help children deepen their understanding and support their reading comprehension. Teaching notes on Oxford Owl offer cross-curricular links to Relationships Education and support literacy skills.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×