The River Singers

Written by Tom Moorhouse

Adventure Stories Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks Animals

LoveReading View on The River Singers

October 2013 Debut of the Month   In the tradition of Kenneth Grahame’s The Wind in the Willows and Richard Adams’s Watership Down, The River Singers captures the desperate adventures of a family of water voles struggling survive as their habitat changes. Sylvan and his younger siblings are only just prepared for the world of the river when their lives are thrown into confusion following the violent death of their mother. Sylvan knows he must lead his family to a new home. Their journey takes them along the river which must now be their guide but the waters are treacherous and there is great danger all around them from the other animals that live along its banks.

A Piece of Passion from Liz Cross, Children’s Publisher, Oxford University Press  Among all the riches in the children’s book world, there are some books that stand out, some books that are truly special and I am delighted that we have found just such a book in The River Singers. Lyrical yet gripping… with characters that spring from the page fully-formed. Packed with witty, authentic dialogue, and filled with moments of genuine peril, this is a book to fall in love with.

The River Singers Synopsis

There is a rumour spreading along the length of the Great River, warning of a mysterious new danger that will threaten all the River Singers. When their mother is taken in the night, Sylvan and his water vole brothers and sisters have no choice but to abandon their snug burrow and go in search of a secure new home where they can live in peace. Together, they must embark on an epic journey fraught with danger along Great River but will they ever find a safe place to call home?

This is the debut novel from ecologist and water vole expert, Tom Moorhouse, who is responsible for reintroducing seven new populations of water voles to the Upper Thames.

The River Singers Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alex Boulton, age 11 - 'This book is wonderful. It is full of happiness, sadness, excitement and action-packed adventure. All the way through you will be crying and laughing with joy and tears of emotion.'Read full review >
  • Ewan Young, age 10 - 'This story is brilliant, seeing the river through the eyes of a water vole is really interesting.' Read full review >
  • James smart, age 13 - 'Loved the book, I found it gripping and I advise it to anyone.'  Read full review >
  • Charlie Upchurch, age 9  - 'The River Singers is a wonderful, exciting adventure about a family of water voles in danger who are looking for safety. It reminded me of Watership Down.'  Read full review >
  • Sam Harper, age 9  This heartwarming tale has danger and excitement. It is both funny and sad and the characters are so believable that I felt like I was living the adventure with them.  Read full review >

The River Singers Press Reviews

With echoes of The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame and Watership Down, this is a wonderful story with a classic, traditional feel...An utterly lovely book and highly recommended. www.thebookbag.co.uk

Just the sort of book I would have loved as a child. Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk

A hymn to nature, written with compassion and flair. Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe

‘a gripping and moving tale for children’ Martin Chilton, The Daily Telegraph

If you loved this, you might like these...

Harry Potter - Hogwarts A Movie Scrapbook
Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment
My Secret Dragon
Into the Jungle

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192734815
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780192734815
Publication date: 03/10/2013
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192734815
Publication date: 3rd October 2013
Author: Tom Moorhouse
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Animals
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Tom Moorhouse

  Tom Moorhouse lives in Oxford, where he enjoys the refreshing and perpetual rain. When not writing fiction he works as an ecologist at Oxford University's Zoology Department. Over the years he has met quite a lot of wildlife. Most of it tried to bite him. He loves hiking up mountains, walking through woods, climbing on rocks and generally being weather-beaten outdoors. Pouring words into books makes Tom very happy. His novels include The Rising, River Singers, and Trickster.  Tom talks in greater detail about The River Singers (this is an extended version of the video on the book ...

More About Tom Moorhouse

More Books By Tom Moorhouse

Cover for A Race for Toad Hall by Tom Moorhouse
Cover for The Rising by Tom Moorhouse
Cover for The Adventures of Mr Toad by Tom Moorhouse
View All Books By Tom Moorhouse

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.