Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Virus

Written by Chris Bradford

Part of the Virtual Kombat Series

Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Science Fiction

LoveReading View on Virus

Life or death adventures in a virtual reality game

Interest Age 9+ Reading Age 8

Set in a future world in which kids risk their lives for real playing an online fantasy game, Virus is a nerve-tingling combination of science-fiction and martial arts extravaganza. Scott knows that playing Virtual Kombat will put his life in danger, but the only way to destroy the game is from the inside, and he really wants to avenge the death of his friend. In this he’s helped by a group of techno-hackers, but when it comes to the crunch, his tae kwon do skills mean he’s on his own against powerful opponents. Chris Bradford is an expert at keeping the tension high and this is page-turning, super-readable adventure.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

Barrington Stoke is the foremost publisher of dyslexia friendly books and those for reluctant readers.  Here on Lovereading4kids we are constantly selecting new titles and refreshing our special dyslexia friendly category.

Click here to view our current selection which is broken down by age range.

Virus Synopsis

In Gamer, Scott escaped Virtual Kombat - the all-too-real virtual reality game in which Vince Power risks the lives of street kids for profit. Scott's now on the run and comes across a gang of techno-hackers who share his wish to destroy VK. They've developed a virus that could do the job, but in order to implant it Scott has to re-enter the arena and risk being trapped inside the game forever... A nerve-wracking sci-fi tale, perfect for fans of Chris, action, adventure and gaming.

Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 9+

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth
The Adventures of John Blake Mystery of the Ghost Ship
Johnny and the Dead
Black Light Express

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781781127070
Publication date: 15/10/2018
Publisher: Barrington Stoke Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781781120002
Publication date: 26/04/2012
Publisher: Barrington Stoke Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781781127070
Publication date: 15th October 2018
Author: Chris Bradford
Publisher: Barrington Stoke Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 96 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Science Fiction
Recommendations: Super-readable Dyslexia-friendly

About Chris Bradford

Chris Bradford is a best selling and multi-award-winning children’s author. He is professionally trained in a variety of martial arts, including samurai swordmanship, and has earned his black belt in Kyo Shin Tai- jutsu. Chris’s books, including the best selling Young Samurai and Bodyguard series, have been published in over 25 languages and have earned him more than 30 book awards and nominations, including the Brilliant Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. He lives in East Sussex. Read more about the author here.    

More About Chris Bradford

More Books By Chris Bradford

Cover for Blowback by Chris Bradford
Cover for Sniper by Chris Bradford
Cover for Shadow Warriors by Chris Bradford
View All Books By Chris Bradford

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×