Twelve Minutes to Midnight

Written by Christopher Edge

Part of the Twelve Minutes to Midnight Trilogy Series

Books of the Month - <b>December</b> Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Twelve Minutes to Midnight

December 2012 Book of the Month. A thriller with a fast-paced cinematic style, Twelve Minutes to Midnight is an electrifying story from an exciting new author featuring a feisty 13 year old heroine. It is the first book in a must-read series for fans of Philip Reeve, Marcus Sedgwick and Anthony Horowitz.

Kirsty Stansfield of publisher Nosy Crow says: “I was hooked from the first sentence. The writing really pulls you in – you can hear the carriages racing over the cobbles and the rustle of the Victorian ladies’ skirts. I don't think I looked up from the page till the final full stop. Gripping indeed!”

Twelve Minutes to Midnight Synopsis

Penelope Tredwell is a thirteen-year-old orphan heiress of the bestselling magazine, The Penny Dreadful. Her masterly tales of the macabre are gripping Victorian Britain, even if no one knows she's the real author. One day a letter she receives from the governor of the notorious Bedlam madhouse plunges her into an adventure more terrifying than anything she ever imagined. 

 

If you enjoy a Victorian adventure you might also be interested in a new series The Battles of Ben Kingdom by Andrew Beasley.  Click here to download an extract of the first book The Claws of Evil.

Twelve Minutes to Midnight Press Reviews

“An enjoyable read set in Victorian England with a lead character who I adored … I am already excited about getting the next instalment.” - The Overflowing Library

“A gripping story which brings Victorian London vividly to life.” - parentsintouch.co.uk

"Really pacey historical thriller with a great sense of eerie Victorian atmosphere" - The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

Peril in Paris
Riddle of the Runes
The Treasure at the Top of the World
Rose Rivers

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780857630506
Publication date: 02/02/2012
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857630506
Publication date: 2nd February 2012
Author: Christopher Edge
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Historical Fiction
Recommendations: Books of the Month, eBooks

About Christopher Edge

Christopher Edge is an writer, freelance publisher and education consultant as well as an accomplished author of children's books. Christopher grew up in Manchester where he spent most of his childhood in the local library dreaming up stories, but now lives in Gloucestershire where he spends most of his time in the local library dreaming up stories. Before becoming a writer, he worked as an English teacher, editor and publisher – any job that let him keep a book close to hand. When not writing, he also works as a freelance publisher and education consultant and has written publications about ...

More About Christopher Edge

More Books By Christopher Edge

Cover for The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day by Christopher Edge
Cover for The Many Worlds of Albie Bright by Christopher Edge
Cover for Shadows of the Silver Screen by Christopher Edge
View All Books By Christopher Edge

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×