LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Tom Palmer - Author

About the Author

Tom Palmer credits articles about football with getting him into reading as a child. He travels all over the UK for events, performing his immensely popular rugby and football reading games to hundreds of children every week. He is the current Writer-in-Residence for the RAF Museums. Tom is also working with the National Literacy Trust on a very high profile football and reading project during the Euro 2016 football tournament. 

Featured books by Tom Palmer

Other books by Tom Palmer

Sudden Death A Roy of the Rovers Novel

Sudden Death A Roy of the Rovers Novel

Author: Tom Palmer Illustrator: Elkys Nova Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/09/2021

Get ready for another action packed season of football with Roy of the Rovers! After a dramatic season that saw Roy Race and teammates suffer a heart-breaking loss in the League Cup final, their beloved stadium burning to the ground, and an ownerless Rovers on the brink of being shut down, things were looking bleak despite securing promotion to the Championship... A fresh season brings fresh hope though in the form of dedicated new owners, intent on rebuilding Mel Park and restoring Melchester Rovers as one of the biggest clubs in Europe, in both the men's and the women's game! But a new start means new challenges for Roy, Rocky, their family, and their teammates, and with Roy's Dad's condition getting worse, things aren't about to get any easier both on and off the field... Get ready for another scintillating season of Roy of the Rovers! Perfect for fans of Dan Freedman's Jamie Johnson or Matt Oldfield's Johnny Ball books!

Roy of the Rovers: Rocky

Roy of the Rovers: Rocky

Author: Tom Palmer, Dan Cornwell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Rocky takes over! A struggling student and brilliant footballer, Rocky Race is many things, but to most people she's just Roy Race's little sister. It's not much fun - especially as Melchester Rovers head to the League Cup Final. Rocky's sick of everyone knowing her through Roy, she's had enough of school, and she's even started having panic attacks. Now it's up to Rocky to find her own way - as a person and a player - and she's going to need all her grit and determination to do it...

Over the Line

Over the Line

Author: Tom Palmer, Violet Tobacco Illustrator: Ollie Cuthbertson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/05/2020

It's the proudest moment of Jack's life - his debut as a professional footballer. Now he has a chance to achieve his dream of playing for his country. But it's 1914 and the world is at war. Talk of sportsmen's cowardice leads to the formation of a Footballers' Battalion and Jack has little choice but to join up. The promise of a Cup in Flanders offers a glimmer of hope, but Jack and his teammates will have to survive a waking nightmare if they are ever to play again. A stunning new edition of Tom Palmer's bestselling novel based on the true story of WWI war hero and footballing legend Jack Cock.

Roy of the Rovers: From the Ashes

Roy of the Rovers: From the Ashes

Author: Tom Palmer Illustrator: Dan Cornwell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

ROVERS ON THE ROPES! Roy Race has the world at his feet. He's playing Premier League football, earning plenty of money, has a great girlfriend, and things are even looking up at home.The only problem is, he's not playing for Melchester Rovers. And the club he loves, the club he has supported all his life, the club that, until recently, he played for, is falling apart. Mel Park lies in ruins.Dodgy backroom deals brought Rovers low, and now Roy is determined to find a way back to his old club - and to lift it out of the mess it's in. But he might have to break a few rules to do it...

Roy of the Rovers: On Tour

Roy of the Rovers: On Tour

Author: Tom Palmer Illustrator: Dan Cornwell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Roy Race is living the dream. After a whirlwind season that saw him become centre forward for his beloved Melchester Rovers and score a bagful of goals, helping them secure promotion into League One, he's now recognised as one of the best young footballers in the country. But something strange is afoot. As Rovers head off on a pre-season tour, Roy's treated differently, and kept apart from the team. What's going on, and why are Rovers bringing in new players? With his family life hitting a rough patch and everything in flux at Mel Park, it's time for Roy of the Rovers to fight for his team, his family - and his career in football... This fourth volume of the smash-hit phenomenon reboot sees the start of an all-new second season!

Rugby Academy

Rugby Academy

Author: Tom Palmer Illustrator: David Shephard Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/06/2019

Borderlands First XV have their sights set on becoming the best school rugby team in the world. But while the boys focus on their matches, many of their parents are serving overseas in the armed forces, and everyone is worried as conflict grows in the Central Asian Republic. New pupil Woody is a footballer by nature and must decide if he's prepared to give rugby his all. Rory feels like he's losing his focus, distracted by thoughts of his parents in danger. And Owen finds himself a t the centre when conflict breaks out within the team. With so many hurdles to face along the way, how far will they get in the rigorous schools' tournament?

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×