Twelve Minutes to Midnight by Christopher Edge
  

Twelve Minutes to Midnight

Written by Christopher Edge
Part of the Twelve Minutes to Midnight Trilogy Series

9+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

December 2012 Book of the Month. A thriller with a fast-paced cinematic style, Twelve Minutes to Midnight is an electrifying story from an exciting new author featuring a feisty 13 year old heroine. It is the first book in a must-read series for fans of Philip Reeve, Marcus Sedgwick and Anthony Horowitz.

Kirsty Stansfield of publisher Nosy Crow says: “I was hooked from the first sentence. The writing really pulls you in – you can hear the carriages racing over the cobbles and the rustle of the Victorian ladies’ skirts. I don't think I looked up from the page till the final full stop. Gripping indeed!”

Win a copy of The Bolds!

We are giving away 5 copies of The Bolds, the first in Julian Clary's hilarious series about a family of hyenas living in disguise. To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 2 March 2017. The winners will be notified by 16 March 2017.

The 3rd book in the series, The Bolds on Holiday is released in hardback this month.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 02/03/2017

Synopsis

Twelve Minutes to Midnight by Christopher Edge

Penelope Tredwell is a thirteen-year-old orphan heiress of the bestselling magazine, The Penny Dreadful. Her masterly tales of the macabre are gripping Victorian Britain, even if no one knows she's the real author. One day a letter she receives from the governor of the notorious Bedlam madhouse plunges her into an adventure more terrifying than anything she ever imagined.

If you enjoy a Victorian adventure you might also be interested in a new series The Battles of Ben Kingdom by Andrew Beasley. Click here to download an extract of the first book The Claws of Evil.

Reviews

“An enjoyable read set in Victorian England with a lead character who I adored … I am already excited about getting the next instalment.” - The Overflowing Library

“A gripping story which brings Victorian London vividly to life.” - parentsintouch.co.uk

"Really pacey historical thriller with a great sense of eerie Victorian atmosphere" - The Bookseller

About the Author

Christopher Edge

Christopher Edge is an writer, freelance publisher and education consultant as well as an accomplished author of children's books.

He grew up in Manchester and before becoming writer, worked as an English teacher and editor.

His books include Twelve Minutes to Midnight and the Dead Ways Trilogy.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages
Interest Age: From 10

Author

Christopher Edge
More books by Christopher Edge

Author's Website

www.christopheredge.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Publication date

2nd February 2012

ISBN

9780857630506

Categories


At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools