LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Chris Powling - Author

About the Author

Chris Powling was born in 1943, in south London, where he still lives. He's taught at all levels in the state school system, from infants to postgraduates, and for ten years was headteacher of a London primary school.

Throughout his career, Chris has had a rich and diverse involvement with children's books - as a critic for national journals and newspapers (including THE GUARDIAN, THE OBSERVER, BOOKS FOR KEEPS, CAROUSEL and THE TIMES EDUCATIONAL SUPPLEMENT) and as a broadcaster for the BBC and various independent radio stations. He was the editor of BOOKS FOR KEEPS from 1989 till 1996 when it won the Eleanor Farjeon Award for services to children's literature, is a panel member for a national children's book club and has served on numerous prize committees. Currently, he is adult-books editor for Classic FM where he presents a monthly review on the programme Classic Newsnight.

Featured books by Chris Powling

Other books by Chris Powling

Oxford Reading Tree Traditional Tales: Level 9: East of the Sun, West of the Moon

Oxford Reading Tree Traditional Tales: Level 9: East of the Sun, West of the Moon

Author: Chris Powling, Nikki Gamble, Pam Dowson Illustrator: Violeta Dabija Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/03/2021

East of the Sun, West of the Moon is the tale of Astrid, who has to rescue her prince from the clutches of the troll Long Nose. Will she be able to use her intelligence to outwit the troll and save the prince from the enchanted castle? This charming story written by Chris Powling and beautifully illustrated by Violeta Dabija will capture your child's imagination! It has been sensitively rewritten to enable your child to read it with confidence whilst capturing the magic of the original tale. There are useful tips for parents and an engaging story map inside the book to help you and your child retell the story together. The Oxford Reading Tree Traditional Tales series includes 40 of the best known stories from all over the world, which have been passed down for generations. They are a perfect introduction to different cultures, traditions and morals. All the stories are carefully levelled to Oxford Reading Tree levels and matched to the phonic progression in Letters and Sounds enabling your children to read the stories independently. Books contain inside cover notes to support children in their reading. Help with childrens reading development is also available at www.oxfordowl.co.uk.

Project X Origins: Brown Book Band, Oxford Level 10: Fast and Furious: The Fun Run

Project X Origins: Brown Book Band, Oxford Level 10: Fast and Furious: The Fun Run

Author: Chris Powling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/02/2021

Project X Origins is a ground-breaking guided reading programme for the whole school. Action-packed stories, fascinating non-fiction and comprehensive guided reading support meet the needs of children at every stage of their reading development. Join Ant as he does some micro-training for a charity race in The Fun Run. Each book contains inside cover notes that highlight challenge words, prompt questions and a range of follow-up activities to support children in their reading.

Project X Origins: Gold Book Band, Oxford Level 9: Head to Head: Top of the Table

Project X Origins: Gold Book Band, Oxford Level 9: Head to Head: Top of the Table

Author: Chris Powling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/02/2021

Project X Origins is a ground-breaking guided reading programme for the whole school. Action-packed stories, fascinating non-fiction and comprehensive guided reading support meet the needs of children at every stage of their reading development. In Top of the Table Cat and Tiger are disappointed their football match may be cancelled, so Ant suggests they play a micro-sized, table-top game instead, to see who is the best player! Each book contains inside cover notes that highlight challenge words, prompt questions and a range of follow-up activities to support children in their reading.

On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader

On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader

Author: Chris Powling Illustrator: Loretta Schauer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough? This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. Book Band: Brown Ideal for ages 7+

Rainbow Boots

Rainbow Boots

Author: Chris Powling Illustrator: Jim Field Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2019

All the kids in school have a pair of Rainbow Boots - well, all of them except Denzil! So he pretends that his are being customised and soon he's trapped in a web of lies. But are the Rainbow Boots really worth all this hassle? A hilarious school comedy from popular writer Chris Powling with illustrations from the brilliant Jim Field. Bloomsbury High Low books encourage and support reading practice by providing gripping, age-appropriate stories for struggling and reluctant readers, those with dyslexia, or those with English as an additional language. Printed on tinted paper with a dyslexia friendly font, Rainbow Boots is aimed at readers aged 9+ and has a manageable length (64 pages) and reading age (7+). Produced in association with reading experts at Catch Up, a charity which aims to address underachievement caused by literacy and numeracy difficulties.

The Cave at the End of the World 4 Voyagers

The Cave at the End of the World 4 Voyagers

Author: Chris Powling Illustrator: Amerigo Pinelli Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/10/2017

The Old Man of the Mountain asks Tig to visit him at his cave. What does he want and can Uga let her go alone? Books in the Voyagers strand are for learners experienced in reading a range of genres. Learners will be able to discuss how language is used and how the vocabulary chosen causes reactions and inferences in the reader. Texts use flashbacks, parody, summary and commentary. Fiction titles include chapters to reflect sustained reading while shorter books have deeper inferential meaning needing more advanced comprehension skills. Contains teaching support including learning outcomes, curriculum links and follow-up activities.

Richard III Band 18/Pearl

Richard III Band 18/Pearl

Author: Chris Powling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/01/2017

Build your child's reading confidence at home with books at the right level Follow the twisted, evil plans of Richard III as he works his way to up become king of England. But, just how far will he go in order to reach the top, and once there, will he get the glory and triumph he so craves? Pearl/Band 18 books offer fluent readers a complex, substantial text with challenging themes to facilitate sustained comprehension, bridging the gap between a reading programme and longer chapter books. Text type: Fiction from our literary heritage Curriculum links: English: fiction from the literary heritage

Oxford Reading Tree Story Sparks: Oxford Level 9: Ella's Umbrella

Oxford Reading Tree Story Sparks: Oxford Level 9: Ella's Umbrella

Author: Chris Powling Illustrator: Sergio De Giorgi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/09/2015

Ella's grandpa is an inventor. When he gives her an umbrella she knows immediately that it isn't just an ordinary brolly ... but she's still amazed when it whisks her up into the sky! Join Ella as she soars and swoops through the skies in this delightful adventure. Oxford Reading Tree Story Sparks is an emotionally-engaging fiction series that will fire children's imaginations. These 36 original stories will get children thinking, and develop and deepen their comprehension skills. The variety of authors and illustration styles broadens children's reading experience, with something to appeal to every child. All the books in the series are carefully levelled, so it's easy to match every child to the right book for them. They also contain inside cover notes, to enable parents and teachers to support children in their reading. Help with children's reading development is also available at www.oxfordowl.co.uk.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×