LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Kate Davies - Author

Books by Kate Davies

The Incredible Hotel

The Incredible Hotel

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/01/2020

A stunning, nostalgic picture book about a beautiful hotel and the people who stay, live and work there. Perfect for children 4+. If you ever go to great city of Delaunay, take a left at the Duchess's palace and cross the Bridge of Spires, and here you will find The Incredible Hotel. Everything runs like clockwork, thanks to Stefan the kitchen porter, who brews the coffee every morning, and dreams of being a chef. Until the morning of the Grand Ball, when a fire starts in the kitchen just as the Duchess of Delaunay arrives... can Stefan save the day? With a style that evokes Wes Anderson-esque imaginary worlds, this is a timeless tale to read again and again from the award winning illustrator of 'JOY'. Each time you read it you will notice new details - look out for the cat and mouse hiding on every page, who have their own little story to tell!

The Crims #3: The Crims at Sea

The Crims #3: The Crims at Sea

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/12/2019

The hapless Crim family sets sail on their final adventure in the zaniest installment of the Crims series, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Caroline Carlson! Imogen Crim has been terribly bored since she returned to Blandington. So when her nemesis-turned-best friend Ava Kruk offers to swing by the Crims' dreadful beach vacation in Dullport and rescue her in her stolen submarine, Imogen quickly agrees. A real heist with a real villain-this is the excitement Imogen has been looking for. But before Imogen and Ava can accomplish their mission, the entire Crim family catches up to them, dressed in their pirate-y finest. And what starts as an innocent (well, for a boat full of criminals) quest for buried treasure is about to become a stand-off with an up-and-coming super villain called The Gull. If Imogen has any hope of saving her family from his claws-and returning to her vacation-she'll have to trust a Kruk with her life.

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/12/2019

The crime-loving Crims are back in the second installment of this hilarious trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! Imogen Crim has moved back home with her family and resumed her commitment to crime. But coming back to Blandington isn't quite so easy. Between Big Nana's crime theory assignments, regular schoolwork, and keeping up with her new archenemy Ava Gud, Imogen can't find a spare moment to participate in the family's new Crime Directive. And the Crims have even been bumped from the top spot on Blandington's Most Wanted list! Oh, the injustice! Then various Crims start disappearing without a trace, and Big Nana is convinced that the Kruk family is behind the kidnappings. Imogen will need to use all her shadiest and shiftiest skills if she's ever to see her family again...

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/12/2018

The crime-loving Crims are back in the second installment of this hilarious trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! Imogen Crim has moved back home with her family and resumed her commitment to crime. But coming back to Blandington isn't quite so easy. Between Big Nana's crime theory assignments, regular schoolwork, and keeping up with her new archenemy Ava Gud, Imogen can't find a spare moment to participate in the family's new Crime Directive. And the Crims have even been bumped from the top spot on Blandington's Most Wanted list! Oh, the injustice! Then various Crims start disappearing without a trace, and Big Nana is convinced that the Kruk family is behind the kidnappings. Imogen will need to use all her shadiest and shiftiest skills if she's ever to see her family again...

The Crims

The Crims

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/12/2018

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! The Crim family is full of notorious criminals. Notoriously inept, that is. Uncle Knuckles once tried to steal a carnival. Great-Uncle Bernard held himself hostage by accident. Aunt Drusilla died slipping on a banana peel. But Imogen is different. She was born with a skill for scandal. A knack for the nefarious. A mastery of misdemeanors. Despite her natural talent for all things unlawful, Imogen got out of the family business years ago. But when the rest of the Crims are accused of pulling off a major heist-which seems doubtful, to say the least-Imogen is forced to step in to clear their names. Because only a truly skilled criminal can prove the bumbling family's innocence....

Illuminatlas

Illuminatlas

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/09/2018

Set off on a journey around the world with this follow up to the bestselling Illuminature and Illumanatomy. Use your three-colour lens to explore the continents: use your green lens to see the landscape, the red lens to see plants and animals, and the blue lens to see cultural highlights and famous buildings. Packed with facts and stunning illustrations, this is an atlas like no other from Milan-based design duo Carnovsky.

The Crims

The Crims

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/11/2017

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! The Crim family is full of notorious criminals. Notoriously inept, that is. Uncle Knuckles once tried to steal a carnival. Great-Uncle Bernard held himself hostage by accident. Aunt Drusilla died slipping on a banana peel. But Imogen is different. She was born with a skill for scandal. A knack for the nefarious. A mastery of misdemeanors. Despite her natural talent for all things unlawful, Imogen got out of the family business years ago. But when the rest of the Crims are accused of pulling off a major heist-which seems doubtful, to say the least-Imogen is forced to step in to clear their names. Because only a truly skilled criminal can prove the bumbling family's innocence....

Illumanatomy See inside the human body with your magic viewing lens

Illumanatomy See inside the human body with your magic viewing lens

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/09/2017

A 2019 Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students: K-12 (National Science Teachers Association and the Children's Book Council). An anatomy lesson like no other! Look inside the human body with the magic three-colour lens and x-ray from head to toe to discover how your body works. Use the red lens to reveal the skeleton, the green to see the muscles working, and x-ray your organs with the blue lens to find out what they do day and night to keep you alive. Uncover the secrets of the human body and explore how its different systems work in this stunning follow up to the internationally best-selling Illuminature. Jam-packed with detailed illustrations and full of facts and information, this innovative encyclopedia from from Milan-based design duo Carnovsky will make you see the human body in a whole new light.

Sticker Knights

Sticker Knights

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2017

A colourful sticker book with 13 medieval scenes showing knights in action, and over 200 stickers with which to dress them in armour or jousting gear and arm them with shields, swords and lances. Scenes include the Crusades, Arab warriors, a castle siege, knights in training and a fantastic feast. Checked by a historical expert. Illustrations: Full colour throughout WARNING! Not suitable for children under 36 months because of small parts. Choking Hazard.

Sticker Dressing Sports

Sticker Dressing Sports

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2016

A colourful sticker book full of athletes to prepare for big sporting events including a rugby match, tennis game, Grand Prix race and many more. Each character can be kitted out with the appropriate sportswear and equipment using the 250 stickers provided. Simple text contains fascinating facts, written in consultation with an expert. Illustrations: Full colour throughout

N is for Nessie: A Scottish Alphabet for Kids

N is for Nessie: A Scottish Alphabet for Kids

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2013

Sing Auld Lang Syne while you climb to the top of a Castle. Wave to a Highland Cow in John O'Groats. Put on a Kilt and avoid those Midges as you visit a Loch (not lock!) to meet Nessie. Then speed back over the Forth Bridge to Edinburgh Zoo -- not forgetting your Umbrella. Take a whistle-stop tour through the Scottish alphabet! Each letter from A to Z represents the best of everything Scottish: beautiful landscapes, fascinating history, amazing wildlife and, of course, the weather! This charming and fun book is perfect for locals and visitors alike, as illustrator Kate Davies fills each page with humorous Scottish details. Featuring only one word per letter, it's suitable for younger children to enjoy.

First Reading Four Elephants

First Reading Four Elephants

Author: Kate Davies Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 01/09/2011

Seven titles in the popular First Reading series are re-issued with hardback covers with audio CDs inserted into a wallet inside the back cover, making this book and CD easy to store together. The Young Reading series is developed with reading expert Alison Kelly from Roehampton University to help young readers grow in confidence and ability.

First Reading Two The Daydreamer

First Reading Two The Daydreamer

Author: Kate Davies Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/09/2011

This is the traditional tale retold for beginner readers ready to tackle slightly more complicated storylines and sentence structures. The King has a secret. He has donkey's ears! But when he tells the barber his secret, it surely can't be a secret for long...This title is part of the Usborne Reading Programme developed with reading experts at the University of Roehampton. It includes several pages of reading-related puzzles.

The Daydreamer

The Daydreamer

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/01/2010

Aesop's fable is retold here for beginner readers ready to tackle slightly more complicated storylines and sentence structures. Daisy doesn't have any money, but she has lots of imagination! When a farmer offers her a gold coin, she dreams of all the things she could buy - and then disaster strikes! Part of the Usborne Reading Programme developed with reading experts at the University of Roehampton, this title includes several pages of reading-related puzzles.

See Under the Sea

See Under the Sea

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/11/2008

Dive down and discover the secrets of the seven seas to reveal the hidden secrets of the briny deep. This book is full of colourful scenes with information on different underwater habitats from coral reefs to arctic ice flows to the dark deeps of the ocean trenches as well as fantastic facts on tsunamis, tides and flooding. It contains informative features on how humans are affecting the oceans with overfishing, pollution and global warming. It contains over fifty sturdy embedded flaps.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×