10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Champ

"Discover the joy of being a square peg in a round hole in this hilarious celebration of non-conformity."

View All Editions

£12.99 £11.69

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review Read An Extract

LoveReading4Kids Says

LoveReading4Kids Says

May 2024 Book of the Month

The Moleski family are all sporting champions – strong, muscly and with an eye always on the prize. Except for Abtin, the youngest member of the family, he is an artist, a reader, a dreamer. He doesn’t even have a mole on his face like everybody else! In short, Abtin is a big disappointment to the rest of his family. But rather than let the weight of expectation bring him down, Abtin finds his own unique method of bringing a smile to his family’s’ faces.

This is a fabulously funny book about embracing individuality and resisting expectation. Translated from Iranian, the illustrative style is different from what we might typically see published in the UK. The striking illustrations make great use of scale and perspective, with Abtin’s small stature compared to his gigantic family bringing fun and interest to every page. Through the illustrations we see Abtin going his own way, resolutely refusing to give in to family pressure. Where they are weightlifting and training Abtin is happily reading and painting, whilst they angrily stomp downstairs Abtin gleefully slides down banisters. Throughout the book we are treated to a series of ancestral portraits that grow increasingly grim and disapproving, the eyebrows in particular becoming a source of great hilarity.

This is a wonderful picture book for readers looking for something slightly different, perfect for fans of Jon Klassan.

Amy McKay

Books of the Month
Star Books

Find This Book In

Suitable For:
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

About

Author

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

Reader Reviews

See All

A great book, thoroughly enjoyable. Powerful!

The book is really engaging. The pictures are easy to follow and tell a story that children can link to. My son enjoyed the book and liked the theme of the story and how its about someone being different.
I think that children will use this book to relate to.... Read Full Review

Andrew Smith

Sticking out in a family and being yourself. Can you win? Abtin isn't built like his athlete family, however hard they push him. Watch him show everyone who he is - even if they don't like it!

Sticking out in a family and being yourself. Can you win?

Abtin can't win. Every member of his family is a champion athlete, and want him to be just like them. But we see he's not built that way - he draws, he paints, he can't BE what they push him towards.

As the book progresses, the scowls of Abtin's family become deeper, their bodies bigger and more dominating, though Abtin continues to defy their commands and live his life how he feels happy.

It all comes to a head when Abtin tries the only way he knows how to make them happy by using their tools to help with his own method...... Read Full Review

Katy Kelly

This is a book about being different and not feeling the need to conform. Abtin's family are all champion athletes and think that he should try to be the same, but that's not where his passion or talents lie.

This is a book about being different and not feeling the need to conform. Abtin's family are all champion athletes and think that he should try to be the same, but that's not where his passion or talents lie.
This is a really powerful book to open up discussions with children about being yourself. It could be used for PSHE with both KS2 and KS3 pupils as there is so much to discuss; the numerous powerful illustrations can lead such discussions on their own. As the book was originally published in Iran, this could also open up discussions about cultural differences in the world and historical challenges around human rights in parts of the world could be explored.... Read Full Review

Catherine