LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sally Gardner - Author

About the Author

Sally Gardner is an award-winning novelist from London. Her books have been translated into 22 languages and have sold more than one million copies in the UK.

Her historical novel for older readers, I, Coriander, won the Smarties Children's Book Prize in 2005. Two thrillers both set at the time of the French Revolution, The Red Necklace and The Silver Blade, which was shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize in 2009, followed.  Actor Dominic West (The Wire) has bought the film rights to both titles.

Her YA novel, The Double Shadow, was published in 2011 to critical acclaim. Sally Gardner's stories for middle readers include Lucy Willow and the popular Magical Children series of six titles: The Strongest Girl in the World, The Invisible Boy, The Boy with Magic Numbers, The Smallest Girl in the World, The Boy with the Lightning Feet, and The Boy who could Fly, which are also available as audio books. She has also written and illustrated picture books including The Fairy Catalogue, The Glass Heart, The Book of Princesses and Playtime Rhymes. Sally Gardner continues to be an avid spokesperson for dyslexia, working to change the way it is perceived by society. She is dyslexic and argues that it is not a disability, but a gift.

If you'd love to know more about Sally, click here to download a more detailed biography and Q&A.

To see a video of Sally talking about her book Fairy Shopping - CLICK HERE

Or watch a video of her talking about The Silver Blade:

 

Featured books by Sally Gardner

My Side of the Diamond

My Side of the Diamond

YA readers

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/09/2017

Jazmin has been shunned ever since her best friend Becky disappeared. But Becky didn't just disappear - she jumped off a tall building and seemingly never reached the ground. It was as if she simply vanished into thin air. Did Jazmin have something to do with her disappearance? Or was it more to do with Icarus, so beguiling and strangely ever youthful, with whom Becky became suddenly besotted . . . With detailed and intriguing black and white illustrations throughout.

ebook of the month
The Vanishing of Billy Buckle The Detective Agency's Third Case

The Vanishing of Billy Buckle The Detective Agency's Third Case

7+ readers

Author: Sally Gardner Illustrator: David Roberts Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/12/2013

Spot on the Fishcake! The famous fairy detective agency, Wings & Co, has a problem. Really quite a big problem. Well, a few of them actually. There's the missing giant, Billy Buckle, who has vanished without a trace, and left his giant daughter with the detectives. There's a surprise visit to the seaside, which uncovers a murder and a stolen diamond. And then there's that tricky business of the TV talent show. Squat on a squid, this is Emily, Buster and Fidget's most complicated case yet.

ebook of the month

Other books by Sally Gardner

The Snow Song

The Snow Song

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2021

'A darkly scattered fable told with beauty, magic, love but also heart-wrenching realism ... Fans of The Familiars and The Binding will love this' MY WEEKLY 'It's fabulous, we should all have copies' Simon Mayo, Scala Radio 'A glorious love story, a spellbinding fable' Adele Parks Women imprisoned by superstition, chained by guilt. Perched on a mountain in a land of ancient forests is a village, rife with secrets. Cut off from the outside world it is run by the elders, men to whom tradition is all. Edith lives alone with her alcoholic father who is forcing her to marry the village butcher. But she is in love with a shepherd who promised to return to her. As the village becomes isolated in a sea of snow, Edith loses her power of speech. And it is this enchantment that will have far-reaching consequences, not only for Edith but for the whole village. 'An enchanting and timeless feminist fable' Mail on Sunday 'A gorgeous love story ... with more than a touch of magical realism' Independent

The Tindims and the Floating Moon

The Tindims and the Floating Moon

Author: Sally Gardner Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 10/06/2021

The tiny Tindims are like the Borrowers-on-Sea, who turn our everyday rubbish into treasure. Mother-and-daughter duo, prizewinning Sally Gardner and Lydia Corry, create a fun new world of characters and adventures in their empowering new series for 5-8 year olds inspiring conservation and inventive ways to recycle. In the fourth Tindim adventure, a glow-in-the-dark squid, drawn by the light of the moon, has wandered far from its friends on the ocean bed to the lake on Rubbish Island. The Tindims are puzzled by their new shiny lake, but with the help of Spokes, Barnacle Bow and a rather special invention, they discover the squid and try to help it on its way home again.

The Tindims and the Ten Green Bottles

The Tindims and the Ten Green Bottles

Author: Sally Gardner Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 22/04/2021

The tiny Tindims are like the Borrowers-on-Sea, who turn our everyday rubbish into treasure. Mother-and-daughter duo, prizewinning Sally Gardner and Lydia Corry, create a fun new world of characters and adventures in their empowering new series for 5-8 year olds inspiring conservation and inventive ways to recycle. In their third adventure Ethel B Dina, who looks after the fish hospital and loves to sing, needs ten green, glass bottles to complete her musical Bottleramma. But she is surrounded by too many plastic bottles which do not make music. Join the Tindims in their glass bottle hunt and meet the Tindims explorer, Tiddledum.

The Snow Song

The Snow Song

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

'A darkly scattered fable told with beauty, magic, love but also heart-wrenching realism ... Fans of The Familiars and The Binding will love this' MY WEEKLY 'It's fabulous, we should all have copies' Simon Mayo, Scala Radio 'A glorious love story, a spellbinding fable' Adele Parks Women imprisoned by superstition, chained by guilt. Perched on a mountain in a land of ancient forests is a village, rife with secrets. Cut off from the outside world it is run by the elders, men to whom tradition is all. Edith lives alone with her alcoholic father who is forcing her to marry the village butcher. But she is in love with a shepherd who promised to return to her. As the village becomes isolated in a sea of snow, Edith loses her power of speech. And it is this enchantment that will have far-reaching consequences, not only for Edith but for the whole village. 'An enchanting and timeless feminist fable' Mail on Sunday 'A gorgeous love story ... with more than a touch of magical realism' Independent

The Snow Song

The Snow Song

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

'A darkly scattered fable told with beauty, magic, love but also heart-wrenching realism ... Fans of The Familiars and The Binding will love this' MY WEEKLY 'It's fabulous, we should all have copies' Simon Mayo, Scala Radio 'A glorious love story, a spellbinding fable' Adele Parks Women imprisoned by superstition, chained by guilt. Perched on a mountain in a land of ancient forests is a village, rife with secrets. Cut off from the outside world it is run by the elders, men to whom tradition is all. Edith lives alone with her alcoholic father who is forcing her to marry the village butcher. But she is in love with a shepherd who promised to return to her. As the village becomes isolated in a sea of snow, Edith loses her power of speech. And it is this enchantment that will have far-reaching consequences, not only for Edith but for the whole village. 'An enchanting and timeless feminist fable' Mail on Sunday 'A gorgeous love story ... with more than a touch of magical realism' Independent

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×