Reader Reviewed Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  

Heartless

Written by Marissa Meyer

13+ readers   YA readers   Summer Reading   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: Heart, Hunger and Wonderland awaits… | Fans of fairy tale fantasy - or readers who’ve wondered how the Queen of Hearts came to be the angry “off with their heads!” screeching sovereign we know from Alice in Wonderland – will devour this delicious novel in which romance, adventure and the beauty of baking abounds.

Before she became the Queen of Hearts whom Alice encounters in Wonderland, Catherine was a girl who aspired to open a bakery and fall in love. But Catherine’s mother has other ideas; she believes her daughter could become the next queen. At the gloriously evoked Royal Ball in Heart Castle, Catherine is radiant in her red gown (everyone else wears black and white). She catches the eye of the King, while her own gaze lingers long on the charismatic court Jester, with whom she embarks on a secret liaison…

The concept is clever and classily executed by the New York Times-bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles, and Catherine’s journey is beset with tragic conflicts – passion versus duty, heart versus head – that keep the plot dashing along faster than the White Rabbit diving down a hole. Recommended for fans of Daniele Paige, Robin McKinley, Lee Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Zoe Marriott. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

Teens/YA's love to read and so in addition to the review by one of the Lovereading4kids editorial experts some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. Click here to read their full reviews.

  • Zara Kazi, age 18 - 'This book was wonderfully mad and heart-breaking. A must read for everyone who enjoys the classic, Alice in Wonderland...I cannot express how much I love this book!'
  • Sidney Greenslade, age 13 - 'Heartless is an exciting and bewitching tale of a girl who loves to bake, and whose heart and ambitions threaten to be her downfall...an incredible story, and I loved it!'
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 14 - 'Overall I enjoyed the new twist to Lewis Carroll's original story.'
  • Katie Adeniji, age 16 - 'Meyer has pulled off another fictionally fantastical novel that will break your heart.'
  • Beth Honeyman, age 14 - 'A fantastic read...For anyone who loves the original Wonderland characters sprinkling magic and cakes throughout. Jump in enjoy.'
  • Faghra Saleem, age 13 - 'Heartless is a beautiful tale of love and betrayal. It was a heart wrenching tale that kept me on the edge of my seat and I simply could not put it down!'
  • Fran Hughes, age 14  - 'Meyer has once again delivered an epic fantasy story. I wouldn't expect anything less from the best-selling author of The Lunar Chronicles series.'
  • Laura Solomon - 'Perfect for teens, this gripping love story is the perfect prequel for any Alice lovers. Every story has two sides, two perspectives and two stories, this story is the other half to Alice In Wonderland.'
  • Susie Holm, age 16 - 'A stomach rumbling, mind erupting story.'
  • Humaira, age 18 - 'Marisa Meyer can craft a well known world so beautifully and make it her own.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'Reading this story is a bit like reading Alice in Wonderland, there is a slight sense of everything being a little off centre, full of quirks and entertaining characters. I recommend this to all.'
  • Jess Wagstaff, age 16 - 'This Wicked-esque nonsense fairytale would make Gregory Maguire wish he had thought of this magnificent backstory.'

Synopsis

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Long before she was the Queen of Hearts, Catherine Pinkerton was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen. Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction.

At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

From New York Times bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer, comes a vision of Wonderland like none you've seen before, telling the untold story of the girl who would the notorious Queen of Hearts.

Reviews

"In Heartless, the nonsense that is Wonderland gets a reverential makeover, full of heart and its own idiosyncratic character." Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked and After Alice

“Meyer evokes the best whimsies from Lewis Carroll’s classic while giving the Queen of Hearts a backstory that may soften her most fearful haters.” Entertainment Weekly

About the Author

Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer is the New York Times-bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles. She lives in Tacoma, Washington, with her husband and three demanding cats. She's a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, any occasion that requires a costume), and has been in love with fairy tales since she was a child.

Watch a video interview with Marissa here:

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
464 pages
Interest Age: From 12 years

Author

Marissa Meyer
More books by Marissa Meyer

Author's Website

www.marissameyer.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

9th February 2017

ISBN

9781509814138

Categories


It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****