LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Shop on Peculiar Hill

Written by Grimly Darkwood

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on The Shop on Peculiar Hill

A riotously imaginative feast of fantastical adventure with lashings of larger-than-life characters and curious goings-on.

Following the amusingly absurd loss of Peter’s parents (kidnapped by pirates, then eaten by tigers), “the Overseers of Children decided the lad was too young to live in the hut on Evil Island without them”, and so he’s sent to live with his aunt and uncle in their shop on the Peculiar Hill. From Peter’s arrival here, it’s perfectly clear that Peculiar Hill is as peculiar in nature as it is in name. “You’ll need a hat here when the bogeys start flying around,” says the Station Master. “Otherwise your head’ll get covered in fizz”. But no one is in a hurry to explain what bogeys and fizz are, or what ‘unge’, ‘glop’ and ‘heeble-greebs’ are either for that matter. And then there’s Peter’s introduction to the very essence of “strangeness” and the nearby Vale of Strange, a place that, according to his uncle, a number of tourists have vanished into and never returned. Soon enough, Peter discovers the unnerving secrets of this place, and then finds himself embroiled in an exuberant, quirky quest.

This book’s whimsical, jaunty language and characterisation make it marvellous for reading aloud. In fact, as you read the dialogue, it’s easy to hear and see the characters in action, replete with tone of voice and physical quirks. Brilliantly bonkers, this perfectly peculiar page-turner comes heartily recommended for fans of Mr Gum and Philip Ardagh.

Joanne Owen

The Shop on Peculiar Hill Synopsis

When Peter comes to live with his aunt and uncle at the shop on Peculiar Hill, he has a lot to learn. What are bogeys and heeble-greebs and the other fierce creatures which live in the nearby Vale of Strange? Why is it so important to wear a hat and sturdy boots? And what is this stuff called strangeness which comes bubbling out of the ground? When Peter discovers the dark secret which lies at the heart of this place, he finds his efforts to make things better do not go according to plan. He sets out to make amends with the aid of his new friend Amanda, but how can he know that requesting her help will prove to be such a very big mistake?

If you loved this, you might like these...

Rumblestar
In the Shadow of Heroes
Aru Shah and the Song of Death
Malamander

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781946892164
Publication date: 26/11/2018
Publisher: Journey Fiction
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781946892164
Publication date: 26th November 2018
Author: Grimly Darkwood
Publisher: Journey Fiction
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: Indie Books We Love

About Grimly Darkwood

More About Grimly Darkwood

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×