LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Garth Nix - Author

About the Author

Garth Nix was born in 1963 and grew up in Canberra, Australia. After taking his degree in professional writing from the University of Canberra, he slowly sank into the morass of publishing industry, steadily devolving from sales rep through publicist, until in 1991 he became a senior editor witha major multinational publisher. After a period in Europe, the Middle East, and Asia in 1993, he left publishing to work as a marketing communications consultant. In 1999, he waas lured back to the publishing world to become a part-time literary agent. He now lives in Sydney, five-minute walk from Coogee Beach, with his wife, Anna, and lots of books.

 

Featured books by Garth Nix

Other books by Garth Nix

Nicholas Sayre and the Creature in the Case

Nicholas Sayre and the Creature in the Case

Author: Garth Nix Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 25/06/2014

Six months have passed since Lirael and Sameth fought off the Destroyer and saved Nicholas Sayre's life. Still recovering from his horrible ordeal, Nicholas is nonetheless eager to return to the Old Kingdom and his friends. But first he must endure a country house party organised by his powerful uncle, with the wealthy, eccentric Dorrance as the guest of honour. Nick hates the idea, especially since the people there don't believe in magic or necromancy. Even worse, they have a strange creature locked up in a display case.Things take a truly horrific turn when Nick is kidnapped, and his Charter-infused blood is fed to the creature, which promptly goes on a rampage, drinking blood from anyone it encounters to build its strength. With the Abhorsen days away and no way to stop a savage, incredibly strong Free Magic monster, what can Nick do to stop Dorrance and the creature in the case"e;?"e;

Sabriel

Sabriel

Author: Garth Nix Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 05/06/2014

Begin a new adventure: the first thrilling installment of Garth Nix's bestselling OLD KINGDOM fantasy series.Sabriel has spent most of her young life far away from the magical realm of the Old Kingdom, and the Dead that roam it. But all that changes when a creature from across the Wall arrives at her all-girls boarding school. The creature carries a message from her father, the Abhorsen - the magical protector of the realm whose task it is to bind and send back to Death those that won't stay Dead. Since the demise of the Royal Family the Dead have become stronger and more fearless, and now it seems their forces are threatening to overwhelm the Old Kingdom. Sabriel's father has been trapped in Death by a dangerous Free Magic creature. He urges her to return to her homeland, and to discover who or what is behind this uprising. Armed with her father's binding-bells and sword, she soon finds companions in Mogget, an ancient spirit bound into the body of a cat, and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage whom Sabriel frees from a long, magical imprisonment. As the three travel deep into the Old Kingdom, threats mount on all sides. And every step brings them closer to a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death - and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own destiny.With over 1 million Old Kingdom books sold in the UK, this timeless fantasy series is perfect for readers of Philip Pullman.Praise for Garth Nix:'Sabriel is a winner . . . a world with the same solidity and four-dimensional authority as our own, created with invention, clarity and intelligence' Philip Pullman, author of the His Dark Materials series'One of the best worldbuilders in fantasy . . . I love the Old Kingdom series' Brandon Sanderson'There is no joy like returning to the Old Kingdom . . . Nix sets the standard for fantasy' Leigh Bardugo'One of the greatest living fantasy writers . . . I will never get enough of the Old Kingdom' Sarah J. MaasBonus Content:The ebook edition is packed with bonus content like a "e;How I Write"e; essay and, for devices that support audio, 12 clips of an exclusive interview with Garth.

Blood Ties

Blood Ties

Author: Garth Nix, Sean Williams Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/04/2014

The third in the SPIRIT ANIMALS fantasy series about children and their spirit animals fighting to save their kingdom. Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers. Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible beasts - a wolf, a leopard, a panda, a falcon. Suddenly the paths of these children - and the world - have been changed for ever. Part engrossing book series, part action role-playing game - discover your spirit animal and join the adventure.

Spirit Animals, Book 3

Spirit Animals, Book 3

Author: Garth Nix, Sean Williams Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 01/04/2014

The Conquerors are trying to destroy the the land of Erdas by swallowing whole cities in their rush for power. Ready to fight, Meilin has set off into enemy territory with her spirit animal. Her friends aren't far behind...but they're not the only ones. (Runtime 5 hours, 29 min)

Mystery

Mystery

Author: Garth Nix, Sean Williams Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 01/06/2013

When an old man in an even older house dies mysteriously, twins Jack and Jaide Shield find themselves drawn into a dangerous treasure hunt in some deep, dark places. Jack and Jaide are troubletwistersgifted with magic and cursed by The Evil, a force that will stop at nothing to destroy their world. The old house holds something very important to The Eviland Jack and Jaide must race to find it, even though they dont know what it looks like or where it is.Jack and Jaide arent the only ones searching for the treasure. And as the mystery gets bigger and bigger, theyre not sure who they can trust. Even friends are beginning to act suspicious. And their father, who should be their strongest ally, is leading them into treacherous territory.At the heart of all magic is mystery, and at the heart of this mystery is nothing less than the key to controlling magic. Its going to take the two troubletwisters to the edge of their Gifts in order to figure this one out.

Fire Above, Fire Below

Fire Above, Fire Below

Author: Garth Nix Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 08/05/2013

"e;Fire Above, Fire Below"e; is about the crisis that the dying of a dragon living below a major city causes, and the pact made many years earlier to deal with such a situtation.At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Shade's Children

Shade's Children

Author: Garth Nix Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 01/03/2013

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.garthnix.com

Author's Facebook

Find Garth Nix on Facebook
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×