LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Laura Wood - Author

About the Author

Laura Wood is the winner of the Montegrappa Scholastic Prize for New Children’s Writing. Her first YA novel A Sky Painted Gold was shortlisted for the 2019 YA Book Prize, 2018 BAMB Readers’ Awards and the 2019 Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Awards.

She is also the author of the critically acclaimed Vote for Effie and the Poppy Pym series for younger readers.

Featured books by Laura Wood

Other books by Laura Wood

Under A Dancing Star

Under A Dancing Star

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/07/2019

In grey, 1930s England, Bea has grown up kicking against the conventions of the time, all the while knowing that she will one day have to marry someone her parents choose - someone rich enough to keep the family estate alive. But she longs for so much more - for adventure, excitement, travel, and maybe even romance. When she gets the chance to spend the summer in Italy with her bohemian uncle and his fiancee, a whole world is opened up to Bea - a world that includes Ben, a cocky young artist who just happens to be infuriatingly handsome too. Sparks fly between the quick-witted pair until one night, under the stars, a challenge is set: can Bea and Ben put aside their teasing and have the perfect summer romance? With their new friends gleefully setting the rules for their fling, Bea and Ben can agree on one thing at least: they absolutely, positively will not, cannot fall in love... A long, hot summer of kisses and mischief unfolds - but storm clouds are gathering across Europe, and home is calling. Every summer has to end - but for Bea, this might be just the beginning.

Vote For Effie

Vote For Effie

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/01/2019

Shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Awards 2020. Join Effie Kostas as she fights to become Student Council President in her new school. With a campaign team of loveable misfits, she tackles the truly important subjects: gender imbalance, outdated school conventions... and good-looking boys stealing the last slice of chocolate cake at lunchtime. A laugh out-loud rallying call for switched-on kids everywhere.

A Sky Painted Gold

A Sky Painted Gold

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/07/2018

A gorgeously dreamy coming-of-age romance set against a stunning Gatsby-esque backdrop, this is perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle and Eva Ibbotson. Growing up in her sleepy Cornish village dreaming of being a writer, sixteen-year-old Lou has always wondered about the grand Cardew house which has stood empty for years. And when the owners arrive for the summer - a handsome, dashing brother and sister - Lou is quite swept off her feet and into a world of moonlit cocktailparties and glamour beyond her wildest dreams. But, as she grows closer to the Cardews, is she abandoning her own ambitions... and is there something darker lurking at the heart of the Cardew family?

Poppy Pym and the Beastly Blizzard

Poppy Pym and the Beastly Blizzard

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/11/2017

When a mysterious runaway van crashes into St Smithen's on the first day of the new school year, Poppy knows it's going to be an action-packed term! But when accidents continue to happen at St Smithen's, Poppy can't shake the feeling that her every move is being watched. With the Christmas holidays looming, secrets lurking in every corner and rumours of a dangerous beast on the loose, Poppy must unravel her biggest mystery yet. Can Poppy unmask the hidden spy before someone gets hurt?

Poppy Pym and the Secret of Smuggler's Cove

Poppy Pym and the Secret of Smuggler's Cove

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/05/2017

Winner of the Scholastic Montegrappa Prize for New Children's Writing = Poppy is thrilled that they're spending the summer at Smuggler's Cove. It might even take her mind off the mystery of her past. But Poppy is about to make some amazing discoveries - and solve more than one mystery...

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Author: Laura Wood Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 28/01/2017

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Author: Laura Wood Format: Audio disc Release Date: 28/01/2017

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2016

From the Winner of the Scholastic Montegrappa Prize for New Children's Writing It's Halloween at Saint Smithen's. When the Brimwell town hall burns down, the amateur production of Macbeth is moved to the school and it's all hands on deck. But when the play is struck by a series of mysterious attacks, it's up to Poppy, her friends and her circus family to save the play and unmask the culprit.

Poppy Pym and the Pharaoh's Curse

Poppy Pym and the Pharaoh's Curse

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2015

Winner of the Scholastic Montegrappa Prize for New Children's Writing = Poppy Pym has grown up in the circus, taming lions before lunch and learning acrobatics in the afternoon. But when she turns eleven, her circus family decides she needs a more traditional education, and she is sent to boarding school. At first Poppy doesn't fit in at St Smithen's, a school that is very different from the circus. Then, an ancient Egyptian ruby arrives at school and dangerous accidents start occurring. Suddenly it's up to Poppy to save her new school and solve the mystery of the Pharaoh's curse!

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×