LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sally Gardner - Author

About the Author

Sally Gardner is an award-winning novelist from London. Her books have been translated into 22 languages and have sold more than one million copies in the UK.

Her historical novel for older readers, I, Coriander, won the Smarties Children's Book Prize in 2005. Two thrillers both set at the time of the French Revolution, The Red Necklace and The Silver Blade, which was shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize in 2009, followed.  Actor Dominic West (The Wire) has bought the film rights to both titles.

Her YA novel, The Double Shadow, was published in 2011 to critical acclaim. Sally Gardner's stories for middle readers include Lucy Willow and the popular Magical Children series of six titles: The Strongest Girl in the World, The Invisible Boy, The Boy with Magic Numbers, The Smallest Girl in the World, The Boy with the Lightning Feet, and The Boy who could Fly, which are also available as audio books. She has also written and illustrated picture books including The Fairy Catalogue, The Glass Heart, The Book of Princesses and Playtime Rhymes. Sally Gardner continues to be an avid spokesperson for dyslexia, working to change the way it is perceived by society. She is dyslexic and argues that it is not a disability, but a gift.

If you'd love to know more about Sally, click here to download a more detailed biography and Q&A.

To see a video of Sally talking about her book Fairy Shopping - CLICK HERE

Or watch a video of her talking about The Silver Blade:

 

Featured books by Sally Gardner

My Side of the Diamond

My Side of the Diamond

YA readers

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/09/2017

Jazmin has been shunned ever since her best friend Becky disappeared. But Becky didn't just disappear - she jumped off a tall building and seemingly never reached the ground. It was as if she simply vanished into thin air. Did Jazmin have something to do with her disappearance? Or was it more to do with Icarus, so beguiling and strangely ever youthful, with whom Becky became suddenly besotted . . . With detailed and intriguing black and white illustrations throughout.

ebook of the month
The Vanishing of Billy Buckle The Detective Agency's Third Case

The Vanishing of Billy Buckle The Detective Agency's Third Case

7+ readers

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/12/2013

Spot on the Fishcake! The famous fairy detective agency, Wings & Co, has a problem. Really quite a big problem. Well, a few of them actually. There's the missing giant, Billy Buckle, who has vanished without a trace, and left his giant daughter with the detectives. There's a surprise visit to the seaside, which uncovers a murder and a stolen diamond. And then there's that tricky business of the TV talent show. Squat on a squid, this is Emily, Buster and Fidget's most complicated case yet.

ebook of the month

Other books by Sally Gardner

The Tindims and the Turtle Tangle

The Tindims and the Turtle Tangle

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

The tiny Tindims are like the Borrowers-on-Sea, who turn our everyday rubbish into treasure. Mother-and-daughter duo, prizewinning Sally Gardner and Lydia Corry, create a fun world of characters and adventures in their empowering new series for 5-8 year olds inspiring conservation and inventive ways to recycle. On the Tindims' island home, Bottle Mountain is growing terrifyingly tall with rubbish. So tall that one night it breaks away. Across the ocean, a boy discovers Bottle Mountain bobbing by the seashore. For the first time ever the Tindims are discovered and get to meet the Long Legs and Little Legs. Can the Tindims and the humans help each other to save the planet? Printed in dyslexia-friendly font with pictures on every page and perfect for the reluctant reader, the Tindims show keen young ecologists how to help protect our planet for the future.

The Snow Song

The Snow Song

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

'A darkly scattered fable told with beauty, magic, love but also heart-wrenching realism ... Fans of The Familiars and The Binding will love this' MY WEEKLY 'It's fabulous, we should all have copies' Simon Mayo, Scala Radio 'A glorious love story, a spellbinding fable' Adele Parks Women imprisoned by superstition, chained by guilt. Perched on a mountain in a land of ancient forests is a village, rife with secrets. Cut off from the outside world it is run by the elders, men to whom tradition is all. Edith lives alone with her alcoholic father who is forcing her to marry the village butcher. But she is in love with a shepherd who promised to return to her. As the village becomes isolated in a sea of snow, Edith loses her power of speech. And it is this enchantment that will have far-reaching consequences, not only for Edith but for the whole village. 'A gorgeous love story ... with more than a touch of magical realism' Independent

Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Golden Seahorse

Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Golden Seahorse

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/11/2020

Following the success of their first two adventures Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Blue Moon and Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Sea Dragon, the intrepid pair join Betsy's mum, Myrtle the mermaid, beneath the waves, from bestselling author Sally Gardner and illustrated by Nick Maland. Crumble cakes! When Betsy joins Myrtle the mermaid in her underwater world, she discovers there may be monsters . . . shipwrecks, lost treasure and secret cities. A seapig's prize seahorse, Pudding Pie, has been stolen by a cantankerous giant octopus and Betsy and Mr Tiger must go to the rescue in their new submarine. But what happens when a tiger's whiskers and tail are simply too long to squeeze into forgotten dark caverns where even the moon cannot shine, and Betsy has to take the final steps of the adventure on her own? The paperback edition of this book is printed in blue ink in Dyslexie, a font specially designed to make reading easier - and more fun. Praise for Sally Gardner: 'This enchanting series is an absolute delight ... Striking just the right note of whimsy and magic' THE BOOKSELLER 'An idiosyncratic genius' THE TIMES 'Gardner's skill is to contain even her wildest ideas within a meticulous plot' DAILY TELEGRAPH

The Snow Song

The Snow Song

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

'A darkly scattered fable told with beauty, magic, love but also heart-wrenching realism ... Fans of The Familiars and The Binding will love this' MY WEEKLY 'It's fabulous, we should all have copies' Simon Mayo, Scala Radio 'A glorious love story, a spellbinding fable' Adele Parks Women imprisoned by superstition, chained by guilt. Perched on a mountain in a land of ancient forests is a village, rife with secrets. Cut off from the outside world it is run by the elders, men to whom tradition is all. Edith lives alone with her alcoholic father who is forcing her to marry the village butcher. But she is in love with a shepherd who promised to return to her. As the village becomes isolated in a sea of snow, Edith loses her power of speech. And it is this enchantment that will have far-reaching consequences, not only for Edith but for the whole village. 'A gorgeous love story ... with more than a touch of magical realism' Independent

Invisible in a Bright Light

Invisible in a Bright Light

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

An imaginative novel [with] a suspenseful challenge and a vivid backstage world of intrigue and romance ... Original and rich' Sunday Times Book of the Week. From I, Coriander to Invisible in a Bright Light, Sally Gardner's first middle grade novel in 14 years soars with the imagination of a master story-teller. A pitch-perfect story about a crystal chandelier that splinters into a thousand pieces, a girl abandoned as a baby on the steps of an opera house and a dangerous game called the Reckoning. It is 1870: opening night at the Royal Opera House in a freezing city by the sea, where a huge, crystal chandelier in the shape of a galleon sparkles magically with the light of 750 candles. Celeste, a theatre rat, wakes up in a costume basket from what she hopes is a bad dream, to find that everyone at the theatre where she works thinks she is someone else. When the chandelier falls, she is haunted by a strange girl who claims to know Celeste's past and why she must risk playing a game called the Reckoning to try to save the people she loves. 'This is a classic Gardner modern fairy tale, full of fabulous locations and mesmerising characters. lt's a complicated, layered history tale ... but do not underestimate this age group's intelligence and focus; young book lovers will be as delighted as they are challenged' Big Issue, Books of the Year 2019.

Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Golden Seahorse

Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Golden Seahorse

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/03/2020

Following the success of their first two adventures Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Blue Moon and Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Sea Dragon, the intrepid pair join Betsy's mum, Myrtle the mermaid, beneath the waves, from bestselling author Sally Gardner and illustrated by Nick Maland. Crumble cakes! When Betsy joins Myrtle the mermaid in her underwater world, she discovers there may be monsters . . . shipwrecks, lost treasure and secret cities. A seapig's prize seahorse, Pudding Pie, has been stolen by a cantankerous giant octopus and Betsy and Mr Tiger must go to the rescue in their new submarine. But what happens when a tiger's whiskers and tail are simply too long to squeeze into forgotten dark caverns where even the moon cannot shine, and Betsy has to take the final steps of the adventure on her own? The hardback edition of this book is printed in blue ink in Dyslexie, a font specially designed to make reading easier - and more fun. Praise for Sally Gardner: 'This enchanting series is an absolute delight ... Striking just the right note of whimsy and magic' THE BOOKSELLER 'An idiosyncratic genius' THE TIMES 'Gardner's skill is to contain even her wildest ideas within a meticulous plot' DAILY TELEGRAPH

Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Sea Dragon

Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Sea Dragon

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

The mysterious Mr Tiger and the inquisitive Betsy K Glory set off on their second adventure, from bestselling author Sally Gardner, sumptuously illustrated by Nick Maland. Crumble cakes! A red rogue wind is blowing and a wicked pirate captain and his crew are marauding the seven seas near the island left off the map of the world. A rare egg has gone missing and a very unhappy sea dragon wants it back. A pirate ship, the Kettle Black, is anchored in a secret cove off the island left off the map of the world. Betsy and her mum, Myrtle the mermaid, must dive deep beneath the waves, while Alfonso Glory and Mr Tiger fly high above the clouds in a hot air balloon... It's time for Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Gongalongs to set off on their second adventure... The hardback edition of this book is printed in blue ink in Dyslexie, a font specially designed to make reading easier - and more fun.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×