LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Lisa Thompson - Author

About the Author

Lisa Thompson is a children’s novelist and the author of the best-selling The Goldfish Boy and The Light Jar. The Goldfish Boy was a Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month and was nominated for the Carnegie Medal, the Branford Boase Award and the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. She lives in Suffolk with her family

 

Featured books by Lisa Thompson

The Light Jar

The Light Jar

9+ readers 11+ readers

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/01/2018

Shortlisted for the Children's Book Awards 2019, Books for Older Readers Category | The brand new read-in-one-sitting mystery from the bestselling author of The Goldfish Boy, 2017's breakout children's book hit.

ebook of the month

Other books by Lisa Thompson

The Boy Who Fooled the World

The Boy Who Fooled the World

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

Telling a little white lie now and then is harmless, right? But what if it leads to you being a household name and international celebrity? Cole is the boy who fooled the world and finds himselftrapped in a huge web of lies... can he break free? The brand new, read-in-one-sitting mystery from the bestselling author of The Goldfish Boy. When a little white lie leads to a huge dose of trouble... Cole is the odd one out at school: the other kids have the latest gadgets and trainers while his family struggles to make ends meet. Until the day one of his paintings is talent-spotted and sells for thousands of pounds at a posh London gallery. Suddenly, Cole is the toast of the international art world, the star guest on TV shows, rich beyond his wildest dreams, hailed as a boy genius! Being famous is FANTASTIC... but Cole has a guilty secret that if exposed will bring everything crashing down around him... A story of fame and fortune, making mistakes and learningto be true to yourself.

Owen and the Soldier

Owen and the Soldier

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/06/2019

A crumbling stone soldier sits on a bench in the park. Only Owen understands how important he is. At home, Owen and his mum are struggling and there's nobody he can talk to. Hidden away in the park, Owen feels free to be himself. When the war-weary soldier is listening, his worries slip away. But nobody else cares about the soldier, and the town council want to tear him down. Owen's the only one who can save him but can he find the courage to speak up before it's too late? A touching story of loss and remembrance from Lisa Thompson, the award-winning author of The Goldfish Boy. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+

The Light Jar

The Light Jar

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Audio disc Release Date: 29/01/2019

The Light Jar

The Light Jar

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 29/01/2019

The Day I Was Erased

The Day I Was Erased

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/01/2019

The third read-in-one-sitting mystery from the authorof unforgettable bestseller The Goldfish Boy. Maxwell is always in trouble. He's a total menace to his teachers and big sister, but has a soft side, too: he rescued his dog, Monster, from being run over and checks on his elderly neighbour after school. One day, while looking through a mysterious cabinet of curiosities, Maxwell finds himself erased from his life: it's as if he's never been born. At first, being able to walk around without being yelled at isgreat, but Maxwell starts to miss his old life. And, if he'd never existed, then he wouldn't have swooped Monster out of the path of that car... A story of family, friendship and finding your place in the world. read other bestselling books from Lisa Thompson, including The Goldfish Boy & The Light Jar

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination Mumbai, India

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination Mumbai, India

Author: Lisa Thompson, et al Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2017

Funny Face

Funny Face

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Book Release Date: 05/10/2017

Spaced Out

Spaced Out

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/10/2017

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination New York City, USA

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination New York City, USA

Author: Lisa Thompson, et al Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/10/2017

Goldfish Boy

Goldfish Boy

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/01/2017

A story about finding friendship when you're lonely -and hope when all you feel is fear. Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance - with the help of a brilliant cast of supporting characters. Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of Can You See Me, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry. A genuinely clever mystery - Robin Stevens, authorof the Murder Most Unladylike series. A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery - Iloved it! Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling with a Hamster.

Plunkett Street School The Library Games

Plunkett Street School The Library Games

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Plunkett Street School The Missing Class

Plunkett Street School The Missing Class

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Plunkett Street School The Lunchbox

Plunkett Street School The Lunchbox

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Plunkett Street School The Mind Reader

Plunkett Street School The Mind Reader

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Plunkett Street School: Forgetful Friday

Plunkett Street School: Forgetful Friday

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Plunkett Street School A Very Special Guest

Plunkett Street School A Very Special Guest

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Plunkett Street School Facing Fears

Plunkett Street School Facing Fears

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Gigglers Green Brain Block

Gigglers Green Brain Block

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/03/2004

Animal Talk

Animal Talk

Author: Lisa Thompson, Sharon Dalgleish Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/12/2002

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination Bangkok, Thailand

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination Bangkok, Thailand

Author: Lisa Thompson, et al Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2000

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination Barcelona, Spain

Swat Secret World Adventure Team: Destination Barcelona, Spain

Author: Lisa Thompson, et al Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2000

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×