10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Klaus Flugge Prize: 2023

Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours publisher Klaus Flugge, founder of children’s publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books. 

Jump to:
Winner and Shortlisted Books

Klaus Flugge Prize: 2023: Winner and Shortlisted Books

Mariajo Ilustrajo wins the 2023 Klaus Flugge Prize

Mariajo won for her book Flooded published by Frances Lincoln Books, a funny but powerful demonstration of the impact of climate change in which animals attempt to carry on with business as normal, even while their city is flooding.

View Book Page

Shortlisted Books

Lost in the City

Alice Courtley


In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

Mildred the Gallery Cat

Jono Ganz


In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

Saving the Butterfly

Helen Cooper


In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

The Baker by the Sea

Paula White


In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

The Klaus Flugge Prize judges describe Flooded as fresh and beautifully drawn, and full of playfulness even as it delivers an important message.

Judge best-selling illustrator Lydia Monks says, “I was really impressed with Mariajo Ilustrajo’s book, Flooded. The sophistication and competence displayed is exceptional for someone so new to publishing. I’m excited to follow her career.”

Fellow judge and 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize winner Joseph Namara Hollis adds, “Flooded has it all! It absorbs you into a world teeming with life. The character details are captivating, drawing you closer. Each page is dynamic with plenty to discover as the drama unfolds. And whilst it is a fun story, it delivers an important message with warmth and humour. This is a book to enjoy again and again”

Chair of the judges, Julia Eccleshare says: “Picture book illustration is in a robust state of health and the submissions for this year’s Klaus Flugge Prize were very strong. Our five shortlisted illustrators have enormous technical skill as well as an exceptional understanding of how illustration carries story and meaning. Huge congratulations to Mariajo on winning this year’s Klaus Flugge Prize; Flooded is abook that speaks both to now and of universal themes.”

As it becomes increasingly difficult for debut illustrators to break through, the Klaus Flugge Prize is already recognized as one of the most important and influential awards thanks to its spotlight on exciting new talent.

Mariajo Ilustrajo says, “It’s difficult to describe with words the joy of winning this prestigious prize. I’ve been an illustrator for a long time but becoming a children’s book illustrator and author seemed like just a dream. This recognition makes me feel that I’m heading in the right direction and encourages me to keep exploring new ways of creating new stories. I am ‘flooded’ with happiness and proud to know my book touched the Klaus Flugge Prize judges amongst such an amazing shortlist.”

Watch our Klaus Flugge 2023 celebration event with judges Dr Sarah McConnell and Lydia Monks, and the winner Mariajo Illustrado.

This year’s judges were -

  • multi award-winning illustrator Lydia Monks
  • Joseph Namara Hollis, winner of the 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize
  • Urmi Merchant, founder and owner of independent bookshop Pickled Pepper, London
  • Dr Sarah McConnell, Course Leader of the Masters in Illustration course at Nottingham Trent University.

The panel was chaired by Julia Eccleshare, LoveReading4Kids Editorial Editor and Director of Hay Children’s Festival.

About Klaus Flugge Prize

The Klaus Flugge Prize was founded to honour publisher Klaus Flugge, a supremely influential figure in picture books, who this year celebrates the 42nd anniversary of his publishing house Andersen Press. Klaus Flugge discovered and nurtured many of today's most distinguished illustrators including Chris Riddell, fellow judge Tony Ross, and David McKee, creator of Elmer the Elephant.

Find more information about the prize visit www.andersenpress.co.uk/KlausFluggePrize  and on Twitter @KlausFluggePr

Klaus Flugge Prize Archive

Click on a year below to view past years from this award.