Branford Boase Children's Debut Prize The Branford Boase Award

The winner for the 2017 Branford Boase Award has just been announced! Beetle Boy by M. G. Leonard. The Branford Boase Award is awarded annually for an outstanding first novel to a first-time writer of a book for young people, from ages 7 upwards. At the same time, it marks the important contribution of the editor in identifying and nurturing new talent.

Reader ReviewedBeetle Boy
M.G. Leonard
Winner of the Branford Boase Award 2017 | One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Shortlisted for the Children's category of the Books are My Bag Readers Awards 2016 | Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award and March... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/03/2016
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Girl of Ink & Stars
Kiran Millwood Hargrave
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 | Winner in the Young Fiction category and the overall Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2017 ‘Here be dragons' it says on old maps, but Isabella finds creatures even more terrifying in... Featured in: 11+ readers | 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/05/2016
Info Extract Buy

We are Giants
Amber Lee Dodd
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Wonder, this is a novel about a girl whose mum has dwarfism. But it's not just about that. It's about love, family, friendship, and how to be... Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/04/2016
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedLittle Bits of Sky
S. E. Durrant
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 | Shortlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award | May 2016 Debut of the Month This moving story of looked-after children describes the difficulties they face, but is nonetheless uplifting. Ira and her... Featured in: 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/05/2016
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedCogheart
Peter Bunzl
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 | September 2016 Debut of the Month In a nutshell: tick-tocking frequently airborne adventure From its opening scene aboard an airship harpooned in mid-air, Cogheart is filled with fabulous visual images and... Featured in: 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/09/2016
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Bubble Boy
Stewart Foster
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 | One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Month, May/June 2016 Deeply moving and utterly gripping, Bubble Boy is a stunning novel that makes you laugh... Featured in: 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 19/05/2016
Info Extract Buy

Riverkeep
Martin Stewart
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 | Shortlisted for YA Book Prize 2017 | Longlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016 When Fifteen-year-old Wulliam's father is possessed by a dark spirit, Wull hears that a cure for Pappa's illness lurks... Featured in: 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 28/04/2016
Info Extract Buy

Share this page

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

M.G. Leonard with her award, and in the group photo, left to right, Rachel Leyshon, M.G. Leonard, Barry Cunningham and Frances Hardinge. Frances, who won the Branford Boase Award in 2006, presented the winners with their awards.

Now in its seventeenth year the Branford Boase Award is recognised as one of the most important awards in children’s books with an impressive record in identifying authors with special talent at the start of their careers.

Uniquely, it also honours the editor of the winning title and highlights the importance of the editor in nurturing new talent.

Julia Eccleshare says: “Children’s publishing in the UK is an extremely healthy state and this is a particularly strong, varied and interesting list. There are moving contemporary stories that vividly depict modern family relationships; inventive and brilliantly imagined fantasy stories; stories that will move and inspire readers; and some to make them laugh. Any one of these seven authors would be a worthy winner and we are already excited about what they will write next.”

The Shortlist for the 2017 award was:

Cogheart
by Peter Bunzl, edited by Rebecca Hill (Usborne)

We Are Giants by Amber Lee Dodd, edited by Niamh Mulvey (Quercus)

Little Bits of Sky by S.E. Durrant, edited by Kirsty Stansfield (Nosy Crow)

The Bubble Boy by Stewart Foster, edited by Rachel Mann (Simon and Schuster)

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, edited by Rachel Leyson (Chicken House)

Beetle Boy by M G Leonard, edited by Barry Cunningham and Rachel Leyson (Chicken House)

Riverkeep by Martin Stewart edited by Shannon Cullen and Sharyn November (Penguin Random House)

The Branford Boase Award was set up in memory of the outstanding and prize-winning author Henrietta Branford and Wendy Boase, editorial director and one of the founders of Walker Books. They worked together on a number of Henrietta’s novels, a partnership they greatly enjoyed.

Henrietta Branford was a gifted novelist for young people. During her short career she won the Smarties Prize in 1994 for Dimanche Diller (Harper Collins) and the Guardian Fiction Prize in 1998 for Fire, Bed and Bone (Walker Books); she was twice shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize, in 1994 and 1997. Her progress and development as a writer was watched with interest by publishers, critics and fellow writers alike.

Wendy Boase, Editorial Director of Walker Books, and one of its founders, was a passionate children's book editor wholly committed to developing new writers and nursing them through their early writing careers. She is credited with bringing on many new talents. She and Henrietta worked together on a number of her books, a partnership that was warmly appreciated by Henrietta.

Both Henrietta and Wendy died of cancer in early 1999. The Branford Boase Award wishes to celebrate and encourage, in their names and in their memories, the crucial early development of new writing talent.

Running alongside the Branford Boase Award, the Henrietta Branford Writing Competition encourages writing talent in under 18s.

The winner of the 2017 Branford Boase Award will be announced on Wednesday 5th July at a ceremony in London. Frances Hardinge will present the winner with a cheque for £1,000 and both author and editor will receive a unique, hand-crafted silver-inlaid box.

For more information on the Branford Boase Award visit www.branfordboaseaward.org.uk

The branford boase award


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****