LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sarah Mussi - Author

About the Author

Sarah Mussi was born in Gloucestershire. After her education at a girls’ school in Cheltenham, she completed a post-graduate degree at the Royal College of Art before leaving the UK for West Africa. She lived in Cameroon, Nigeria and Ghana for over eighteen years, finally teaching English in Accra. Sarah now lives in Brixton and teaches in Lewisham, splitting her holidays between England and Ghana.

Sarah’s first published novel, The Door of No Return, won the Children’s Book of the Year 2007 Award at the Glen Dimplex New Writers’ Awards and was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award, shortlisted for Wirral Best Paperback of the Year and awarded Junior Library Guild Status in the USA. Her second novel, The Last of the Warrior Kings, inspired a London walk and was shortlisted for the Lewisham Book Award.

Featured books by Sarah Mussi

Siege

Siege

13+ readers

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/09/2013

Shortlisted for the Leeds Book Awards 2014, 14-16 age category   Leah escapes the siege in her school, but she can't avoid wrestling with impossible choices in this topical, terrifying new novel that's essential reading for teens everywhere. ------------------------------                                                                                      The winners of the Leeds Book Awards are chosen by you! Read the books, talk about them with your friends & teachers and decide which one is your favourite.  You can vote in your local library or at www.leedsbookawards.co.uk.  Voting closes on Friday 25th April and the winners will be announced on Tuesday 20th May. See below for the entire shortlist.

ebook of the month

Other books by Sarah Mussi

You Can't Hide

You Can't Hide

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2019

An unreliable narrator, secret identities and lost memories combine in this page turning YA thriller that will keep you guessing. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying. Lexi's been in an accident. But she can't remember it - or any of the events leading up to it. The only thing she knows for sure is that she's still in danger. As fragments of her past start to return, Lexi thinks she knows what happened. But can Lexi trust her own memories? Because if she's wrong... she's in more danger now than ever before. Exactly what happened on that spring evening down by the railway tracks?

Room Empty

Room Empty

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: eBook Release Date: 06/04/2017

Two young people meet in rehab. They both have problems and they both doubt their ability to cope. They don't care and they don't share. Until they meet each other and then things begin to change for them both.This powerful novel about disorder and change is also about a journey of trust and of growing up and of learning that a happy ending is one you make for yourself.

Room Empty

Room Empty

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Dani is ravaged by anorexia and hasn't eaten for days. Fletcher is fighting to stay off the streets and to stay off drugs. Will their attraction to each other save or destroy them? Both patients at the Daisy Bank Rehab Centre, Fletcher wants to help Dani find out about the empty room at the heart of her pain: What happened to Dani in that room when she was four? Whose is the dead body that lies across the door? Why won't her mind let her remember? As Dani and Fletcher begin to learn how to love, Sarah Mussi weaves an intoxicating story of pain, fear and redemption.

Here be Witches

Here be Witches

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2017

Here Be Witches is the second book in the Snowdonia Chronicles trilogy by Sarah Mussi. A perilous adventure into the magical and murderous realm of mythical Snowdonia. All Ellie Morgan wants is to be with her one true love, Henry. But she's caught in the middle of a BATTLE as old as SNOWDON itself. A battle between GOOD and EVIL. A WITCHES' SPELL, cast high on the mountain, has sped up time and made matters MUCH WORSE. The dragons are awake; mythical creatures and evil ghosts have risen. And nearly all of them want Ellie DEAD. Thank heavens for loyal friend George, (disloyal) bestie Rhi, and mysterious stranger, Davey. Armed with Granny Jones's potions, Ellie and her companions must set out on a journey to REVERSE THE SPELL, stop the EVIL White Dragon and find Henry. As an eternal winter tightens its grip on Snowdon, Ellie and her friends have just THREE DAYS to SURVIVE and complete their quest.

Here be Dragons

Here be Dragons

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2015

Ellie Morgan wants a boy who's all hers. Just for once, it would be nice to meet someone that Sheila (the cow) hadn't got her claws in to.A remote farmhouse on Mount Snowdon is hardly the ideal setting for meeting anyone - unless, of course, you count her best friend George or creepy Darren (which Ellie doesn't). But when a boy, glimpsed through the mist and snow, lures her up to the Devil's Bridge, Ellie realises the place she knows so well still has its secrets ...The stronger her feelings for this strange boy become, the more she is in danger: a battle as old as Snowdon itself has been raging for centuries and now Ellie's caught in the middle. Something has left its lair. It's out there stalking her. Who ever said true love was easy?

Bomb

Bomb

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

I'm Genesis Wainwright. I'm a sixth-form student. I come from Somerset. My mum is the best mum in the world. I play the guitar (badly). My best friend is Holly. I'm searching for answers to the Meaning of Life. I believe in True Love. AND I'M IN LOVE WITH NAZ. I want to be a performance poet. And I'm crazy about motorbikes. I can remember everything. Except last night. When Genesis goes on a blind internet date, she just wants to get over her ex-boyfriend Naz. She just wants someone to like her again. But when Genesis wakes up the morning after the date, she can't remember a thing. She doesn't know where she is, or how she got there. And she can hardly move because she is strapped into some kind of body armour ... Before she has time to figure it out, she receives an order through an earpiece stuck in her ear. And then a voice sounds in her head: 'You have been chosen for an assignment ... The vest you're wearing is packed with high explosives. And with one mobile call we can detonate it.' To her horror Genesis has become an agent of mass destruction, a walking weapon in the hands of a terrorist cell. The countdown to detonation has begun: Genesis must re-examine everyone and everything she loves and make terrifying choices ... in the face of certain death. A gutsy, compelling and chilling thrill-ride.

Riot

Riot

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2014

England is struggling under a recession that has shown no sign of abating. Years of cuts has devastated Britain: banks are going under, businesses closing, prices soaring, unemployment rising, prisons overflowing. The authorities cannot cope. And the population has maxed out. The police are snowed under. Something has to give. Drastic measures need taking. The solution: forced sterilisation of all school leavers without secure further education plans or guaranteed employment. The country is aghast. Families are distraught, teenagers are in revolt, but the politicians are unshakeable: The population explosion must be curbed. No more free housing for single parents, no more child benefit, no more free school meals, no more children in need. Less means more. But it is all so blatantly unfair - the Teen Haves will procreate, the Teen Havenots won't. It's time for the young to take to the streets. It's time for them to RIOT: OUR RIGHTS, OUR BODIES, OUR FUTURE.

Siege

Siege

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/03/2013

Leah Jackson - in detention. Then armed Year 9s burst in, shooting. She escapes, just. But the new Lock Down system for keeping intruders out is now locking everyone in. She takes to the ceilings and air vents with another student, Anton, and manages to use her mobile to call out to the world. First: survive the gang - the so-called 'Eternal Knights'. Second: rescue other kids taken hostage, and one urgently needing medical help. Outside, parents gather, the army want intelligence, television cameras roll, psychologists give opinions, sociologists rationalise, doctors advise - and they all want a piece of Leah. Soon her phone battery is running out; the SAS want her to reconnoitre the hostage area ... But she is guarding a terrifying conviction. Her brother, Connor, is at the centre of this horror. Is he with the Eternal Knights or just a pawn? She remembers. All those times Connor reached out for help ... If she'd listened, voiced her fears about him earlier, would things be different now? Should she give up her brother? With only Anton for company, surviving by wits alone, Leah wrestles with the terrible choices ...

Angel Dust

Angel Dust

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/08/2012

An urban ROMEO AND JULIET with a paranormal twist Would you move heaven and earth for the one you love? ANGEL DUST is a powerful, gritty and utterly modern tragic love story with a twist. When Serafina, the brightest and most beloved of all God's angels, is sent to collect Marcus Montague - the original badman - and take him to Hell, she finds herself powerfully drawn to him and makes a decision that places her in the middle of a war between Heaven and Hell. Can Serafina fall in love without falling from grace? Can Marcus's soul be saved? And just who is the mysterious and ever-so-helpful stranger Larry? Sarah Mussi asks pertinent questions about free will, morality and how far is too far when it comes to love, making ANGEL DUST a must-read for YA readers who want more than the usual from their paranormal romance.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.sarahmussi.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×