Twelve Minutes to Midnight by Christopher Edge
  

Twelve Minutes to Midnight

Written by Christopher Edge
Part of the Twelve Minutes to Midnight Trilogy Series

9+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

December 2012 Book of the Month. A thriller with a fast-paced cinematic style, Twelve Minutes to Midnight is an electrifying story from an exciting new author featuring a feisty 13 year old heroine. It is the first book in a must-read series for fans of Philip Reeve, Marcus Sedgwick and Anthony Horowitz.

Kirsty Stansfield of publisher Nosy Crow says: “I was hooked from the first sentence. The writing really pulls you in – you can hear the carriages racing over the cobbles and the rustle of the Victorian ladies’ skirts. I don't think I looked up from the page till the final full stop. Gripping indeed!”

Synopsis

Twelve Minutes to Midnight by Christopher Edge

Penelope Tredwell is a thirteen-year-old orphan heiress of the bestselling magazine, The Penny Dreadful. Her masterly tales of the macabre are gripping Victorian Britain, even if no one knows she's the real author. One day a letter she receives from the governor of the notorious Bedlam madhouse plunges her into an adventure more terrifying than anything she ever imagined.

If you enjoy a Victorian adventure you might also be interested in a new series The Battles of Ben Kingdom by Andrew Beasley. Click here to download an extract of the first book The Claws of Evil.

Reviews

“An enjoyable read set in Victorian England with a lead character who I adored … I am already excited about getting the next instalment.” - The Overflowing Library

“A gripping story which brings Victorian London vividly to life.” - parentsintouch.co.uk

"Really pacey historical thriller with a great sense of eerie Victorian atmosphere" - The Bookseller

About the Author

Christopher Edge

Christopher Edge is an writer, freelance publisher and education consultant as well as an accomplished author of children's books.

He grew up in Manchester and before becoming writer, worked as an English teacher and editor.

His books include Twelve Minutes to Midnight and the Dead Ways Trilogy.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages
Interest Age: From 10 years

Author

Christopher Edge
More books by Christopher Edge

Author's Website

www.christopheredge.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Publication date

2nd February 2012

ISBN

9780857630506

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools