LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Catherine Bruton - Author

About the Author

After graduating from the University of Oxford, Catherine Bruton began her career as an English teacher and later went on to write feature articles for The Times, among other publications. She started writing fiction while teaching at a school in Africa, inspired by the children she was working with, and the culture that surrounded her. She still teaches, and her pupils continue to be one of her main sources of inspiration. We Can Be Heroes is her first novel for Egmont. Catherine lives near Bath with her husband and two small children.

Featured books by Catherine Bruton

Other books by Catherine Bruton

No Ballet Shoes in Syria

No Ballet Shoes in Syria

Author: Catherine Bruton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/04/2019

Aya is eleven years old and has just arrived in Britain with her mum and baby brother, seeking asylum from war in Syria. When Aya stumbles across a local ballet class, the formidable dance teacher spots her exceptional talent and believes that Aya has the potential to earn a prestigious ballet scholarship. But at the same time, Aya and her family must fight to be allowed to remain in the country, to make a home for themselves and to find Aya's father - separated from the rest of the family during the journey from Syria. With beautiful, captivating writing, wonderfully authentic ballet detail, and an important message championing the rights of refugees, this is classic storytelling - filled with warmth, hope and humanity. Wise and kind and unputdownable. - Hilary McKay, Costa Book Prize-winning author of The Skylarks' War A perfect balance of tragedy and triumph. - Natasha Farrant, author of The Children of Castle Rock A moving story about one of the big issues of our time, told with wonderful clarity, and incredibly touching. - Axel Scheffler, illustrator of The Gruffalo A moving, textured story ... Ballet Shoes for the 21st century - The Times

Refugee Kid

Refugee Kid

Author: Catherine Bruton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2017

ME2

ME2

Author: Catherine Bruton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2017

I Predict a Riot

I Predict a Riot

Author: Catherine Bruton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/06/2014

Explosive, emotional drama from the author of We Can Be Heroes, perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff and Annabel Pitcher. Welcome to Coronation Road - a kaleidoscope of clashing cultures and parallel lives. There's Maggie and her politician mum in their big house. There's Tokes and his mum in a tiny bedsit, running from trouble. And there's the ruthless Starfish gang, breeding fear through the neighbourhood. Amateur film-maker Maggie prefers to watch life through the lens of her camera. In Tokes, she finds a great subject for her new film. And when violence erupts, led by the Starfish gang, Maggie has the perfect backdrop. But as the world explodes around her, Maggie can't hide behind the lens anymore . . . Catherine Bruton is a major voice in young adult fiction, her prose was described by the Sunday Times as witty, wise and compelling. Readers who enjoyed Robin Talley's Lies We Tell Ourselves will be enthralled by this novel about social and racial tensions, inspired by the London riots. Look out for Catherine's other books: We Can Be Heroes Pop After graduating from the University of Oxford, Catherine Bruton began her career as an English teacher and later went on to write feature articles for The Times and other publications. I Predict a Riot is her third novel for Egmont, following We Can Be Heroes and Pop!, which received high acclaim. Catherine lives near Bath with her husband and two children.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×