Twelve Minutes to Midnight by Christopher Edge

Twelve Minutes to Midnight

Written by Christopher Edge
Part of the Twelve Minutes to Midnight Trilogy Series

9+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

December 2012 Book of the Month. A thriller with a fast-paced cinematic style, Twelve Minutes to Midnight is an electrifying story from an exciting new author featuring a feisty 13 year old heroine. It is the first book in a must-read series for fans of Philip Reeve, Marcus Sedgwick and Anthony Horowitz.

Kirsty Stansfield of publisher Nosy Crow says: “I was hooked from the first sentence. The writing really pulls you in – you can hear the carriages racing over the cobbles and the rustle of the Victorian ladies’ skirts. I don't think I looked up from the page till the final full stop. Gripping indeed!”


Twelve Minutes to Midnight by Christopher Edge

Penelope Tredwell is a thirteen-year-old orphan heiress of the bestselling magazine, The Penny Dreadful. Her masterly tales of the macabre are gripping Victorian Britain, even if no one knows she's the real author. One day a letter she receives from the governor of the notorious Bedlam madhouse plunges her into an adventure more terrifying than anything she ever imagined.

If you enjoy a Victorian adventure you might also be interested in a new series The Battles of Ben Kingdom by Andrew Beasley. Click here to download an extract of the first book The Claws of Evil.


“An enjoyable read set in Victorian England with a lead character who I adored … I am already excited about getting the next instalment.” - The Overflowing Library

“A gripping story which brings Victorian London vividly to life.” -

"Really pacey historical thriller with a great sense of eerie Victorian atmosphere" - The Bookseller

About the Author

Christopher Edge

Christopher Edge is an writer, freelance publisher and education consultant as well as an accomplished author of children's books.

He grew up in Manchester and before becoming writer, worked as an English teacher and editor.

His books include Twelve Minutes to Midnight and the Dead Ways Trilogy.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


256 pages
Interest Age: From 10


Christopher Edge
More books by Christopher Edge

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Nosy Crow Ltd

Publication date

2nd February 2012




It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading 4 schools