LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Simon Mayo - Author

About the Author

itch simon mayo aluminum Simon Mayo is best known for his BBC Radio 2 Drivetime show. He began writing four years ago, when he decided to create something for his son Joe, an avid reader and science nut. Having spent ten years interviewing scientists for his Radio 5 Live show he had plenty of ideas, and was soon consumed by ITCH and his story, waking up in the middle of the night to write. Simon has spent the last three years juggling his broadcasting job with visiting schools and talking about the ITCH series. During this time he’s met over 10,000 children as well as having appeared at literary and science festivals. Simon has worked on BBC radio since 1981 and runs a Book Club on his Radio 2 show. He is also the co-presenter of "Kermode and Mayo's Film Review" on BBC Radio 5 Live. In 2008, Mayo was recognized as the "radio broadcaster of the year" at the 34th annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards and the "Speech Broadcaster of the Year" at the Sony Radio Academy Awards.

Featured books by Simon Mayo

Itchcraft

Itchcraft

9+ readers

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/09/2014

Exploding euros and exciting elements - join Itch, Jack and Chloe on their latest adventure. Itchingham Lofte, teenage element hunter and unlikely hero, has had enough excitement to last him a lifetime.

ebook of the month
Itch Rocks

Itch Rocks

9+ readers 11+ readers

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/02/2014

It's time to save the world. Again. It is the second book in the explosively exciting ITCH series by radio presenter Simon Mayo.

ebook of the month
Itch Rocks

Itch Rocks

9+ readers 11+ readers

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/02/2014

It's time to save the world. Again. It is the second book in the explosively exciting ITCH series by radio presenter Simon Mayo.

ebook of the month
Itch Rocks

Itch Rocks

9+ readers 11+ readers

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/02/2014

After almost poisoning his whole class with arsenic gas, going on the run from a psychotic science teacher and nearly dying of radiation poisoning, life is getting back to normal for Itchingham Lofte - at least, as normal as it can be when you have a round-the-clock detail of government security guards watching your every move.

ebook of the month
Itch Rocks

Itch Rocks

9+ readers 11+ readers

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/02/2014

After almost poisoning his whole class with arsenic gas, going on the run from a psychotic science teacher and nearly dying of radiation poisoning, life is getting back to normal for Itchingham Lofte - at least, as normal as it can be when you have a round-the-clock detail of government security guards watching your every move.

ebook of the month

Other books by Simon Mayo

Itch

Itch

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/12/2018

'A great debut. You'll be itching to read more.' Anthony Horowitz Meet Itch - an accidental, accident-prone hero. Science is his weapon. Elements are his gadgets. All-action adventure perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Young Bond. Itchingham Lofte - known as Itch - is fourteen, and loves science, especially chemistry. He's also an element-hunter: he's collecting all the elements in the periodic table. Which has some interesting and rather destructive results in his bedroom. Then, Itch makes a discovery. A new element, never seen before. At first no one believes him - but soon someone hears about the strange new rock and wants it for himself. And Itch and his family are catapulted into a breathless adventure with terrifyingly high stakes . . . The debut novel from BBC radio presenter Simon Mayo.

Blame

Blame

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/07/2016

What happens when society wants you banged up in prison for a crime your parents committed? That's the situation in which Ant finds herself - together with her little brother Mattie and their foster-parents, she's locked up in a new kind of family prison. None of the inmates are themselves criminals, but wider society wants them to do time for the unpunished `heritage' crimes of their parents. Tensions are bubbling inside the London prison network Ant and Mattie call home - and when things finally erupt, they realize they've got one chance to break out. Everyone wants to see them punished for the sins of their mum and dad, but it's time for Ant to show the world that they're not to blame. A new nail-bitingly taught YA suspense thriller, from author of the bestselling ITCH series, Simon Mayo.

Itchcraft

Itchcraft

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/03/2015

Exploding euros and exciting elements - join Itch, Jack and Chloe on their latest adventure. Itchingham Lofte, teenage element hunter and unlikely hero, has had anough excitement to last him a lifetime. Stumbling across an unknown radioactive element and trying to keep it out of the hands of those who want to use it for their own ends was hard enough. But when a school trip to Spain ends in exploding currency and rioting locals, he knows that he has to continue to look for answers. Itch knows the lives of those closest to him are at risk. He must track down a deadly enemy who will stop at nothing to take his vengeance . . .

Itch Rocks

Itch Rocks

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/02/2014

After almost poisoning his whole class with arsenic gas, going on the run from a psychotic science teacher and nearly dying of radiation poisoning, life is getting back to normal for Itchingham Lofte - at least, as normal as it can be when you have a round-the-clock detail of government security guards watching your every move. But sinister forces are still hunting for Element 126 and will stop at nothing to find out where Itch has hidden the precious radioactive rocks. With the help of his sister Chloe and his tomboy cousin Jack, Itch has to put 126 beyond the reach of unscrupulous scientists and international terrorists forever. It's time to save the world. Again. The second book in the explosively exciting ITCH series. 'A great debut. You'll be itching to read more.' Anthony Horowitz

Itch Rocks

Itch Rocks

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2013

After almost poisoning his whole class with arsenic gas, going on the run from a psychotic science teacher and nearly dying of radiation poisoning, life is getting back to normal for Itchingham Lofte - at least, as normal as it can be when you have a round-the-clock detail of government security guards watching your every move. But sinister forces are still hunting for Element 126 and will stop at nothing to find out where Itch has hidden the precious radioactive rocks. With the help of his sister Chloe and his tomboy cousin Jack, Itch has to put 126 beyond the reach of unscrupulous scientists and international terrorists forever. It's time to save the world. Again. The second book in the explosively exciting ITCH series.

Itch

Itch

Author: Simon Mayo Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/03/2012

'A great debut ...you'll be itching to read more.' Anthony Horowitz Meet Itch - an accidental, accident-prone hero. Science is his weapon. Elements are his gadgets. This is a hero with Geek-Power! Itchingham Lofte - known as Itch - is fourteen, and loves science - especially chemistry. He's also an element-hunter: he's decided to collect all the elements in the periodic table. Which has some interesting and rather destructive results in his bedroom ...Then, Itch makes a discovery. A new element, never seen before. At first no one believes him - but soon, someone hears about the strange new rock and wants it for himself. And Itch is in serious danger ...

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.itchingham.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×