LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Michelle Harrison - Author

About the Author

Michelle Harrison is a full time author who lives in Essex. Her first novel, The Thirteen Treasures, won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and is published in sixteen countries including the UK. It was followed by The Thirteen Curses and The Thirteen Secrets. Michelle has since written Unrest,  a ghost story for older readers and One Wish, a prequel to the Thirteen Treasures books. The Other Alice is her sixth novel.

Michelle's path to becoming a writer was inspired by stories told by her sisters as she was growing up, one of which was so vivid it prompted her to dig in the garden looking for evidence of a dead fairy. (She didn't find anything.) Since becoming a published author she still does strange things like asking people to shut her in the boots of their cars – all in the name of research, of course – like Alice.

Michelle has a son called Jack and two black cats. She suspects one of them is a mischief, but hasn't caught her drinking tea . . . yet.

Q&A with Michelle Harrison

Q. How would you describe your life in only 8 words?
    A. I'm a 'glass half-full' type of person.

Q. If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you choose to be?
    A. Elvesden Manor.

Q. What’s your best quality?
    A. Optimism, or at least I like to think it is!

Q. If you could be any person or thing, who or what would it be?
    A. I sometimes think I'd like to be a cat, just for the sheer amount of sleeping they do.

Q. What trait is most noticeable about you?
    A. My Essex accent.

Q. Who is your favourite fictional villain?
    A. Beatrice Lacey in Wideacre by Philippa Gregory.

Q. If you could meet any historical character, who would it be and what would you say to him or her?
    A. It would be Jack the Ripper. I like to think I'd demand to know his identity, but in all honesty I'd probably run.

Q. What is your biggest pet peeve?
    A. People who look down their noses at others.

Q. What is your favourite occupation, when you’re not writing?
    A. It depends on my mood, but drawing/painting, reading or watching a film.

Q. What’s your fantasy profession?
    A. Being an author and an illustrator!

Q. What 3 personal qualities are most important to you?
    A. Loyalty, a sense of humour, and integrity.

On Books and Writing

Favourite authors
Hans Christian Andersen, Enid Blyton, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Martina Cole, Roald Dahl, Philippa Gregory, The Brothers Grimm, Julie Hearn, Eva Ibbotson, Christopher Pike, J.K. Rowling, Marcus Sedgwick, Sarah Singleton.

Q. Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?

    A. Read lots, write lots, and don't give up.

Featured books by Michelle Harrison

Other books by Michelle Harrison

Midnight Magic

Midnight Magic

Author: Michelle Harrison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Black cats born at midnight Are different indeed A mischievous, odd And peculiar breed In the middle of winter, three kittens are born in a barn. Two are ordinary, but the third, jet black and born on the stroke of midnight, is brimming with magic from whiskers to tail - even sparking life into a dusty old broomstick! While her siblings pounce at rats, Midnight perfects her flying skills on the broom, not noticing how her mother disapproves of her magical ways... When Midnight finds herself abandoned, the little black kitten sets out to find a new home with only her loyal broom Twiggy at her side. The pair soon befriend a kind-hearted girl called Trixie. But how will Trixie's family react to Midnight's extraordinary powers and taste for mischief? A bewitching new series from the best-selling author of A PINCH OF MAGIC, Michelle Harrison. Told in rhyming verse and illustrated in colour throughout, this is perfect for readers of SQUISHY MCFLUFF, HUBBLE BUBBLE and GOBBOLINO. PRAISE FOR MIDNIGHT MAGIC: This is the perfect next step after picture books with fun rhyming text and sweet illustrations - a gorgeous young fiction book with plenty of sparkle! - Toppsta

Reading Planet - The New Girl's Secret - Purple: Galaxy

Reading Planet - The New Girl's Secret - Purple: Galaxy

Author: Michelle Harrison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/04/2019

Misty has just started at school and Ella and Jack are keen to make her feel welcome. But Misty isn't like the other children; she has a spell book, she keeps vanishing, and why is she holding that broomstick? Can Ella and Jack solve the mystery of the new girl? The New Girl's Secret is part of the Galaxy range of books from Rising Stars Reading Planet. Galaxy provides captivating fiction and non-fiction for Pink A to White band. The rich collection of highly decodable books immerses children in a range of cross-curricular topics and genres. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and activities to support reading at home as well as comprehension questions to check understanding. Reading age: 6-7 years

Reading Planet KS2 - The Secret Garden - Level 3: Venus/Brown band

Reading Planet KS2 - The Secret Garden - Level 3: Venus/Brown band

Author: Michelle Harrison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/02/2019

Orphaned Mary Lennox doesn't want to live on the moors in a dark and gloomy mansion. The only thing that interests her is the story of the secret garden which her uncle has locked up forever. But then she finds a key ... Will Mary bring the garden back to life and discover the other secret Misselthwaite Manor is hiding? The Secret Garden is part of the Reading Planet range of books for Stars (Lime) to Supernova (Red+) band. Children aged 7-11 will be inspired to love reading through the gripping stories and fascinating information books created by top authors. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and questions to support reading at home and develop comprehension skills. Reading age: 8-9 years

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×