LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Oscar Wilde - Author

About the Author

A gifted poet, playwright and wit, Oscar Wilde was a phenomenon in 19th century England. He was illustrious for preaching the importance of style in life and art, and of attacking Victorian narrow mindedness.

Wilde is immortalised through his works, and the stories he wrote for children such as "The Happy Prince" and "The Selfish Giant" are still vibrant in the imagination of the public.

 

Featured books by Oscar Wilde

The Selfish Giant and Other Stories

The Selfish Giant and Other Stories

5+ readers 7+ readers

Author: Oscar Wilde Illustrator: Philip Waechter Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/09/2015

When the Selfish Giant decides to build a wall around his garden to prevent the children from playing in it, it becomes barren and stuck in perpertual winter. It takes a wonderful event and the heart of a young boy for him to realize the error of his ways. A classic tale for children, 'The Selfish Giant' is presented here with all of Oscar Wilde's other fairy stories - 'The Happy Prince', 'The Nightingale and the Rose', 'The Devoted Friend', 'The Remarkable Rocket', 'The Young King', 'The Birthday of the Infanta', 'The Fisherman and His Soul' and 'The Star-Child' - brought to life by Philip Waechter's bright and imaginative illustrations.

Other books by Oscar Wilde

The Picture of Dorian Gray (Legend Classics)

The Picture of Dorian Gray (Legend Classics)

Author: Oscar Wilde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/02/2021

The Importance of Being Earnest A Trivial Comedy for Serious People

The Importance of Being Earnest A Trivial Comedy for Serious People

Author: Oscar Wilde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/01/2021

Salome

Salome

Author: Oscar Wilde Illustrator: Aubrey Beardsley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/01/2021

The Picture of Dorian Gray

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Author: Oscar Wilde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/12/2020

The Importance of Being Earnest

The Importance of Being Earnest

Author: Oscar Wilde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/12/2020

The Happy Prince and Other Tales

The Happy Prince and Other Tales

Author: Oscar Wilde, Charles Robinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/12/2020

In Praise of Disobedience The Soul of Man Under Socialism and Other Writings

In Praise of Disobedience The Soul of Man Under Socialism and Other Writings

Author: Oscar Wilde, Neil Bartlett Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/11/2020

In Praise of Disobedience draw on works from a single miraculous year in which Oscar Wilde published the larger part of his greatest prose - the year he came into maturity as an artist. Before the end of 1891, he had written the first of his phenomenally successful plays and met the young man who would win his heart, beginning the love affair that would lead to imprisonment and public infamy. In a witty introduction, playwright, novelist and Wilde scholar Neil Bartlett explains what made this point in the writer's life central to his genius and why Wilde remains a provocative and radical figure to this day. Included here are the entirety of Wilde's foray into political philosophy, The Soul of Man Under Socialism; the complete essay collection Intentions; selections from The Portrait of Dorian Gray as well as its paradoxical and scandalous preface; and some of Wilde's greatest fictions for children. Each selection is accompanied by stimulating and enlightening annotations. A delight for fans of Oscar Wilde, In Praise of Disobedience will restore and revitalize an often misunderstood legacy.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×