LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Audiobooks by L. M. Elliott

Browse audiobooks by L. M. Elliott, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading4Kids Top 10

  1. Until the End Until the End
    1
  2. Planet Joy Planet Joy
    2
  3. Princess Olivia Investigates: The Wrong Weather Princess Olivia Investigates: The Wrong Weather
    3
  4. Fake Fake
    4
  5. There Once is a Queen There Once is a Queen
    5
  6. The Ogress and the Orphans The Ogress and the Orphans
    6
  7. Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods
    7
  8. How to Train Your Dragon: How to Twist a Dragon's Tail How to Train Your Dragon: How to Twist a Dragon's Tail
    8
  9. A Bear Called Paddington A Bear Called Paddington
    9
  10. Peppa Pig: Bedtime Stories Peppa Pig: Bedtime Stories
    10
Filter
Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves

Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves

Author: L. M. Elliott Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley Release Date: 01/03/2022

In this moving and timeless story, award-winning author L. M. Elliott captures life on the U.S. homefront during World War II, weaving a rich portrait of a family reeling from loss and the chilling yet hopeful voyage of fighting for what matters, perfect for fans of The War That Saved My Life. Days after Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941, Hitler declared war on the U.S., unleashing U-boat submarines to attack American ships. Suddenly, the waves outside Louisa June’s farm aren’t for eel-fishing or marveling at wild swans or learning to skull her family’s boat—they’re dangerous, swarming with hidden enemies. Her oldest brothers’ ships risk coming face-to-face with U-boats. Her sister leaves home to weld Liberty Boat hulls. And then her daddy, a tugboat captain, and her dearest brother, Butler, are caught in the crossfire. Her mama has always swum in a sea of melancholy, but now she really needs Louisa June to find moments of beauty or inspiration to buoy her. Like sunshine-yellow daffodils, good books, or news accounts of daring rescues of torpedoed passengers. Determined to help her Mama and aching to combat Nazis herself, Louisa June turns to her quirky friend Emmett and the indomitable Cousin Belle, who has her own war stories—and a herd of cats—to share. In the end, after a perilous sail, Louisa June learns the greatest lifeline is love.

Show more
Storm Dog

Storm Dog

Author: L. M. Elliott Narrator: Katherine Littrell Release Date: 01/08/2020

For those who have ever felt out of place, this affirming and heartwarming book tells a powerful story of the American South, the love of a dog, and the power of music. Perfect for fans of Maxi's Secrets and How to Steal a Dog, and for anyone who's ever loved a dog. Whip-smart Ariel doesn’t fit in. Only in the winds of the Blue Ridge Mountains and spring storms that mirror the unhappiness she feels at home. Her brother understands her, but he’s in Afghanistan. Her father hasn't been the same since George deployed. Her mother focuses on Ariel’s gorgeous sister. When Gloria is selected to be an Apple Blossom Parade princess, Ariel feels even more the outsider and takes to the hills. There, during a raging storm, Ariel finds a lost dog who leads her to the safety of a cabin and Sergeant Josie, a former Army K-9 handler. Together—with music, dog-dancing, and a storm-child-crazy plan—the three outcasts find themselves. In this whimsical tale of self-discovery, L. M. Elliott captures the flavor of Virginia’s hunt country and Appalachia, while exploring definitions of beauty and belonging. Storm Dog will make readers proud to dance to their own rhythms.

Show more
Da Vinci's Tiger Unabridged

Da Vinci's Tiger Unabridged

Author: L. M. Elliott Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley Release Date: 01/11/2015

For fans of rich and complex historical novels like Girl with a Pearl Earring or Code Name Verity, Laura Malone Elliott delivers the stunning tale of real-life Renaissance woman Ginevra de' Benci, the inspiration for one of Leonardo da Vinci's earliest masterpieces. The young and beautiful daughter of a wealthy family, Ginevra longs to share her poetry and participate in the artistic ferment of Renaissance Florence but is trapped in an arranged marriage in a society dictated by men. The arrival of the charismatic Venetian ambassador, Bernardo Bembo, introduces Ginevra to a dazzling circle of patrons, artists, and philosophers. Bembo chooses Ginevra as his Platonic muse and commissions a portrait of her by a young Leonardo da Vinci. Posing for the brilliant painter inspires an intimate connection between them, one Ginevra only begins to understand. In a rich and vivid world of exquisite art with a dangerous underbelly of deadly political feuds, Ginevra faces many challenges to discover her voice and artistic companionship-and to find love.

Show more
Under a War-Torn Sky

Under a War-Torn Sky

Author: L. M. Elliott Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley Release Date: 01/11/2014

When Henry Forester is shot down during a bombing run over France,the World War II pilot finds himself trapped behind enemy lines. In constant danger of discovery by German soldiers, Henry begins a remarkable journey to freedom. Relying on the kindness of strangers, Henry moves from town to town—traveling by moonlight, never asking questions or even the names of the people who help him along the way. Each day brings him closer to home, yet every step in enemy territory invites new dangers. Even as Henry fights for his own life, he quickly grows to realize the peril that surrounds all of the French people and to admire the courage of the freedom fighters who risk death to protect him. Suspenseful and achingly true, this critically acclaimed and deeply beloved novel explores the heartbreak of war, the strength of the human spirit, and one young man's struggle to protect the things he loves.

Show more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×