Reader Reviewed The River Singers by Tom Moorhouse
  

The River Singers

Written by Tom Moorhouse

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

October 2013 Debut of the Month In the tradition of Kenneth Grahame’s The Wind in the Willows and Richard Adams’s Watership Down, The River Singers captures the desperate adventures of a family of water voles struggling survive as their habitat changes. Sylvan and his younger siblings are only just prepared for the world of the river when their lives are thrown into confusion following the violent death of their mother. Sylvan knows he must lead his family to a new home. Their journey takes them along the river which must now be their guide but the waters are treacherous and there is great danger all around them from the other animals that live along its banks.

A Piece of Passion from Liz Cross, Children’s Publisher, Oxford University Press Among all the riches in the children’s book world, there are some books that stand out, some books that are truly special and I am delighted that we have found just such a book in The River Singers. Lyrical yet gripping… with characters that spring from the page fully-formed. Packed with witty, authentic dialogue, and filled with moments of genuine peril, this is a book to fall in love with.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alex Boulton, age 11 - 'This book is wonderful. It is full of happiness, sadness, excitement and action-packed adventure. All the way through you will be crying and laughing with joy and tears of emotion.'Read full review >
  • Ewan Young, age 10 - 'This story is brilliant, seeing the river through the eyes of a water vole is really interesting.' Read full review >
  • James smart, age 13 - 'Loved the book, I found it gripping and I advise it to anyone.'  Read full review >
  • Charlie Upchurch, age 9  - 'The River Singers is a wonderful, exciting adventure about a family of water voles in danger who are looking for safety. It reminded me of Watership Down.'  Read full review >
  • Sam Harper, age 9  This heartwarming tale has danger and excitement. It is both funny and sad and the characters are so believable that I felt like I was living the adventure with them.  Read full review >

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

The River Singers by Tom Moorhouse

There is a rumour spreading along the length of the Great River, warning of a mysterious new danger that will threaten all the River Singers. When their mother is taken in the night, Sylvan and his water vole brothers and sisters have no choice but to abandon their snug burrow and go in search of a secure new home where they can live in peace. Together, they must embark on an epic journey fraught with danger along Great River but will they ever find a safe place to call home?

This is the debut novel from ecologist and water vole expert, Tom Moorhouse, who is responsible for reintroducing seven new populations of water voles to the Upper Thames.

Reviews

With echoes of The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame and Watership Down, this is a wonderful story with a classic, traditional feel...An utterly lovely book and highly recommended. www.thebookbag.co.uk

Just the sort of book I would have loved as a child. Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk

A hymn to nature, written with compassion and flair. Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe

‘a gripping and moving tale for children’ Martin Chilton, The Daily Telegraph

About the Author

Tom Moorhouse

Tom Moorhouse works as an ecologist at Oxford University’s Zoology Department as part of WILDCRU, the Wildlife Conservation Research Unit. He has a BSc from Durham, an MRes from York and completed his DPhil on water vole conservation ecology in 2003.
A water vole expert and dedicated naturalist, Moorhouse’s many achievements include reintroducing seven new populations of water voles to the Upper Thames.

Originally from the Dales, he now lives in Oxford.

Tom talks in greater detail about The River Singers (this is an extended version of the video on the book page.)

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
256 pages

Author

Tom Moorhouse
More books by Tom Moorhouse

Author's Website

tom-moorhouse.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

3rd October 2013

ISBN

9780192734815

Categories


It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools