LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Laura Wood - Author

About the Author

Laura Wood is the winner of the Montegrappa Scholastic Prize for New Children’s Writing. Her first YA novel A Sky Painted Gold was shortlisted for the 2019 YA Book Prize, 2018 BAMB Readers’ Awards and the 2019 Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Awards.

She is also the author of the critically acclaimed Vote for Effie and the Poppy Pym series for younger readers.

Featured books by Laura Wood

Other books by Laura Wood

A Single Thread of Moonlight

A Single Thread of Moonlight

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/10/2021

Delicious fun Observer A sparkling escapist romance Daily Express With shades of Pride and Prejudice and The Count of Monte Cristo, Laura Wood has penned a Cinderella story for the Bridgerton generation. Iris Grey's childhood was idyllic... until her father remarried. Iris's new stepmother and two stepsisters were cold-hearted schemers, and when her father dies in mysterious circumstances, Iris knows that something is wrong. Far too spirited to be forced into a life of servitude, she runs away to London. When she crosses paths with handsome, clever and cold Nicholas Wynter, Iris realises that this is her moment for revenge. Together they plot the downfall of their enemies - but the pair begin to find they have more in common than a desire for justice. Will their spark burn bright or will it be extinguished in the flames of their ambition? A fabulously fresh retelling of Cinderella with a heroine who isn't afraid to take her destiny into her own hands Perfect for fans of Jane Austen Laura Wood is the author of A Sky Painted Gold and Under a Dancing Star REVIEWS FOR A SINGLE THREAD OF MOONLIGHT A Cinderella revenge story and a Bridgerton vibe... Sardonic dialogue, fabulous dresses, balls and society intrigue galore: delicious fun. OBSERVER I adored this Victorian-set retelling of Cinderella, featuring an irrepressible heroine, a sardonic hero, beautiful dresses, intrigue and revenge. Be still, my heart!. Sarra Manning Laura Wood is the literary equivalent of lighting the fancy candle on a rainy afternoon Ella Risbridger Swoon-worthy and brilliant with Bridgerton vibes M.A. Kuzniar The perfect delicious read for anyone craving more Bridgerton Lauren James A Cinderella retelling like you've never read before with a swoon-worthy romance BOOKSNEST A deliciously divine tale of loss, lies and love that completely swept me away BOOKLOVERJO

The Animals of Madame Malone's Music Hall

The Animals of Madame Malone's Music Hall

Author: Laura Wood Illustrator: Ellie Snowdon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/03/2021

Summer by the seaside isn't working out as Callie hoped. Instead of enjoying sunshine and ice cream, she's stuck helping Gran's drama group put on a show to save the local theatre. Worst of all, they've asked her to star in their play. With Callie's stage fright, there's not a chance that's happening. But when she goes exploring backstage, Callie stumbles into an altogether different world - another theatre, run by a wise fox and her troupe of rather quarrelsome talking animals. Forced to face her fears, will Callie be able to put on a good show in the final fight to save Madame Malone's Music Hall? A cast of creative creatures take centre stage in this theatrical Barrington Stoke debut from Blue Peter Book Award shortlisted author Laura Wood.

Vote For Effie

Vote For Effie

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Awards 2020. Join Effie Kostas as she fights to become Student Council President in her new school. With a campaign team of loveable misfits, she tackles the truly important subjects: gender imbalance outdated school conventions... and good-looking boys stealing the last slice of chocolate cake at lunchtime. A laugh-out-loud rallying call for switched-on kids everywhere. Vibrant illustrations by Mirelle Ortega bring Effie and her friends to life in this joyful celebration of one girl's mission to change the world.

Effie the Rebel

Effie the Rebel

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Effie is changing the world, one classroom at a time. Dark forces are at work at Highworth Grange school: the student council has been taken over by a tyrannical villain with his own agenda. But Effie Kostas isn't about to stand by and watch democracy crumble! She's leading the resistance - but politics can be a dirty game and Effie will need to keep her wits about her as she faces down the enemy. With the help of her brilliant band of misfit friends, a bad-tempered parrot, and a former nemesis, can Effie save the school she loves before it's too late? Vibrant illustrations by Mirelle Ortega bring Effie and her friends to life in this joyful celebration of one girl's mission to change the world.

Vote for Effie Effie Book 1

Vote for Effie Effie Book 1

Author: Laura Wood Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 28/03/2019

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×