LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Laura James - Author

About the Author

Laura James’ love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. The Adventures of Pug are based on the antics of her own very silly dogs, Brian and Florence. Together the three of them live in a tiny cottage just outside of Bath where they have lots of adventures and eat lots of jam tarts – all in the name of research of course!  Laura’s first book, Captain Pug, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2017. 

Author photo © Red Rabbit Photography

 

Featured books by Laura James

Other books by Laura James

Fabio the World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Peril at Lizard Lake

Fabio the World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Peril at Lizard Lake

Author: Laura James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives Fabio, the world's greatest flamingo detective. He's not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he's very, very clever ... Most of the time. But when an unusual lapse of judgement leads Fabio to accept a ride in his associate Gilbert's plane, little does he know he'll be nose-diving into a new mystery! When the tiny plane crash-lands near a remote village in the savannah, all Fabio wants is a pink lemonade to calm his nerves. But the town well has dried up, and the water didn't just disappear on its own! Fabio's on the case, and it's going to take a daring sting operation to set things right. The third book in the hilarious and stylish illustrated mystery series from the author of Captain Pug.

Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Mystery on the Ostrich Express

Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Mystery on the Ostrich Express

Author: Laura James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/04/2019

In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world's greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He's not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he's very, very clever. It's the height of summer and Fabio and his associate Gilbert are taking a relaxing holiday journey on the fastest train in the world! But no sooner does the conductor call `All aboard' than a very expensive ruby necklace disappears and the great detective is back on the case! The second book in the hilarious illustrated mystery series by the author of Captain Pug.

Pirate Pug

Pirate Pug

Author: Laura James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/01/2019

Pug and Lady Miranda are off to the seaside! Pug is dreaming of naps under the beach umbrella, but when a little mishap means he has to wear an eyepatch, things quickly get a lot less snoozy! Soon Pirate Pug and his ragtag crew of friends find themselves on the trail of buried treasure. They have to reach the island where X marks the spot before the other pirates beat them to it. There's just one problem - Pug is scared of water! Laura James's fourth book about a roly-poly pug and his best friend, Lady Miranda, is perfect for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff

Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo

Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo

Author: Laura James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2018

'Zany ... Even reluctant readers will have a blast' IRISH TIMES In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world's greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He's not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he's very, very clever. When Fabio and his giraffe associate Gilbert (terrible at disguises) drop in to the Hotel Royale for a lemonade (pink, naturally), Fabio is persuaded to judge the hotel's talent contest. But when the most promising contestant - Julia the jazz-singing hippopotamus - goes missing, Fabio must put his thinking cap back on and solve the mystery! This new mystery series from Laura James, author of Captain Pug, will have animal lovers and would-be detectives in stitches. Perfect for fans of Claude, Foxy Tales and The Pink Panther!

Safari Pug

Safari Pug

Author: Laura James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2017

Meet the brilliant, the wonderful, the courageous ... Safari Pug! The third book in a joyful illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff. When Pug and Lady Miranda have a scary run-in with a lion one night (it might be hiding under the bed), Lady M decides Pug needs to face his fears and go on safari. Pug goes a bit wobbly when he finds out he'll be coming nose to nose with Florence, the rare white lion cub, but he soon realises that lions may not be the most dangerous thing in the wildlife park ...

Cowboy Pug

Cowboy Pug

Author: Laura James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/01/2017

Meet the brilliant, the wonderful, the courageous ... Cowboy Pug! The second book in a joyful new illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff. Pug and his faithful companion, Lady Miranda, are going to be cowboys for the day - and first of all they're going horsetrading! But with their noble steed Horsey safely acquired, it's not long before they find themselves on the wrong side of the law. Can Pug the reluctant hero overcome his fears and save the day once more?

Captain Pug

Captain Pug

Author: Laura James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2016

Pug is going on a seafaring adventure. He's had jam tarts for breakfast. He's wearing a smart sailor suit. There's just one problem. Pug is afraid of the water! Captain Pug is the first book in a glorious new illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×