LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Written by Joanna Nadin

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones? Synopsis

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series. A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson. Eleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from. Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't. Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones? Press Reviews

'An insightful, gripping, character-driven novel about peer pressure and the conflict between wanting to fit in and standing up for yourself ... As the novel builds to a tense, emotional climax, you'll be on the edge of your seat' * Joanne Owen - LoveReading4Kids - on WHITE LIES, BLACK DARE * 'A real boy's voice, nailed hard to a tale rich with wrong decisions, hopeless plans and stabs at redemption. I loved it' * Steve Cole on JOE ALL ALONE * 'A tender, unsentimental adventure, filled with family ties, love and courage' * Guardian on THE INCREDIBLE BILLY WILD * A story about finding yourself when everything changes. * The Bookseller * This is such a lovely story and Birdy is a wonderfully strong girl [...] It's enough to make you cry. * The Bookwitch (blog) * I don't mind admitting that I bawled my eyes out over Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones? It's just so lovely and heartfelt and genuine [...] There's so much to love about this story [...] I won't forget Birdy Jones for a long time. -- Jill Murphy * The Book Bag * Insightful and perceptive, this is an excellent read about contemporary issues with superb characters and thought-provoking scenarios. * Parents in Touch * A great tale of home, homing birds and belonging . . . drenched in atmosphere . . . full of heart * BITE-SIZE BOOKS * A poignant story of family, friendship and the things that matter, with an audacious heroine * Guardian *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781510201262
Publication date: 10th July 2018
Author: Joanna Nadin
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 256 pages

About Joanna Nadin

Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies, Dad, Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joe All Alone was nominated for the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal. She writes the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy. Joanna previously worked as a policy ...

More About Joanna Nadin

More Books By Joanna Nadin

Cover for It Wasn't Me: A Bloomsbury Young Reader by Joanna Nadin
Cover for The Incredible Billy Wild by Joanna Nadin
Cover for White Lies, Black Dare by Joanna Nadin
View All Books By Joanna Nadin

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×