LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Kate Davies - Author

About the Author

Books by Kate Davies

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/12/2018

The crime-loving Crims are back in the second installment of this hilarious trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! Imogen Crim has moved back home with her family and resumed her commitment to crime. But coming back to Blandington isn't quite so easy. Between Big Nana's crime theory assignments, regular schoolwork, and keeping up with her new archenemy Ava Gud, Imogen can't find a spare moment to participate in the family's new Crime Directive. And the Crims have even been bumped from the top spot on Blandington's Most Wanted list! Oh, the injustice! Then various Crims start disappearing without a trace, and Big Nana is convinced that the Kruk family is behind the kidnappings. Imogen will need to use all her shadiest and shiftiest skills if she's ever to see her family again...

The Crims

The Crims

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/12/2018

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! The Crim family is full of notorious criminals. Notoriously inept, that is. Uncle Knuckles once tried to steal a carnival. Great-Uncle Bernard held himself hostage by accident. Aunt Drusilla died slipping on a banana peel. But Imogen is different. She was born with a skill for scandal. A knack for the nefarious. A mastery of misdemeanors. Despite her natural talent for all things unlawful, Imogen got out of the family business years ago. But when the rest of the Crims are accused of pulling off a major heist-which seems doubtful, to say the least-Imogen is forced to step in to clear their names. Because only a truly skilled criminal can prove the bumbling family's innocence....

The Crims

The Crims

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/11/2017

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! The Crim family is full of notorious criminals. Notoriously inept, that is. Uncle Knuckles once tried to steal a carnival. Great-Uncle Bernard held himself hostage by accident. Aunt Drusilla died slipping on a banana peel. But Imogen is different. She was born with a skill for scandal. A knack for the nefarious. A mastery of misdemeanors. Despite her natural talent for all things unlawful, Imogen got out of the family business years ago. But when the rest of the Crims are accused of pulling off a major heist-which seems doubtful, to say the least-Imogen is forced to step in to clear their names. Because only a truly skilled criminal can prove the bumbling family's innocence....

Illumanatomy See inside the human body with your magic viewing lens

Illumanatomy See inside the human body with your magic viewing lens

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/09/2017

A 2019 Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students: K-12 (National Science Teachers Association and the Children's Book Council). An anatomy lesson like no other! Look inside the human body with the magic three-colour lens and x-ray from head to toe to discover how your body works. Use the red lens to reveal the skeleton, the green to see the muscles working, and x-ray your organs with the blue lens to find out what they do day and night to keep you alive. Uncover the secrets of the human body and explore how its different systems work in this stunning follow up to the internationally best-selling Illuminature. Jam-packed with detailed illustrations and full of facts and information, this innovative encyclopedia from from Milan-based design duo Carnovsky will make you see the human body in a whole new light.

Sticker Knights

Sticker Knights

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2017

A colourful sticker book with 13 medieval scenes showing knights in action, and over 200 stickers with which to dress them in armour or jousting gear and arm them with shields, swords and lances. Scenes include the Crusades, Arab warriors, a castle siege, knights in training and a fantastic feast. Checked by a historical expert. Illustrations: Full colour throughout WARNING! Not suitable for children under 36 months because of small parts. Choking Hazard.

Sticker Dressing Sports

Sticker Dressing Sports

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2016

A colourful sticker book full of athletes to prepare for big sporting events including a rugby match, tennis game, Grand Prix race and many more. Each character can be kitted out with the appropriate sportswear and equipment using the 250 stickers provided. Simple text contains fascinating facts, written in consultation with an expert. Illustrations: Full colour throughout

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2013

The Sleeping Beauty

The Sleeping Beauty

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2013

Brer Rabbit and Brer Fox

Brer Rabbit and Brer Fox

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2013

The Twelve Dancing Princesses

The Twelve Dancing Princesses

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2013

Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and the Beast

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2013

N is for Nessie: A Scottish Alphabet for Kids

N is for Nessie: A Scottish Alphabet for Kids

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2013

Sing Auld Lang Syne while you climb to the top of a Castle. Wave to a Highland Cow in John O'Groats. Put on a Kilt and avoid those Midges as you visit a Loch (not lock!) to meet Nessie. Then speed back over the Forth Bridge to Edinburgh Zoo -- not forgetting your Umbrella. Take a whistle-stop tour through the Scottish alphabet! Each letter from A to Z represents the best of everything Scottish: beautiful landscapes, fascinating history, amazing wildlife and, of course, the weather! This charming and fun book is perfect for locals and visitors alike, as illustrator Kate Davies fills each page with humorous Scottish details. Featuring only one word per letter, it's suitable for younger children to enjoy.

What's Physics All About?

What's Physics All About?

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2013

This is a lively, informative guide that shows what physics is, how it works and why it is vital to everyday life. It covers the main topics including forces, electricity, magnetism and astronomy - all illustrated with humorous drawings, cartoons and diagrams. It includes simple experiments and internet links to recommended websites to find out more.

Sticker Dressing Knights & Soldiers bind up

Sticker Dressing Knights & Soldiers bind up

Author: Kate Davies, Louie Stowell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2012

A great value bind-up of two exciting, historically-accurate sticker books written in consultation with experts. Knights - packed with scenes of battle, jousting, training and fantastic feasts. Soldiers - showing soldiers from ancient times to the present day. With over 350 stickers, children will love dressing these fighting men for battle in everything from ancient armour to modern camouflage fatigues, and adding their weapons and other battlefield kit.

First Reading Four Elephants

First Reading Four Elephants

Author: Kate Davies Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 01/09/2011

Seven titles in the popular First Reading series are re-issued with hardback covers with audio CDs inserted into a wallet inside the back cover, making this book and CD easy to store together. The Young Reading series is developed with reading expert Alison Kelly from Roehampton University to help young readers grow in confidence and ability.

First Reading Two The Daydreamer

First Reading Two The Daydreamer

Author: Kate Davies Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/09/2011

This is the traditional tale retold for beginner readers ready to tackle slightly more complicated storylines and sentence structures. The King has a secret. He has donkey's ears! But when he tells the barber his secret, it surely can't be a secret for long...This title is part of the Usborne Reading Programme developed with reading experts at the University of Roehampton. It includes several pages of reading-related puzzles.

Noah's Ark

Noah's Ark

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/01/2011

This is a new title in the fantastic First Reading Series , part of the Usborne Young Reading Programme. It is aimed at children who are beginning to read. Noah is told to build an ark that will hold two of every animal before the big flood comes. It is developed in consultation with Alison Kelly, who is Principal Lecturer in Education from Roehampton University and an early reading specialist. Every title in this series features clear and compelling text accompanied by charming and highly appealing illustrations. It is designed to motivate children as they learn to read.

Sticker Dressing Soldiers

Sticker Dressing Soldiers

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/01/2011

From Ancient Greek soldiers to knights and bowmen, First World War pilots and American army cadets, boys will love this action-packed sticker book. There are over 250 colourful stickers showing items of uniform and accessories to dress the soldiers. Also includes fascinating historical facts about armour and uniforms.

The Daydreamer

The Daydreamer

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/01/2010

Aesop's fable is retold here for beginner readers ready to tackle slightly more complicated storylines and sentence structures. Daisy doesn't have any money, but she has lots of imagination! When a farmer offers her a gold coin, she dreams of all the things she could buy - and then disaster strikes! Part of the Usborne Reading Programme developed with reading experts at the University of Roehampton, this title includes several pages of reading-related puzzles.

See Under the Sea

See Under the Sea

Author: Kate Davies Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/11/2008

Dive down and discover the secrets of the seven seas to reveal the hidden secrets of the briny deep. This book is full of colourful scenes with information on different underwater habitats from coral reefs to arctic ice flows to the dark deeps of the ocean trenches as well as fantastic facts on tsunamis, tides and flooding. It contains informative features on how humans are affecting the oceans with overfishing, pollution and global warming. It contains over fifty sturdy embedded flaps.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×