Reader Reviewed Wendy Quill is a Crocodile's Bottom by Wendy Meddour

Wendy Quill is a Crocodile's Bottom

Written by Wendy Meddour
Illustrated by Mina May

7+ readers   Debuts of the Month   9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

May 2013 Debut of the Month A new diary novel which will especially make girls laugh a lot! And it is illustrated by an 11 year old!
Wendy tells the three stories about herself and her friends catching the tiny details which make things like the school show - in which Wendy hopes for the lead but ends up as the crocodile’s bottom - familiar but then investing them with a wackiness which makes them original and fresh.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Wendy Quill is a Crocodile's Bottom a small number of children were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'This book is a 10/10. I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves a book with a bit of excitement and a good laugh'.

Scroll down to read more reviews...

And Click here to download an exclusive interview with Wendy and Mina, the author and illustrator of Wendy Quill.

A Piece of Passion from the Commissioning Editor My name is Jasmine Richards and I am the senior commissioning editor for children’s fiction at Oxford University Press. It is my job to find new talent and to work with authors to create books that children will love. I’m extremely proud then to present to the world, Wendy Quill is a Crocodile’s Bottom!
Wendy Quill is an absolutely adorable character who you can’t help falling in love with and I think she definitely deserves to be a little bit famous. She’s a nine- year-old girl with big ideas and even if her plans don’t always work out she is never down for long.
In her first adventure, Wendy Quill is a Crocodile’s Bottom, our heroine is determined to be famous. Unfortunately for Wendy, fame comes at a price—namely dressing up as a blue Munchkin, catching the plague and being the bottom of a rather blind crocodile.
Wendy Quill was created by the author Wendy Meddour (she’s a real life Wendy so knows what it’s like) and illustrated by her daughter, eleven-year-old Mina May. Together they have created a book that will have you laughing with each turn of the page be it because of the funny text or hilarious pictures.
Wendy Meddour has done an awesome job of capturing the tone and voice of a nine-year-old and Mina drawings are full of life and quirky details—it is quite staggering to think she was just ten when she drew these illustrations.
Wendy Quill is a Crocodile’s Bottom is being published in a delectable pocket-book format which means you can take Wendy Quill with you everywhere and the book is split into three short stories which young readers can approach without feeling too intimidated. Wendy Quill is the perfect bridge between picture books and chapter books and is great as a read too and read alone as there is something different for adult and the child in every reading.
Anyway, that’s why I think Wendy Quill deserves to be a little bit famous. And I hope that this funny, charming and unique book finds itself in the hands of as many young readers as possible.


Wendy Quill is a Crocodile's Bottom by Wendy Meddour

Wendy's plans don't always work out but that's never stopped her having the best time ever! When she fails to get the lead part in the school production, Wendy stuns the audience with her debut as a crocodile's bottom! Then Wendy is dragged along to her best-friend Florence's tap-dancing class and somehow manages to wow the teacher with her dancing skills and land a part as a tap-dancing munchkin in their show. If Florence Hubert hadn't been allergic, Wendy would have been famous for a whole summer season. And when Wendy dresses up for a school project she makes the headlines, all thanks to Kevin, the school rat, and a 'Primary Plague Fiasco!'

Containing Wendy Quill’s top tips on ‘how to get a little bit famous’ and absolutely jam-packed with Mina May’s brilliant illustrations, created using the Brushes programme on her iPad, Wendy Quill is a Crocodile’s Bottom is perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Clarice Bean.


Evie Young, age 8 The stories are all really funny, I laughed the whole way through, especially at the bit where the school play Peter Pan goes wrong. Click here to read the full review...

Abigail Prior, age 10, I would give this book ten out of ten as it is a laugh a minute! Click here to read the full review...

Sam Harper, age 9 This book is absolutely hilarious. Click here to read the full review...

Gabi, age 11 I also liked the illustrations because they really made me read on. Click here to read the full review...

Mary Murphy, age 13 This book is a 10/10. I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves a book with a bit of excitement and a good laugh. Click here to read the full review...

About the Author

Wendy Meddour

Wendy spent many years teaching English at Oxford University before taking a break from academia to concentrate on her writing.

Wendy has previously written and illustrated two books: The Black Cat Detectives and A Hen in the Wardrobe, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Branford Boase Award. It also won the Islamic Foundation’s International Writing Competition and the John C Lawrence Award 2010 - a national award given to a writer whose work is considered to improve relations between races.

She finds that with a farm in North Africa, a ‘wobbly old house’ in Wiltshire where she writes and paints, her four young children and a Berber husband, she’s never short on inspiration. She is also the author of the bestselling Wendy Quill books.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


176 pages


Wendy Meddour
More books by Wendy Meddour

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Oxford University Press

Publication date

2nd May 2013




I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading 4 schools