Lucy Rowland - Author

About the Author

Lucy Rowland grew up in Cheltenham and gained a degree in Speech and Language Therapy from the University of Reading before becoming a children's speech and language therapist in South London where she now lives. Lucy has loved reading and listening to poetry from a young age and has turned her passion into writing picture book stories with quirky characters and irresistible rhythms. Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet is Lucy's first picture book with Macmillan.

Featured books by Lucy Rowland

Other books by Lucy Rowland

Have You Seen My Blankie?

Have You Seen My Blankie?

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/04/2019

Princess Alice has lost her very precious blankie and she MUST find it! But her brother doesn't have it and neither does the giant OR the witch. Finally Alice finds her special snuggly in the arms of a sleepy dragon, but he looks so sad when she takes it back that she knows she must find him something just as cosy, soft and warm to cuddle. But what could that be . . .?

Have You Seen My Blankie?

Have You Seen My Blankie?

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/04/2019

Princess Alice has lost her very precious blankie and she MUST find it! But her brother doesn't have it and neither does the giant OR the witch. Finally Alice finds her special snuggly in the arms of a sleepy dragon, but he looks so sad when she takes it back that she knows she must find him something just as cosy, soft and warm to cuddle. But what could that be . . .?

Sammy Claws the Christmas Cat

Sammy Claws the Christmas Cat

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2018

Sammy Claws, Santa's cuddly pet cat, will sleep anywhere! Snoozing in a box on Christmas Eve, Sammy finds himself wrapped up as a Christmas parcel and bundled onto the sleigh with the other presents. How will Sammy escape? And how will he save the presents from two robbers with plans to steal them all away . . .?

Sammy Claws the Christmas Cat

Sammy Claws the Christmas Cat

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/09/2018

Sammy Claws, Santa's cuddly pet cat, will sleep anywhere! Snoozing in a box on Christmas Eve, Sammy finds himself wrapped up as a Christmas parcel and bundled onto the sleigh with the other presents. How will Sammy escape? And how will he save the presents from two robbers with plans to steal them all away . . .?

The Knight Who Said No!

The Knight Who Said No!

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/04/2018

Ned the knight ALWAYS does exactly what he's told. When his parents ask him to pick up his toys, dig up the cabbages or go to bed on time, he does it all with a smile. And when the dragon swoops into town every night, he always runs inside just as he's asked. But one morning, instead of saying, yes, he says, NO! He will NOT help his dad find his shield, his arrow or his bow, and he will certainly NOT let the butcher go past. That night, he refuses to go inside, and in doing so he confronts the dragon, making a very unlikely friend . . .

The Knight Who Said No!

The Knight Who Said No!

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/03/2018

Ned the knight ALWAYS does exactly what he's told. When his parents ask him to pick up his toys, dig up the cabbages or go to bed on time, he does it all with a smile. And when the dragon swoops into town every night, he always runs inside just as he's asked. But one morning, instead of saying, yes, he says, NO! He will NOT help his dad find his shield, his arrow or his bow, and he will certainly NOT let the butcher go past. That night, he refuses to go inside, and in doing so he confronts the dragon, making a very unlikely friend . . .

Catch That Egg!

Catch That Egg!

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 22/02/2018

Floppit's farmyard friends have had enough of his enormous bunny feet causing chaos! But his big clumsy feet might just save the day when Chicken's egg rolls away . . . Help Floppit the big-footed bunny stop that egg in this fun farmyard egg chase. Perfect for fans of Rabbits Don't Lay Eggs! and Peppa Pig: Peppa's Easter Egg Hunt. With gentle rhyming, Catch That Egg! is written by Lucy Rowland, the brilliantly talented author of Little Red Reading Hood, Jake Bakes a Monster Cake and Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet, and illustrated by Anna Chernyshova, the fantastic illustrator of Santa Selfie.

Little Red Reading Hood

Little Red Reading Hood

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/01/2018

Whilst leaving footpaths should never be done, Straying from stories is all sorts of fun! Little Red Reading Hood loves reading books and making up stories of her own. When she meets a cunning wolf while on her way to the library, he convinces her to stray from the path and read for a little while. But hasn't she read this in a story before? Perhaps it's time she came up with a new ending . . . This is a contemporary and fun take on the classic fairy tale, Little Red Riding Hood, created by an incredible picture book partnership. With a playful rhyming story by Lucy Rowland and Ben Mantle's entertaining illustrations, Little Red Reading Hood will inspire children, and adults, about the magic of books and reading.

Jake Bakes a Monster Cake

Jake Bakes a Monster Cake

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/09/2017

Jake is baking a birthday cake for his best friend Sam. But his sweet treat turns monstrous when his friends help out: spider legs, rotten eggs, slugs and slime are definitely not in Jake's recipe book! Sam could be in for a very smelly surprise! From the brilliant author and illustrator team behind Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet, Lucy Rowland and Mark Chambers, the bright, bold illustrations bring life to the brilliantly funny rhyming story.

Jake Bakes a Monster Cake

Jake Bakes a Monster Cake

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/09/2017

Jake is baking a birthday cake for his best friend Sam. But his sweet treat turns monstrous when his friends help out: spider legs, rotten eggs, slugs and slime are definitely not in Jake's recipe book! Sam could be in for a very smelly surprise! Have fun with the stinky scratch and sniff stickers in this screamingly smelly story! From the brilliant author and illustrator team behind Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet, Lucy Rowland and Mark Chambers, the bright, bold illustrations bring life to the brilliantly funny rhyming story.

The Birthday Invitation

The Birthday Invitation

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/05/2017

When handing out the invitations for her birthday party, Ella mistakenly drops one on the forest floor, and who should find it? A wizard, of course ... and a pirate and a parrot and then a whole host of wonderful characters! Join Ella for her very exciting birthday party, complete with a hilarious array of unexpected guests! A brilliantly fun picture book, gloriously illustrated by the supremely talented and bestselling illustrator Laura Hughes.

The Birthday Invitation

The Birthday Invitation

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/05/2017

When handing out the invitations for her birthday party, Ella mistakenly drops one on the forest floor, and who should find it? A wizard, of course ... and a pirate and a parrot and then a whole host of wonderful characters! Join Ella for her very exciting birthday party, complete with a hilarious array of unexpected guests! A brilliantly fun picture book, gloriously illustrated by the supremely talented and bestselling illustrator Laura Hughes.

Gecko's Echo

Gecko's Echo

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Once there was a gecko and she lived inside a cave. She was very, very small but she was also really brave. To stop sneaky animals stealing her precious eggs, Mummy Gecko threatens the wrath of ONE HUNDRED ANGRY GECKOS. But ... are there really one hundred geckos? And, if there aren't, how will she protect her family? A mischievous tale of trickery and motherly courage, perfect for fans of Little Beaver and the Echo and The Gruffalo.

Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet

Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet

Author: Lucy Rowland Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/03/2017

This spick and span crew of pirates have had enough of Pete's pongy feet! So he's been ordered to walk the plank. But it turns out that hungry sharks don't like the smell of cheese either. What will the pirates do without Pete's feet to keep those snappy sharks away? Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet is the first Macmillan picture book for Lucy Rowland and Mark Chambers. A fun, fast-paced story illustrated with vibrant colour and humour, and with a very smelly ending!

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×