LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sarah Mussi - Author

About the Author

Sarah Mussi was born in Gloucestershire. After her education at a girls’ school in Cheltenham, she completed a post-graduate degree at the Royal College of Art before leaving the UK for West Africa. She lived in Cameroon, Nigeria and Ghana for over eighteen years, finally teaching English in Accra. Sarah now lives in Brixton and teaches in Lewisham, splitting her holidays between England and Ghana.

Sarah’s first published novel, The Door of No Return, won the Children’s Book of the Year 2007 Award at the Glen Dimplex New Writers’ Awards and was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award, shortlisted for Wirral Best Paperback of the Year and awarded Junior Library Guild Status in the USA. Her second novel, The Last of the Warrior Kings, inspired a London walk and was shortlisted for the Lewisham Book Award.

Featured books by Sarah Mussi

Siege

Siege

13+ readers

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/09/2013

Shortlisted for the Leeds Book Awards 2014, 14-16 age category   Leah escapes the siege in her school, but she can't avoid wrestling with impossible choices in this topical, terrifying new novel that's essential reading for teens everywhere. ------------------------------                                                                                      The winners of the Leeds Book Awards are chosen by you! Read the books, talk about them with your friends & teachers and decide which one is your favourite.  You can vote in your local library or at www.leedsbookawards.co.uk.  Voting closes on Friday 25th April and the winners will be announced on Tuesday 20th May. See below for the entire shortlist.

ebook of the month

Other books by Sarah Mussi

You Can't Hide

You Can't Hide

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2019

An unreliable narrator, secret identities and lost memories combine in this page turning YA thriller that will keep you guessing. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying. Lexi's been in an accident. But she can't remember it - or any of the events leading up to it. The only thing she knows for sure is that she's still in danger. As fragments of her past start to return, Lexi thinks she knows what happened. But can Lexi trust her own memories? Because if she's wrong... she's in more danger now than ever before. Exactly what happened on that spring evening down by the railway tracks?

Room Empty

Room Empty

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: eBook Release Date: 06/04/2017

Two young people meet in rehab. They both have problems and they both doubt their ability to cope. They don't care and they don't share. Until they meet each other and then things begin to change for them both.This powerful novel about disorder and change is also about a journey of trust and of growing up and of learning that a happy ending is one you make for yourself.

Room Empty

Room Empty

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Dani is ravaged by anorexia and hasn't eaten for days. Fletcher is fighting to stay off the streets and to stay off drugs. Will their attraction to each other save or destroy them? Both patients at the Daisy Bank Rehab Centre, Fletcher wants to help Dani find out about the empty room at the heart of her pain: What happened to Dani in that room when she was four? Whose is the dead body that lies across the door? Why won't her mind let her remember? As Dani and Fletcher begin to learn how to love, Sarah Mussi weaves an intoxicating story of pain, fear and redemption.

Bomb

Bomb

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

I'm Genesis Wainwright. I'm a sixth-form student. I come from Somerset. My mum is the best mum in the world. I play the guitar (badly). My best friend is Holly. I'm searching for answers to the Meaning of Life. I believe in True Love. AND I'M IN LOVE WITH NAZ. I want to be a performance poet. And I'm crazy about motorbikes. I can remember everything. Except last night. When Genesis goes on a blind internet date, she just wants to get over her ex-boyfriend Naz. She just wants someone to like her again. But when Genesis wakes up the morning after the date, she can't remember a thing. She doesn't know where she is, or how she got there. And she can hardly move because she is strapped into some kind of body armour ... Before she has time to figure it out, she receives an order through an earpiece stuck in her ear. And then a voice sounds in her head: 'You have been chosen for an assignment ... The vest you're wearing is packed with high explosives. And with one mobile call we can detonate it.' To her horror Genesis has become an agent of mass destruction, a walking weapon in the hands of a terrorist cell. The countdown to detonation has begun: Genesis must re-examine everyone and everything she loves and make terrifying choices ... in the face of certain death. A gutsy, compelling and chilling thrill-ride.

Riot

Riot

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2014

England is struggling under a recession that has shown no sign of abating. Years of cuts has devastated Britain: banks are going under, businesses closing, prices soaring, unemployment rising, prisons overflowing. The authorities cannot cope. And the population has maxed out. The police are snowed under. Something has to give. Drastic measures need taking. The solution: forced sterilisation of all school leavers without secure further education plans or guaranteed employment. The country is aghast. Families are distraught, teenagers are in revolt, but the politicians are unshakeable: The population explosion must be curbed. No more free housing for single parents, no more child benefit, no more free school meals, no more children in need. Less means more. But it is all so blatantly unfair - the Teen Haves will procreate, the Teen Havenots won't. It's time for the young to take to the streets. It's time for them to RIOT: OUR RIGHTS, OUR BODIES, OUR FUTURE.

Siege

Siege

13+ readers

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/09/2013

Shortlisted for the Leeds Book Awards 2014, 14-16 age category   Leah escapes the siege in her school, but she can't avoid wrestling with impossible choices in this topical, terrifying new novel that's essential reading for teens everywhere. ------------------------------                                                                                      The winners of the Leeds Book Awards are chosen by you! Read the books, talk about them with your friends & teachers and decide which one is your favourite.  You can vote in your local library or at www.leedsbookawards.co.uk.  Voting closes on Friday 25th April and the winners will be announced on Tuesday 20th May. See below for the entire shortlist.

ebook of the month

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.sarahmussi.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×